We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service excellence in a relaxing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Six days here during the monsoon season was still very good. Four days of torrential rain yet staff made our stay memorable. Service was excellent and so is the food. Asian and Italian cuisine available at different venues. Dinner on the pier looking back at the island was sensational. This resort is not designed for exercise focus rather honeymooners or maybe those just wanting to relax. Beach is good at high tide but not great at low tide as rocks make entry difficult. There is however short walks, swimming and kayaking. Stayed in the hilltop accommodation and loved it - just like it appears on the website. Spa was very good and is fit in well with the relaxation theme of this resort.

Room Tip: Beach or hitop villas seem to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 535 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my 2nd times to Tioman but Japamala makes my stay fabulous!!!
Awesome stay with great hospitality and very friendly staffs. Rooms are very natural designed and very unique designed. Planning for my Anniversary soon with my hubby.

Room Tip: All the rooms have its own unique design...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights and 5 days at this lovely resort. We stayed in a seaview chalet. The room itself was rustic, but had all the amenities to make us comfortable. We did have to climb a fair amount of stairs to get to the room, so, if that is not for you, a jungle room might be a better choice. The one issue we had with our room was that the toilet and shower were essentially outside. While this was novel at first, it was not as fun in the middle of the night when you were greeted by various bugs/animals while you were half asleep and using the toilet. The room was also quite dark, even with all of the lights on. Finally, it is essential to keep the door to the room closed at all times to avoid monkeys, bugs and other animals from entering.

The property itself has a rustic luxury to it. There is a small beach with three palapa huts. If you are not fortunate enough to get a palapa hut, the staff will set up cushions for you on the beach. Unfortunately, there is no shade on the beach and the cushions get uncomfortable after a while. My advice is to get up early and claim a palapa! While we were there, they were doing some significant renovations on the property, so, there might be more palapas in the future.

There are two restaurants on the property - one serving Italian/Western cuisine and one serving local Malay cuisine. Both are good - but the Malay cuisine was delicious! There are no other options for food other than these restaurants, so, you will definitely try them both (multiple times) during your stay.

The staff is wonderful and very attentive. They are more than happy to cater to your every whim. The spa, however, is not much more than a room at the top of a very long flight of stairs. It is fine for a quick massage, but there is not much pampering or luxury.

Overall, this resort is a rustic gem. I would, however, limit your stay to 2-3 nights as the scenery and the food can get a bit repetitive after that. We would definitely go back for a weekend getaway - but we would shorten our stay a bit. Overall, this resort is lovely and I would recommend it for a weekend of relaxation on the beach.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, go for a searview chalet. Less bugs and intrusive wildlife than the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed two nights end of December in the Seacliff chalet at JapaMala Resort - a wonderful experience.
It is perfectly located - in the middle of the jungle and at the beach at the same time, so you will be able to see monkeys, lemurs, lizards, geckos, beautiful butterflies, etc. I loved the friendliness of the stuff - they meet you at the airport and get you by boat to the resort (treating you with a lemongrass drink) and make their best to accommodate you.
It is a kind of luxury Robinson Crusoe experience - so close to nature, but with all what you need from modern life - great food, spa, nice beach and even wifi (but poor phone connection).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kousia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Positive things first: very friendly staff, great massages and good food. Downsides: TOTALLY overpriced. We stayed in the Hillside Sarang over Christmas 2012 for approx. 300 USD a night (full price despite monsoon season). The toilet seat was simply disgusting with stains and partially broken. The slippers in the room had already been used by previous guests. The mattress smelled like mold and the resort generally gave the impression of being past its prime. In addition, we were pre-informed that there would be some construction work on-going (building of a new pool) but that there would be "no heavy machinery used". However, saws were in daily use and the high pitch noise of sawing was upsetting. While the food was good, the prices were “European”. For example, a tea cost more than 5 USD...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank roemerchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This resort is the best on Tioman. It's isolated, well organized, the staff are outstanding- they provide a very personalized service, as there are so few guests- the resort is pretty small and the ratio of guests to staff probably isn't more than 9:1. The food was fantastic- an italian and a thai/ malay restaurant. My only complaint was an aggressive male monkey trying to scare me off my balcony. While my room was extremely pleasant, with a well-stocked refrigerator and so on, what I really needed at that moment was a crossbow.

Frankly, though, this resort is slightly hamstrung by location. I mean, it's in Tioman. The place is good if you need a weekend retreat from Singapore or KL, but if you have the days off to go further, then please do so. Sabah is much nicer. To expand upon being hamstrung by location, Tioman is in Malaysia, and that's disadvantageous as well. Sorry, but everything in Malaysia feels like a cut-rate Indonesia. Malaysia has great marketing, and Indonesia is not good at marketing itself at all. But in Indonesia, the water's bluer, the people are friendlier, the varieties of regional cuisine are better, the diving is amazing (diving on Tioman was like diving in a parking lot relative to places in Indonesia), etc etc etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BobbyAceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was travelling with a friend and we were there for three nights (a long weekend).
A beautiful island and a beautiful resort... The staff are great. Really helpful and friendly. The beach is amazing... Quite isolated and you need to organise a boat ride/ sea taxi to get to other parts of the island. The food is fabulous - especially the BBQ on the beach. Breakfasts are great too.

I would highly highly recommend you go!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
7.3 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
2.9 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Japamala Resort by Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Japamala Resort by Samadhi

Address: Kampung Lanting, Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#1 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $131 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Japamala Resort by Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JapaMala is Tioman Island’s only boutique resort, and one-of-a-kind in Malaysia. This small and exclusive resort of 13 rooms is hidden amidst 11 acres of lush tropical rainforest. A one-village-one-resort property, JapaMala has its own private and quiet beach. While some charming Malay village-style villas and chalets dot the jungle and beachfront, others nestle in the most breath-taking spots.Best described as an ‘eco-luxe’ resort, JapaMala transcends the experience of living close to nature by redefining it with a touch of luxury. Designed by natural streams, steep cliffs, towering boulders and where no trees are felled, the entire resort borrows from nature its elements to offer an exceptional sense of paradise, freedom from the real world. While serious relaxation is an elusive commodity for many, one can truly succumb to the healing effects JapaMala imparts through its holistic blend of sumptuous gourmet treats, intimacy between man and nature, unique spa experiences and truly unprecedented hospitality. Many say JapaMala is not just a place, but a state of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotwire, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Japamala Resort by Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japamala Hotel Pulau Tioman
Japamala Resort
Japamala Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing