We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat for some seclusion and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat for some seclusion and luxury”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Had a very short and sweet stay here end of November. A lovely resort on Tioman island accessed by speedboat from the main harbour next to the airport so feels like you are on a bit of an adventure. The resort itself is very spread out so there is definitely an air of privacy about it. I stayed in one of their tree top chalets which felt quite tropical, but they also have sea cliff chalets which offer fabulous sea views. I would probably opt for one of these next time, or if you have enough time split your stay between two. The chalets are accessed by heightened walkways, luckily there are staff on hand to help with your luggage. I did not lift a suitcase once from being picked up at the airport – there was always someone there to help you. Aruni and her team were exceptional and the detail was noticed, the complimentary cocktails at sunset and the mid afternoon snacks which just appeared at your side. I also treated myself to a thai massage which I would highly recommend, the treatment room was set up high but the sounds of the jungle and the sea complemented the massage. The beach is lovely and the sun lounger huts are a great way to while away some time. Delicious food - a mix of Italia, Vietnamese and Thai. Rooms were beautifully decorated and equipped with mod cons. Bathrooms had refreshing rain showers and also had an outdoor plunge pool and private patio area which was lovely. It is definitely the place to head to if you are after some privacy, seclusion, good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    102
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
362
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed over easter - had a good time, went scuba diving at the nearby diveschool. The bar on the jetty is very beautiful and low key. Not too busy and has the 'off the beaten track' feel. Nice place for honeymooners

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwperthAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Japamala resort last week for four days. We splurged and stayed in The Penghulu's House in the Atas Residence (the main accommodation upstairs). We had a private pool and an amazing deck with views of the ocean. The accommodation was absolutely perfect. Super comfortable bed and pillows, high quality clean sheets, comfy couch and great outdoor furniture to wile away an afternoon. The bathroom can only be described as an outdoor bathroom, indoors. It is protected from the elements (though not the afternoon sun) and included two sinks and a wonderful jacuzzi that we used every night after a hard day of doing... well, not much!

There isn't much to do at the resort, but that's exactly why we chose it. We work high stress jobs and it was an opportunity to unwind. Eat, read, sleep, drink and be romantic. Pure bliss.

The bar at the end of the pier, Mandi Mandi, serves happy hour cocktails every night at sunset - what a beautiful setting. And the cocktails were good! We only ate there once as it is more a Western cuisine setting and we wanted to eat more locally (so most of the meals we had were at Tamarind restaurant). Tamarind serves a lot of pan-Asian food. Lots of Thai, some Vietnamese and a few Laotian dishes. All of them were fantastically cooked with lots of flavour and great presentation. I would have liked to see some more Malaysian/local food on the menu. The cocktail list was SUPERB! We tried nearly all of them (and there are a LOT!).

The resort has been called expensive by other reviewers, and no, it's not cheap. But for the standard that you get, it's a steal. You could easily pay two (or even three) times as much at other resorts.

The service was impeccable. Mike was super friendly from the beginning, picking us up from the airport and offering us cold towels and juices on the boat transfer. Sam (from Myanmar - whose real name I'm not sure how to spell, but is pronounced Too Ya Paie) was a super sweet, capable server whom it was a real pleasure to chat to every day. Aruni, the manager was fantastic - she runs a really well organised resort and as I promised her, we will definitely be back.

I also want to thank the lady who gave me two Thai massages - JUST AMAZING!!!!!!!

If you like staying in Hiltons or Hyatts this place is not for you. It is luxurious, but not in that bland, same-same kind of way. The luxury here is married to the natural environment, working with it instead of trying to hide it. This may mean that there are geckos in your room, or that your lounge chair might get wet from the high tide waves overnight. Deal with it and enjoy the nature. Do it in style at Japamala. Highly recommended.

PS The two fingers of Hennessy cognac left in our room after turndown service was much appreciated (and enjoyed in the spa).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurjBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights : 2 first nights in a tree top chalet (# 13 ) and 2 nights in a sea cliff chalet ( #16)

Plus sides:

1/scenery : magic , unique , close to nature and secluded

Amazing use of the jetty with the bar facing both jungle and sea

Jungle houses spread along the jungle

Amazing use of Malaysian wood

2/staffs/ service : simply outstanding - great thanks to Bel , Sam , Mike , Ahmed and all the other members who really worked as a team .
Thanks Mike for the happy hours cocktails
Staff was always happy to answer any of our questions or needs with a genuine smile . We felt like among family- the japamala Family ! What a dream team !
Japamala surprises you along your stay with little delightful gestures which make the difference with any other hotel... We leave you to discover for yourselves :-)
Thanks for the barbecue night ! And ... The last romantic dinner ( thanks Ahmed ! )

3/ rooms :
We tried both and my preference goes for the top tree chalet which is I believe newer hence an optimal use of the site and everything is neater and tighter than in the sea cliff - but I have to insist on the fact that we have not seen the other top tree chalet - sure thing #13 was great : direct view on the jungle through then window bedroom and sea view from the bed !
So in my opinion , the top tree chalet offers one of the best price to quality ratio so go for it if you don't want to spend a fortune !

Areas of improvement:

1/ activities :
Japamala is built around relaxation.
Soak up the sun, snorkel, read and enjoy massages with fresh drinks.
If you need more, this is maybe not for you. You don't have the opportunity to leave the site unless you go for an excursion.
The hotel could do a little more to address this (2 person canoe, table tennis, board games...)

2/ Single travellers

The guests are mainly couples and a solo traveller may not find much interaction with other guests. If you enjoy your own company and want to be left in peace this is a dream otherwise ...

3/Food
The standard is v. good, don't get me wrong. This is about the offering, Japamala offers a choice of Italian and Thai/Vietnamese but sadly nothing local (Malaysian). the prices are also a little steep in comparison with local food on the island and things can quickly add up.
Breakfast - excellent smoothies, teas and juices (really really good!!) but for people staying 3 days+ the offering sadly does not change. This could be easily fixed.

4/ Bill
A detailed bill should be standard rather than a summary saying food and beverages....

5/ Resevation desk in KL/website
This needs to be made a lot more professional. For example, A simple response to any reservation enquiry should be to respond with the list of available suites rather than be told we could have room x. Hence we needed to go back and forth several times before we finely got the choice we wanted.
Online availability list / payment / site map with rooms would make the whole procedure easier.

Dear readers , we had a fantastic 4 days in Japamala and would highly recommend going if you ever have the chance. We see The areas for improvement are small blemishes and what is one of the finest places we stayed at.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Could not compliment enough, yes it was pricey but they do make sure every money you spend was worth it.

Room was cozy and clean, the beach was lovely, the pool was nice to dip in during hot weather , the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was delicious.


Stayed at Jungle luxe sarang for 3d2n, will definitely return back to try out other room and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our holiday plans changed at the last minute so we could be closer to KL and we were a bit uncertain about Tioman as a holiday destination. We thought Japamala would be quality but our expectations were not very high.

We were completely overwhelmed by Tioman and by Japamala. The island is beautiful and benefits from the environmental protections that apply to it. And Japamala is perfectly set in the jungle connecting you to the island in such a wonderful way. The food was magnificent and our Hillside Sarang was perfect. We particularly enjoyed the plungepool under the the jungle trees. But most important was the wonderful staff. They bent over backwards to make our stay perfect and helped us connect with some lovely diving and a walk into the jungle to find the beautiful waterfalls.

This was a holiday that exceeded every expectation and left us with so many wonderful memories of this beautiful island.

Thankyou to all the team at Japamala from Andrea and Duncan.

Room Tip: The Hillside Sarangs don't have much ocean view but the jungle is so beautiful that we can highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Japamala for 4 nights, in the highest room on the right side - room 13 - and it was amazing - very tranquil, lovely beach, amazing treetop chalet. What made it especially great were the little touches - in addition to the usual welcome drink, there were daily snacks brought to our lounger, a sunset happy hour daily with free cocktails, a small amount of free cognac in the room, daily notes and chocolates on our pillow, free use of the handline fishing gear (I snorkelled and caught several coral trout which they cooked for me for a small fee) and kayaks, free water all day in a refillable glass bottle at the sunbeds etc etc.. Staff were wonderfully accommodating, friendly and helpful, especially Aruni. Very tasty curries at Tamarind restaurant on the shore but exceptional views from Mandi Mandi on the pier, though the menu here needs revamping - little variation with no real dairy- or wheat-free alternatives. The prawn salad was poor - just prawns with some iceberg lettuce. Overall, one of the best 'splurge' places we've stayed at in Asia - beats Six Senses and for a quarter of the price!

Room Tip: We loved our room - room 13: right at the top on the right. It wasn't technically sea view so wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
2.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
5.3 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
3.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
330 reviews
3.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Japamala Resort by Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Japamala Resort by Samadhi

Property: Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Address: Kampung Lanting, Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#1 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Japamala Resort by Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JapaMala is Tioman Island’s only boutique resort, and one-of-a-kind in Malaysia. This small and exclusive resort of 13 rooms is hidden amidst 11 acres of lush tropical rainforest. A one-village-one-resort property, JapaMala has its own private and quiet beach. While some charming Malay village-style villas and chalets dot the jungle and beachfront, others nestle in the most breath-taking spots.Best described as an ‘eco-luxe’ resort, JapaMala transcends the experience of living close to nature by redefining it with a touch of luxury. Designed by natural streams, steep cliffs, towering boulders and where no trees are felled, the entire resort borrows from nature its elements to offer an exceptional sense of paradise, freedom from the real world. While serious relaxation is an elusive commodity for many, one can truly succumb to the healing effects JapaMala imparts through its holistic blend of sumptuous gourmet treats, intimacy between man and nature, unique spa experiences and truly unprecedented hospitality. Many say JapaMala is not just a place, but a state of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Japamala Resort by Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japamala Hotel Pulau Tioman
Japamala Resort
Japamala Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing