We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location with less staff hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location with less staff hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just coming back from 3 days gateaway @ this resort.i brought together with berjaya air .the berjaya air dfntly need major refurbish.the hotel is located nicely and expected privacy at the beach . Stayed at the deluxe chalet facing beach.very nice, clan and big room. The b/l/d at the nelayan resto is very nice with a wide selection of food.

The cons: the staff is very much unfriendly..from the moment we check in the reservation staff and bellboy is not helping much.no smile and welcome feeling at all.the resto staff is likely not giving any training on how to serve food and drink properly and their staff even cant speak english nor bahasa.the chalet and the resto is quite far.so it will be nice if berjaya can provide us bicycle ( without charge).

Overall the hotel is nicely located and clean but the staff attitude is not even par with the price paid.so sad...

Room Tip: Choose nearer to resto
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogiealong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    618
    328
    137
    84
See reviews for
476
548
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last year, I was with 3 kids and I loved the place. My kids loved the glass bottom boat tour. The breakfast was decent with lots of variety for all. And the Corriander seeds restaurant was awesome. Great food and nice sitting arrangement. The beach is nice and the person in charge of snorkelling was very helpful.
Only thing that was negative was that there was no life guard at the pools. Me and my 2 year old lost balance and were drowning in the pool but there was no help.
Hope they have better arrangements next time. Otherwise, no complaints. My kids still miss the fish and chips that we regularly ordered in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazishgaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I went in May for a 3 night break.Upon arrival from the ferry, we got checked in and we were on our way to the room when we discovered the room had not yet been cleaned so we were given another room without the sea view. We paid for the sea view and we had to wait for another hour for our rooms to be ready. The superior/deluxe rooms were big but basic and needed renovation. The breakfast buffet came with the room price and it had a fair choice. Dinner buffet wasnt to my taste and food options could be better. WE did not swim at the pool as it looked tiny and mainly for children. We mostly swam at the beach further out from the hotel where the water was clear and clean, We had a snorkeling pass which came with the room. It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend it. Overall, it was a pleasant experience but it could have been better. I was a bit disappointment with the rooms for the price we paid. I would go to Tioman again but stay at another hotel and get a flight over .The more expensive rooms are not worth the price and are just as good as the standard room.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the beach have a nice view but I think not worth the price we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've just come back from 2 weeks at Tioman and loved it. Maybe stayed for a few days too many, but loved it all the same.
The vibe is very relaxed and the staff are all really friendly. The decor is a bit dated in the rooms and about the resort in places, but that isn't what we went there for. We also got a good deal on the room prices (c$100 USD per night), which made it seem better value for money than the full price as per the Berjaya website (c$140 USD per night), which seems a bit expensive having now been there.
The Resort:
The rooms were a decent size, however we found the setup a little weird. The superior chalets are all in 4's. So you always have a room adjoining and a room below or above, and the walls are pretty thin. We ended up moving to a standard room (to the disbelief of the staff!) and loved it. Rooms were cleaned everyday and I think they changed the sheets every day too? See room rec for more details.
There are two restaurants, the main open air one and Coriander Seeds, a thai/indian place. Breakfast was included in our room rate and had a huge variety. Something for everyone surely. Food was nice and we thought service was great. Some of the staff have less English than others but if you wanted anything different then they would go and get an English speaker for you. (I often had special orders due to allergies and they were always so happy to accommodate).
There are two pools, the main one by the restaurant which is usually full with kids, or one by the lobby which we often had to ourselves.
My bf played golf one day and said the course was really well looked after, though holes quite short. Recommended getting a buggy as it can get really hot.
Snorkeling:
The snorkeling (the main reason we went there) was great. Off the beach there were some good spots, particularly by the line of white buoys in the middle of the beach. Close in a lot of the coral was broken or bleached but a bit further out there was some great coral and loads of fish. We did the trip to Reggis Island, just off the beach, almost every day. 1/3 discount if you bring your own gear, and worth having flippers as some days it could be quite a strong current. It's close enough to swim but there's a busy boat lane between the island and the beach so they don't advise it. And for 30 MYR the boat is cheap enough. We saw loads every trip, a couple of turtles, reef sharks and loads of fish.
We also did the trip to coral island, which is about 40 minutes by boat. We met another couple and arranged the trip separately at the transport centre just outside the gate. For 400 MYR (so 100 each) we had use of the boat for the whole day. Coral island was good, but on its own not that much better than Reggis Is. However we also stopped at Malang Rock, which was brilliant. So clear and tons to see. We saw a couple of turtles and got within metres of them, a huge moray eel, a couple of reef sharks and tons of fish. Can't recommend this spot enough. Also stopped at Salang Bay for lunch, which seemed like a nice spot, and a couple of other snorkeling spots. Great trip, well worth it.
You can arrange a trip to Coral Is through the dive centre for 90 MYR each but they put you on a charter with other folk from different resorts so can't guarantee where you go (apart from Coral Is). We asked about going back to Malang Rock but they couldn't guarantee it as they sometimes don't stop there if there's kids due to the current.
Outside the Resort:
We walked over to the village (15 minutes) a few times for dinner and to stock up on beer at the duty free shop (worth it, much cheaper than the resort). Town is pretty basic but some really nice places to eat. Especially the bbq places where you chose your fish! You can get a lift over, not sure how much, but we liked the walk. Loads of monkeys in the trees and walking along the power lines to keep you occupied.
There's also 2 restaurants just outside the resort. The bbq one is cheapest and food was nice, but we waited AGES both times we went there. Our favourite place was the chinese place across the road on the waterfront. Food was delicious and the staff made us laugh.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room but changed to a standard room after 3 days. The superior rooms are all pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,622 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just coming back from a holiday with my friends and we stay at Berjaya (Standard Chalet). Somehow, it is not worth to stay at this resort!!

From the jetty, we took the shuttle bus, The shuttle bus condition very sad, but the driver very kind and friendly.
The resort entrance gate doesn't represent the star of of the hotel.
The hotel doesn't provide kettle and iron in the room. So I call the service room, to request a kettle, an extra towel and an iron. after 10 ~ 15 min the staff come with kettle and extra towel. But, the staff forgot about the iron. It is OK for me since the staff promise to send the iron later, but until the day we checkout no one sent the iron to the room. Room 708.
The room not cleaned well, have dust on the TV, closet & bedside table.
The bathroom not cleaned well & the sink's pipe loose.
The bed's headboard has been ate by termite. Room 705.
There's riwear ants (kerengga) on my bed!!!
There's only 2 plug at our room. (No extension available).
No life guard at the pool.
Nelayan's Restaurant - the staff need lots of training!!!.. training them to speak in english and behave politely to the customer!!
Room 708 - TV no channel available. (Hotel manager should check the room before give the key to customer!!!)
Breakfast at Nelayan's Restaurant just basic breakfast. Not interested.
The day we check-out, I call the bellman to pick up our bag. After 30 min none come to our room, and I re-called the lobby. The said, the our room number still in queue. (Come on!! you're the biggest resort at tioman - give fast and efficient service!!!). After 45 min, we just walk to the lobby.

Personally, I'm NOT RECOMMEND this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
111 Thank narikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Period of stay: July 2012
Cost: RM 1100 for two pax for a "Sweet Honeymoon Package"
What was included in the package: 2 nights accommodation at Superior Chalet with buffet breakfast + 1 buffet dinner for two pax at the restaurant of the resort + 1 Discover Scuba session +1 Welcome Fruit Basket + Massage for two+ Welcome Drinks +Return transfer to the hotel from jetty

Pros:
- The package was quite worth it compared to the actual room rates as massage and discover scuba session were included.
- Buffet breakfast was good. Many choices were available.
- Buffet dinner had plenty of choices too.
- We enjoyed the massage very much and we loved having the private pool at the massage area all by ourselves.

Cons:
-Our room had a door that is connected to the other room and we could hear the baby's crying at midnight. The room's soundproofing was bad.
-The room was spacious, but very basic considering the price we paid for the room. The rooms look quite old and they are in need of some refurbishment.
-Wifi was only available at the lobby but not in the rooms.
- Food in the resort was really overpriced.
- We were not told that we could swap the activity " Discover Scuba" with other activities like snorkeling and we were required to pay RM 10 per person to go for snorkeling.

Verdict: Not a bad stay but we probably won't be back because of the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end our our honeymoon for what we thought would be a bit of luxury. The rooms are basic and are in need of decorating. The hotel is on the beach but is about a 15-20 minute walk to the main town.
The cleanliness was below average - our bathroom had cobwebs in it and after asking for it to be cleaned they were still there.
The pool is great although there are kids slides! Breakfast was good but overpriced - we went to the cafes just outside the complex and saved a fortune!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but I think the hotel needs a makeover if it is to continue charging these prices.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VesperLynd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.5 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing