We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrealized potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The island is beautiful, the beaches are unspoilt but this resort is outdated and overpriced! Our superior chalet was very close to the beach but the decor has not been updated since the resort was built and the room had a bed and not much else. The pool side bar is located right next to the water slide, so the watered down cocktails come with screaming children! The first night we ate at Corrindar Seeds restraunt and the service was very slow and the food merely reheated not fresh. The best meals were the breakfast omelette at the egg counter and the chicken terriaki pizza. Kayaking was fun but it is not FOC, which was disapointing. In order to see the island you have to walk to the main gate and flag a taxi. I would recommend that you find somewhere else to stay as the prices to not reflect the quality and customer service I have had elsewhere in Malaysia.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to pen your review of your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear of your experience at the Corriander Seeds. The Chefs will only cook the dishes when they get the orders. We have shared your comments with the Food and Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef as well.

We have taken note of your disappointment that kayak is chargeable; we will review this for our next season operations.

For the benefit of future guests, we would like to clarify some information on accessibility in Tioman. Complimentary transportation is provided for arrivals and departures by flight (Berjaya Air) and ferry (Bluewater) services only. For other requirements, there is a small counter located outside the resort which is run by the local community.

There are only 2 roads for vehicles in Tioman Island (Tekek to Berjaya and Tekek to Juara). If you intend to go anywhere else, you can only go by boat.

We thank you for the feedback and apologize for the shortfall you may have suffered. Thank you once again and we hope to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
There are newer reviews for Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Tioman for a long weekend and took the package that Berjaya offers including the flight + accommodation at Tioman Barjaya resort.
Although the planes are a little old, our flights left on time and everything was perfect. It's is the best way to arrive to Tioman from Kuala Lumpur (about one hour flight from Subang + 10 minutes drive from the airport to the resort).
At the resort, the room was nice, and we could relax in the beach.
We took one day diving which was nice.
The snorkling around the small Island in front of the resort is fantastic. You just can take a kayak and paddle there (it's so easy).
We had a very nice and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Tioman is an absolutely gorgeous, beautiful island. And from what I've seen the berjaya resort landscape and beach are the most beautiful on the island. The trip opportunities for snorkeling scuba diving and jungle trekking are all excellent. The hotel rooms are a bit worn, and there were some repair problems. In my room the shower gave minimal water for taking a shower and was not great, and the air conditioner unit was super loud and made it hard to sleep. The bedsheets did not seem as clean as I would've liked. It would be nice if they used bleach on the bed sheets, or threw them away when there were any stains on them (even ink marks, etc) However, I have noticed the same sheet issue at other Malaysian hotels, so maybe they don't use strong enough bleach and cleansers? The Indian and Thai restaurant was quite good, and I enjoyed my dinner. The coffee house where breakfast restaurant, was not as great. The food was okay but nothing exciting. I did find the staff at berjaya to be quite nice and helpful. Overall, I would recommend Berjaya because the island is absolutely gorgeous and the facilities were probably the nicest on the island. However it would be nice if they improved the interiors of the cabins.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b7601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I had my team building here with 22pax. The experience was really good either service, people or the hotel. The rooms was clean and spacious. My room was facing the beach and it was too good. The buffet varieties was good and each meal is served with diff. Variety of food. The staff is always approachable. Duty free shop is just 5 minutes away from hotel. Beach bar was open till late nite and the band was friendly and sporting. Other eatery place like Chinese,western n grill fish is accessible easily. Oberall,Well maintained private beach with good service and facilities. Will definitely go back again in Apr 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Choosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Crap, crap & crap (period) ... To think we paid Rm 500+ inc of crap breakfast made the whole experience hard to swallow ... Anyone who contemplates whether to book room only, yes room will do. Skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CongTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for the review of the resort. However, we would like to point out that we do not have Premier Chalet category at Berjaya Tioman.

We noted based on your other TripAdvisor review that you had stayed in the Premier Chalet at another resort in Langkawi recently and you had complaint of breakfast on the 26th October.

That is a day before your posting of review for Berjaya Tioman. We also noted that the review of the said resort in Langkawi have since being removed from TripAdvisor.

We are aware that you had contacted the resort in Langkawi on the 27th October over your complaint. We had sent you a PM seeking clarification of your stay with us at Tioman on the 29th October and there was no reply from you.

Sincerely,

Tan Seng Chye
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Utterly soulless, average food, average service and crazy prices. Basically it would be an ok 3 star resort if it wasn't for the high prices. There must be so many nicer and better value places to stay than this on Tioman. Unfortunately we had to book last minute and had no other option. I hope other travelers have more time to make a more informed decision!

If you do stay here then make the effort to walk for 5min outside the hotel to get food and drink. It's better and about 20% of the cost inside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munnsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking your feedback your stay with us.

Our room rates vary depending on the demand and season. Last minute room bookings are generally more expensive than if you book well in advance.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope your sentiments would change and that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in future.

Sincerely,

Tan Seng Chye
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room right on the beach and had an amazing stay. The room was big and clean and the amenities in general around the hotel were very good. Fantastic swimming pool and a good range of restaurants made this a really comfortable place to stay.

However the pinnacle was the long stretch of beach in the resort... after going diving in the morning there was nothing better than just floating in the shallows all afternoon.

The diving school was excellent and went out of their way to accommodate divers of all levels and ensure that they had a great dive. This was the same for the staff throughout the hotel... nothing was too much trouble.

Although there was nothing wrong with the food in the resort, there are a couple of fantastic restaurants just along the end of the beach by the resort which were better value and quality. If you enjoy fresh seafood, cooked however you ask, then you must try them. One is Chinese owned (great curried squid) and the other Malay owned (Grilled Lobster).

Would love to go back to this place and do nothing for another week.

Room Tip: Go for Beachfront
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimplis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
519 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
573 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing