We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven and Earth, I agree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven and Earth, I agree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall surprisingly fantastic experience. I stayed with my wife and little son for 3 nights in mid November 2013. Obviously there were only very little guests since it is off-season. I am a nature lover and I wanted to be away from my work and was looking for some peace. It is really heaven and earth in-between sea and rainforest. This hotel is isolated from rest of the establishment in the island. No roads. Just the sea in front of you and rainforest behind. Exactly what we wanted.

Some tips:
Transportation. From Johor Bahru to Mersing, By bus 10-14 MYR for pax , 2-3 h, a taxi 150-180 MYR. I took a taxi all the way from Singapore (BUGIS) to Mersing and paid 180SGD. The real problem starts when it comes to the ferry. You can book ferries on line. Ferry transfer is around 2 hours. Damn bored. Please prepare with a book or try to fall a sleep. If I am going there again I will fly for sure no matter how expensive it is. Transportation is beyond hotels control. No point scolding them. It is 51km from Mersing to Tioman.

Rooms: Nice, Well kept and maintained. Comfortable. New. No worries about rooms. You will enjoy.

Food and Drinks: Great taste. Not much to choose. But adequate. I loved the cocktails in Ombak Bar. Enjoyed my dinners. Soups, 4 options. Soup lovers try SOTO AYAM. Pineapple rice, nasi goreng all well. Breakfast included and it is good. Some evenings they have seafood BBQ. Most difficult thing is waiting time. It is horrible. Can be as long as 30 min sometimes. Prepare your self for this, otherwise you will get disappointment and angry. Just walk on the beach, read a book or order a drink, get occupied your self with some thing until your food is ready. But don't worry your food will taste great.

Staff: Of course they are friendly and helpful.

Pool: Good location and well designed. The water was a bit sour.

Snorkelling: Great around the jetty and floating stages. But for a great experience go for a island hopping tour with a boat. They will take you to coral island and Marine park and this brings you a life time experience of snorkelling. This trip also includes lunch and Paya beach resort( have to pay separately) and visit to Aishah waterfall. Carry some bread with you. This trip is expensive 720 MYR for 4 ppl.

Activity: Jungle track, Pool table, Diving.

Room Tip: Beach villa- Facing the beach, backyard garden Family villa- facing garden, backyard beach Rainfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PSK294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    158
    51
    25
    10
See reviews for
159
171
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Tunamaya Beach Resport. We had a package which covered for our meals, transfers and some activities. I should note that I have three children aged 3,6 and 9. Overall, the trip was very enjoyable and the kids had a good time.

It was a little challenging getting to the island. The ferry service to the island takes up a lot of time. But once we were on the island, it was very enjoyable. Tunamaya is a relatively new resort. It has very clean and comfortable facilities and cabins.

The highlights were the meals, particularly those cooked by the sous chef, Nathan. He was exceptionally friendly and went to some lengths to accommodate our requests. The other staff were also exceptionally helpful and firendly. One staff in aprticular, Afzal, went out of his way to help us on th evoage from the island to the Mersing Jetty. With three kids and a lot of luggage, his help (for no expectation of reward or recognition) was fantastic.

The one negative apsect related to our package. We paid a significant amount because the package was said to include all meals etc. However, on getting there, we discovered it did not include any bevearages, including juices and the like. Also, because our kids did not eat much, we had a lot of dishes and this resulted in food being wasted (so after a while we stopped getting 5 dishes between us). Unfortunately we were not able to exchange the dishes for juices which would have made sense given the significant amount we paid for the package.

But all up, it was en enjoyable trip and the kids loved snorkelling and going on the bushwalks. The beach is a little rocky, so bring your beach shoes.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, although if you want to be near the water, go for the beach chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Went to tioman and the resort on a solo trip and was having the expectation that I may get bored to death but it turned out to be a great solo trip and time seemed to fly ! Compliments on the resort in providing such attentive service , room was extremely comfy and clean (got the rain forest villa). Stayed in for 2 nights and time was well spent on jungle treakking (it was quite a challenge for a city boy like me) and to the waterfall. Got a huge ferry by my own to the waterfall too that was a pleasant surprise. Spent a great deal of time exploring the beach hope I had more time for the spa and snokerlling. The physical activities will made me all spent out and I had the leisure to either eat my full after or have a good shower and rest .... Not to mention the food !!! Got the package deal and despite having to pay a minimum for 2 pax it was all still worth it!! Package inclusive of all meals and each meals come with 3 huge course !!! Ate to my very full and the deal to provide a free trip to the waterfall . Whole environment is romantic and pleasant and despite being alone I do not feel akward at all. Oh Bingo the resort pet dog was a great company too ! Though he do get a bit excited towards solo travelers .... Lol. Overall a nice trip and be back again for the snokerlling and Treak to the twin peaks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

stayed 4 days 3 nights at the resort with my pregnant wife. we got the beach facing villa and the room has nothing to fault about. it felt very modern and not crampy. bathroom is perfect and the water pressure is more than adequate (keep in mind that the resort is on a pretty deserted island).
the front facade has a comfortable lazychair for you to enjoy the seaview and breeze.

since the resort is pretty much disconnected from other parts of the island (most of the resorts in Tioman are), your choice of food is limited to what the house restaurant has got to offer, the menu offers italian, some basic western and asian cuisine, but by the second day, it gets harder for me to choose a meal. food quality was otherwise up to par.

since it was the monsoon season (throughout our stay, it remained very sunny, but choppy waters), there was no snorkling trips organised, however you could still snorkle around the house corals, which is basically a huge necrotic patch of hard corals with some signs of life. there are plenty of fishes otherwise, some colourful eels and a few coral sharks. the whole patch is exposed during low tide, which during this time you can examine what remains of the corals by foot. I suggest that this should be the only way to get upclose with the corals, as i found many living but damaged ones, done by guests who unknowingly stepped on the live corals during high tide. the righthand side of the resort is much better suited for snorkling as instead of (dead) corals, it has a sandbed, and still lots of fishes.

the hiking trail at the back of the resort is a must do as the end of the 'official' trail gives a spectacular view of the sea and the surrounding islands. the hike itself takes about an hour, with an elevation of 350m (based on my very inaccurate ABC watch). you can continue on to hike to the very top of the island which then gives you an almost 360 view of Tioman, however a guide (or a good hiking GPS and some guts) is needed to get to the top.

The caveat:
having travelled to many other islands in Malaysia, i have known beforehand the experience one might get, while GETTING INTO the island. Crampy ferries, rude staff manning the ferries, you name it. Those issues are beyond the control of the resort. Hence i recommend flying into the island. Even then, please be prepared to pay 10 ringgit for 'Conservation Fee'. A couple in front of us was yelled at by the counter staff for being confused about the charges (again beyond control of the resort). The fee was something even us (Malaysians!) were caught by surprise.

otherwise, me and my wife had a pleasant experience at the resort and will not hesitate to recommend the resort to our friends.

Room Tip: the only internet access is at the reception/restaurant area via wifi. I can however pull a signal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremiJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Wakra, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just came back from this paradise on earth. Tioman is a place to be in when you wanna have a relaxed vacation away from bustling life of the cities. We stayed at Tunamaya resort and thanks to tripavisor for helping us to pick a place for our first family vacation in Malaysia. We booked beach cluster villa as I am always thrilled by the sights and sounds of the shore waters. We could not get flight to tioman so had to drive down to Mersing from KL and then bluewater express ferry took us to Genting jetty. From Genting jetty, Tunamaya's own private speed boat took us to the resort. Thanks to Farah for booking us a place in the ferry. If she would not have done it, it was next to impossible to get a ticket on the spot as they were already full due to Diwali vacation rush. We were received at the resort jetty by their front office staff and our luggage was carried to our room in thieir golf carts. Room was very well maintained, neat and clean. All basic necessities like toiletries, tea/coffee, beach/bathrobe, slippers were available. We had requested for babysitting as our son is just 15 months old and its not possible to roam around freely carrying him along. Babysitter was well experienced I must say coz I know its not easy handling our little monster.. haha.. Mornings were great, evenings even better with high tide coming around evening.
The restaurant and bar staff seemed to be a bit under numbered. I could see them running around trying to cope up with the orders from all the tables. Service too was a bit slow.. but then we were not in any kind of rush...!
Great concept of their Infinity pool.. Dint bother to spend much time at the pool coz i had the whole sea at my doorsteps..! :)
All in all.. a great experience at Tunamaya resort. Many thanks to their staff for taking care of all our needs with the baby. Great team work I must say..!
Check out my photos to live our experience
Cheers

Amrit

Room Tip: Book beach cluster villa if you want ocean at your doorstep..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amrit_Preet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at tunamaya for 4 days 3 nights. The drive to mersing is easy. Make sure to arrive early (3 hours prior to departure) to secure a parking spot next to the ferry terminal. The ferry boarding was kind if a jungle so with 3 kids, it was a pain.
At Genting, the boat from tunamaya was waiting for us.
It was our first time in pulau tioman and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. Our chalet was facing the water: the deck, beds, bathrooms are of very good standards.
The water is crystal clear. Upon our arrival we spotted a small black tip reef shark.
We had our own snorkeling equipment and the staff were kind enough to lend us some extra gear.
What made the stay so special was the possibility to literally walk from our room into the snorkeling area. There is plenty to be seen at the doorstep: Murray eel, turtle, reef shark, anemone fish...
About the improvements:
- Service rigor at the restaurant could be improved. Waiting time is too long or open the restaurant at 6 pm
- Add a small convenience store so that parents can buy snacks, drinks out of lunch/dinner times
- own more than 1 kayak as it's enjoyable to share the kayaking experience
- upon departure, for those taking a ferry around 2 pm, offer some pack lunches as the food options at the ferry terminal are near to non existent

Overall, we had a great time. Small improvements would go a long way for families.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We celebrated our first anniversary here and overall we had a great experience. Room was upgraded by the hotel, and a free cake was given to us for our first anniversary. The resort is quite small and offers privacy. We liked the design of the chalets and although beach activities are a little bit more limited, this was great for us as we just wanted to spend some time away from the hustle and bustle. The staff were very attentive and polite as well - a very important factor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island

Property: Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Address: Lot 20 & 21, Kampung Pasir Sarang Burung, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a rainforest at the southern tip of Tioman Island, Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island and its private beach provide a lush escape for sun seekers. With the island's serenity enveloping the resort, and with sights that include a view of the island's approximately 1,000 year old rainforest terrain, our resort's 54 villas are blessed with a natural ambience that's difficult to beat. Choose from villas with sea views, rainforest views or garden views and go face to face with marine life and admire soft corals, sea urchins, turtles, clown fish and even reef sharks in the clear turquoise waters in front of the resort.The resort also has Tioman Island's only infinity pool for seaside lounging, and it provides activities like jungle trekking (towards Asah Waterfalls and the twin peaks) and pizza making and batik painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing