We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best island resort in the south china sea,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“best island resort in the south china sea,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Tioman Berjaya Island hotel is a fine resort. The rooms, staff, food and all amenities are above standard. The golfing and diving excellent. Great place to relax and re-charge the batteries.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    618
    328
    137
    84
See reviews for
476
548
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

just came home from a 6D/5N at Berjaya Resort in Tioman where my daugther and I spent a very relaxing holiday. the accomodation -actually the whole resort- is quite basic and rustic. everything is clean and maintained quite well, still it's everything but new or hip or exciting. we had a so called 'superior room', unfortunately not beach fronting - although requested ahead of time. whatever you can read in other reviews is true: the rooms are basic and old and especially the bathrooms could do with a makeover. however, if you're looking for some relaxation and family time you will love the place. btw, we slept extremely well: the mattresses seem to be new and it was very quiet (but maybe I should mention that we didn't have neighbours).
the overall package price (incl flights from and to SGP) was okay-ish; considering it was monsoon time and off peak it was at the higher end for what you get.
the food at the resort's main restaurant was very good and they catered for our special dietry request with lots of dedication and genuin concern. Important to mention: all the staff was always very helpful and very friendly! nice people with a nice smile.
for family with kids: the pool is good, there is also a playroom with table tennis as well as a bigger play room with videogames, pool and snooker etc.
I bet the snorkling, kayaking etc must be great - unfortunately due to wheather conditions / monsoon we couldn't go for it.
the Island is worth being explored - make sure you book an island tour, be it by car or by boat. or even better, do both.
the SPA is definitely overpriced, the deep tissue massage as well as the kids massage were very nice and professional.
there is free wifi at the lobby / in the restaurant.
last but not least: the two restaurants just outside the resort are both okay. the chinese one has a monkey on a leash for kids to play with... not sure how okay that really is, but the chap seems to enjoy cuddling and being petted...? as the whole island is duty free you can get a good selection of asian and international beers at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-ibex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

If you live in Singapore and plan to travel to Tioman, please dont make the same mistake we did by air travel + Berjaya tioman hotel stay.

Firstly, the costs in value is not worth it.

Berjaya Air - Airplane is almost anytime can break down.

Berjaya Hotel Tioman - Hotel is old and run down with poor maintenance.

Food (dinner+ breakfast) at Nelayan Restaurant that comes in the 3D 2N stay package is horrendous!

We first arrived and took the Superior Room, we were given a room filled with dust, not swept, old i mean literally very old furnitures, pillows that had smell *all 4of them!
Mattress that would sink in like a bowl when you sleep!!!!!!

I myself had travelled the world, i am not a fussy person, i give in all the time for little tiny miny stuffs but unfortunately i am deeply saddened by this hotel. I have no comments on their hotel staff, most of them are locals. How much can we expect from them? They are friendly, but it doesnt satisfy my stay!

next day we requested for room change after a long walk to the lobby and a brief complain to the manager. Immediately given another room.

It was much better, beach front. However when i woke up on the 3rd day, i had bed bugs bites all over my body..... from the next till the toe... i was all reddishhh!!

My complain is that we paid 928 SGD for 2 (as a package) and its not worth it!!!

Outside the rooms were beautifully decorated gardens but inside is horrible! to me its pointless!

Hot water, after 5 mins of use, water becomes cold!! ughh.. the little fridge in our first room wasnt cold enough to store beers!

Apart from taht, Tioman island itsself was fantastic, we hired a boat trip to Tulai Island and did snorkeling ourselves despite the stupid package that gave us a trip to Rengis Island whcih we did ourselves!

Everything in Berjaya Hotel was super duper ex, even to play Tennis, to a simple video game is super overly charged.

I am a paymaster but i will not be happy if you can deliver when you put such a high price for everything!

So no more Berjaya Tioman, the pictures you see on their website are fake! Beware...

I would definitely go again to Tioman island and check out other hotels though...

Oh yea, not forgetting, we had to take a taxi out of Berjaya and eat local food which were 100X more tasty!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank RaizoRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

Enjoyed our stay her in every way... room/bungalow very nice.. we had an ocean vieuw one.. not a big luxury.. but so relaxed and so quiet!!
Food was great everything... so Berjaya..so Great..!!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Berjaya Tioman is perfect place for beach holidays. Beaches have crystal clear water and we could spot the fishes in 4 feet clear waters. The place was perfect site for snorkeling and it has beautiful corals. Only one needs to be careful of Sea Urchins, as you can find it commonly. Food is great at it had THAI and INDIAN restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikramleekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

Berjaya resort is a beautiful and clean resort. Our room was 2 stones throw away from the beach and it was just beautiful. I wont help it but to keep on saying how beautiful the place is. The waters are clear but its more to greenish brown clean. Other beaches in tioman have a more amazing waters, though.
There is a small warong near the entrance of the resort for those who dosent want to spend alot on food as resort's food could be a bit more pricy. At night, there is a bbq at the sam warong.
You can take rent a motorbike to roam around the island but I suggest it will be more safer if you have someone to take you around in a car as the roads are steep and i would say dangerous. Unless if you have men travelling with you.
To whoever who is going, it will be an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed at Tioman Berjaya resort for 7 nights and we did enjoy the place. The good features are the location right on the beach with a reasonable pool overlooking the beach. The pool was good for kids and there was alot of families there. We tended to spend most of our time on the beach though and as long as you get up reasonably early (9am) get your towel and secure a sun lounge you are set. There is also some great snorkeling very close to the resort which we enjoyed.
The actual rooms though are very dated the walls between rooms are quite thin and this was an issue for us as we had a late night TV watcher who we could hear next door. We asked to move and that was no issue which was good. The facilities in the room are basic but it does have a fridge and TV.
We also found the limitation of the place was that the restaurants could be expensive by local standards but there are 2 restaurants just outside the gates that are worth trying and cheaper. The Malaysian restaurant has great fresh seafood you can choose to be BBQ'd but the service is a bit chaotic and you may wait for a while. Next door you can get good chinese food and also buy alcahol and other basic snacks at much cheaper prices than in the resort. You can also get a taxi into town and go the the supermarket if you want to stock up.
The Chinese restaurant in the resort near reception was our favourite, good food and service at the price was reasonable. The main restaurant also did a good buffet of food from the BBQ that was also quite tasty.
We didn't have breakfast included and even though the breakfast buffet was good it was quite expensive. We found the service of the staff to be good especially in the main dining room.
There is also a golf course and tennis courts if you feel active.
The spa was also good for massages.
Also the beach bar with the live entertainment was a bit of fun.
Overall we thought it was reasonable value for money but if you are after luxury definetly not the place to stay, good for a reasonably priced beach holiday but we probably won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.5 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing