We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip to Tioman Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second Trip to Tioman Island”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We planned this trip since December last year. We knew that this time of the year - it is school holiday season so hotel and ferry tickets were expected to be fully booked. We were told that the Berjaya Air was not operating and we had to use the ferry services to get to Tioman Island.
The ferry tickets cost us RM70 return ticket and bought through online, but don't trust the time of travel that you had booked. As long as you have the ticket, you can get in the ferry any time of the day (the same date on the ticket). We arrived at the ferry at 9.00am, the ticket sale person informed that we will get the 11.00 am ferry. We had to register, in which depends the availability of seats. Luckily there were seats to Tekek jetty, so we managed to get the 11.00am tickets.
Secondly, we had to pay entrance fee to the island.
Thirdly, we had to bring the ferry tickets and the entrance fee receipts to the boarding counter and waited for the counter to open. Once, the glass window opened - people rushed to get the boarding pass. We got the green boarding pass - written on the pass that we had to follow the seating number written on that pass, just ignore that statement. It was free seating in the ferry.
We waited patiently as we already anticipated the late arrival of the ferry. The ferry arrived at 12.00 noon. We had to bear the heat, humidity and noise.
When we were allowed to board the ferry - everyone rushed cramped through the entrance door. Only those with the boarding pass were allowed to enter the jetty platform.
The weather was fine, so the journey was smooth.
When we arrived at the Tekek jetty, the Berjaya shuttle was waiting for us and drove us to the hotel lobby.
This was my second visit to Berjaya Tioman Resort. Our first visit here was 13 years ago. It was much beautiful back then but the facilities now are much better.
The room was clean and the housekeeping services were excellent. The staff were helpful and humble. We had no negative comment regarding the room.
The food in the hotel - lovely but very expensive. You can try eating at some stalls just outside the hotel entrance. They are cheaper and quite nice.
The beach was superb. The island hopping and marine activities charges at the hotel are costly. Just try to negotiate with some locals at the transport stand (just beside the guard house at the hotel entrance)- we can get RM60-70 per person for 6 site of island hoping and snorkeling activities.
We enjoyed the night at the beach...just sitting there looking at the sky. Beautiful starry night and watching falling stars - something we can never get in the city.
The Tioman Island is a duty free island, but this is not a shopping paradise. Nothing much to buy. The imported items (e.g. chocolates) are not that cheap.
Rest and relax. We love this vacation (minus the ferry experience)
If we decide to come again - we will come by air.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the beach - you can enjoy the sunset from the room balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    656
    343
    147
    85
See reviews for
511
570
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This whole trip was a memorable one. Beside the Ferry that really make me sick; everything was just perfect.
Nice and beautiful room. Clean and cosy. Look for a better room category and pay the extra which you will never regret. Worth every single penny.
Beautiful beach and clean water. Relax by the beach with a glass of margarita and watch the day passes. Something you will never ever get in the city.
Looking forward to return.

Room Tip: Book for a higher room category. Worth every single penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNg108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, the price was affordable as for the 4* hotel on the beach. There is a shuttle that takes you to the hotel from ferry station, so don't worry, you will be picked up, no shuttle booking is needed. As we checked in I stated that would like to pay for breakfast right now. But the price for chalet itself was charged only, we should have been given some coupons. As we came for breakfast, we thought that the price for breakfast was charges from the card, but no - we had to pay 90 ringgit for 2 adults, as for me it is quite expensive in comparison to European 4* resorts where I've been before. The room was quite big and clean, the bed was huge and comfortable. There was also a diving centre nearby that as I understood belongs to Berjaya hotel, we paid 250 ringgit for the first dive and 200 for the second one, we had no experience before and it was amaising! We saw sharks and turtle. BTW there is a small shop newr the reception where you can buy some snacks and souvenirs(rather expensive, so better buy them in Mersing)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

After a fairly long ferry journey, it was wonderful to arrive into the scenic Berjaya resort. A five minute shuttle ride from the ferry terminal, the resort is nestled in between the forest and beach and is the perfect weekend (or longer) getaway. I came as part of a large group celebrating a birthday and it was perfect. Some were able to lounge by the pool, others went off snorkeling and others went off on a hike up the rather large hill behind us. The rooms were lovely and spacious though our ac unfortunately decided to create a mini waterfall onto one of the beds at 7am. Not ideal but certainly didn't spoil the weekend. There's two small hawkers by the entrance that served great seafood and drinks, and was a lovely way to watch the sunset. Plenty of children there, but also plenty of couples so suitable for everyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cartwheels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tioman is generally a nice place to take a short getaway to, but this isn't really the hotel to stay while there. It has some nice touches such as individual traditional-styled chalets, a seafront pool and a comfortable lobby, but then at $150 a night this was seriously overpriced considering some smaller seafront resorts had rooms for $26 a night!

The room was spartan at best, and past midnight I could hear the television noises as well as some chatter from the people next door. Food was overpriced as well in their in-house restaurant, so it was no surprises that most guests walked out to the locally-owned huts right outside the resort, which had a thriving business. Overall, this isn't a bad experience per se but given the costs and value for money factor, other alternatives may be worth exploring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked a chalet & it was spacious , large bed & clean Bed sheets. We had our food at the restaurant including breakfast was good. We hired a boat & went Island hopping. My older folks who were not used to taking a boat ride felt seasick . The wave was huge as we bopped in & out of the sea. It was scary at times & you hung our dear life to the side of the boat. We went to an area where there were a lot of fishes & we fed them. It was like an aquarium with different types of colourful marine fishes. I bought an underwater camera to catch the marine lives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Basically, its a big resort which is in need of some updating. It did feel busy when we where there. That being said, it depends what you want. If you want a beach holiday in a big resort then there's nothing wrong with this. Personally I like small places, with very few people around me and thats probably colouring my thoughts of this. The food was good and plentiful. Many of the rooms are pretty much on the beach and our room was really nice. The island is pretty. We had a room at the end of the resort 100 yards from the entrance and the highlight of our stay was the eagles who regularly came at low tide to fish - obviously we were lucky, but briliant to be so close to such magnificent birds. If you get a chance to do go to the otherside of the island which is really pretty. If you choose to walk and take the road over the centre of the island be warned its very steep in places. Take lots of water. The coral is pretty dead near the hotel and around the island generally, which is a shame. There is some live coral, but not much compared to eg the Red Sea.

Would I go again - probably not, but that's more because its not my kind of place. That being said we stayed here at the end of a 3.5 week holiday in Malaysia and after 2.5 hectic weeks of doing stuff it was a decent enough place to spend a week doing very little on the beach.

Room Tip: Go for a beach facing superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
564 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing