We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Juz another good place to get away from reality :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and i had cancel our Gold Coast Australia trip to join our dearest uncles and aunties to Tioman. There are 15 of us. We had chosen Berjaya Tioman for our accomodation.
We were greeted by a Resort Staff once we got down from the ferry and was ushered to the Bus pick up point. The Bus driver assist us with the luggage loading and unloading. We are quite happy with the service at this point where staff are efficient and polite.
We had booked for a Deluxe room, we are happy to see the room was extremely neat and clean. Aircon was superbly cold but one of the two fans has tweaking sounds which is better to be turn off. The room has plenty of storage and even had an electronic safe deposit box which looks new (CHUBB) in the closet. There is also a electronic mosquito repellant provided but we never used as there arent any mosquitoes bites during our stay. Kudos to Berjaya as the landscape and area is very clean. While resting by the beach bench,i could see housekeeping staff doing their rounds and even security staff patrolling which make me more confident our five nights stay will b great. However in the evening, there is a powertrip but was rectify half hour later. Due to the powertrip our aircon was down and need a techinician to come over.Again staff was efficient and rectified within minutes.
RECOMMENDATION: We tried the Seafood BBQ Restaurant outside the resort by the bridgeand it is fantastic. Food is not only nice but cheap and there is variety of them especially local menus. We had even brought along our fishing catch to them and request them to cook to our choice of menu.

BEWARE: Of the travel booth outside the resort before the bridge. We are con by a guy named BOB. Tanned local guys who will approached you and make you achieve your dream holiday but on the actual day he will give you lots of reason and also demand extra payment. Even the boatman and taxi tried to get some cash out of our misery. I will not elaborate more of this unpleasant experience but we end up splitting into two groups where 1st group go back to resort and the other ones accounter a faulty engine boat which they end up goin back to shore when its dark. So lesson learnt for us we make our hiking,waterfall and snorkelling booking via the resort desk.

The resort hiking guide Mr Salam is very helpful in giving us tips and advice to make our hiking,waterfall and snorkelling trip a great one. This is much needed as we are travelling with 1infant and 4 kids in our group of 15 people. Booking itinary with the resort desk is far recommended as the guides and drivers are staff of Berjaya resorts. Even the 4wd we took are in good conditions which is also property of the resort. We really felt treated like a VIPs.

Please check your bills upon your check out cos the resort charge us for the mini bars which we dont even utilize. According to the bill,we had consumed all the mini bars and being replace everyday towards our stay. We refused to pay and demand the front desk to check. She just pick up the phone and put down,erase those claims. Not even checking or words on the phone...Weird!! But we dont have to pay for it.

Although different people has different reviews and thoughts about their experience in this resort. For me and family,this is just another place to get away from reality,the hustle and bustle of the city. Its worth every penny and good place for families.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor as our on the ground and could hear footstep or knocks at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muhammad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We recently visited Tioman for a family holiday. We stayed for 4 days so that I could complete my Scuba course.

We were suprised at how open the resort is. There are long walking paths that are well maintained (so great for a baby stroller). There are play grounds, football fields, a Jetty, and seating areas on the beach.

The eating area is big and comfortable.
There are 2 pools and both are in good condition. They also have 2 other pools that are for kids and toddlers.

The food was very good as was the service. If you need anything sorted out, ask Joe the F&B manager, he is all class.

Our room was a Junior Suite. We were very happy with it.
It was big, clean and was perfect for a baby cot to fit in to.

The bath plug was broken as was the sink plugs. We made a report, so if you get room 109 and it still doesn't work, then you know they haven't taken our suggestion in to consideration.

I would stay here again, and it would be great for anyone with a family as the open spaces are something you don't get in many hotels. I would say this is by far the biggest resort I have stayed at, but it is so open you don't realise it.

We avoided the school holidays so it was nice and quiet. We went in the middle of May. I hear it can get busy, but so do all hotels during school holidays.

The Scuba centre is excellent and run by some very friendly people.
The course was a lot of fun and very well organised. Everything was always on time and they were very helpful. They also have some very good deals for more dives/night dives etc.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is very nice. They are positioned nicely and are single story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My extended family (four oldies, three adult kids) from UK and NZ, have just had a wonderful week long break to celebrate a big birthday at the relaxing and informal Berjaya. I was concerned about the very mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, but we all were very happy with our rooms, the racilities and the resort generally. The resort is a good international 3 star standard - it claims 5 star status and I think this raises expectations which are not met, leading to disappointment and some of the rather trivial complaints here on this website.

Our experience was that the superior rooms were in need of some redecoration but were very clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate. The food outlets, bars etc were good and the pools/beach area were great - all very clean and well maintained. The resort is affordable and doesn't unduly exploit its virtual monopoly position. Small restaurants in nearby Tekek village are great fun for a change from the hotel, and very good value.

Our experience of the hotel was very much influenced by the staff, whom we found, without exception, to be efficient, helpful and friendly. The Front-of-House Manager, Joe Ismail, is a real professional and ensured that all guests were treated very well at all times. Thanks Joe and your team, for making our week so enjoyable.

Our view is that if guests are looking for an informal, relaxed and enjoyable beach holiday in very pleasant but not super deluxe surroundings, the Berjaya will meet their expectations.

Room Tip: The standard chalets have been refurbished but the superior chalets are being refurbished - standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at berjaya tioman for 3 nites in may 2012 and must say the stay was great. We really look forward for the stay and enjoyed it. The resort was well maintain and the room was clean. We have requested room near to beach and assigned accordingly. Check in procedure was quick and immediately escorted to the room. Food quality was good as well especially the buffet dinner. My wife enjoyed the variety offered. On the 2nd day we went for round island tour with snorkelling trips (must go snorkeling, beautiful coral especially at Pulau Renggis) which we enjoyed. Started at 9am and by the time we back to resort was already 6pm.. Tiring but great trip. On the 3rd day, we took up spa treatment. Berjaya need to improve on this, just a normal spa service... Nothing extraordinary and the customer service was average.. Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing time out for busy business schedule.

Room Tip: Choose room near Sri nelayan restaurant.. Convenient location..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muru20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked a deluxe chalet, and were quite looking forward to our stay from seeing the pictures on the website. On arrival (the free pickup from airport was great, although they could have notified us about this?!), we were disappointed to see that the room was smaller than it looked in the picture, and was quite old too. The fuse blew when flicking a switch, and we had to call for maintenance to come and fix it. There was also no toiletries when we arrived - but we assumed they just didn't provide them. We didn't get them until housekeeping came the next day! We were just fortunate that we had brought our own. Also, we had booked 3 people (ordered a 2nd bed), so they should have been prepared by placing 3 bottles of water and 3 towels instead of 2 of everything. The extra bed wasn't even in the room when we arrived.

The buffet was quite expensive, so we wanted to explore the island and find a restaurant outside of the resort. We asked the concierge desk, the tourism activity desk and reception - all of which refused to tell us of anything outside of the resort. They would only recommend us to eat WITHIN the resort! I have never been to a "luxury" hotel that didn't encourage guests to explore the location. This was extremely frustrating. We chose to eat at the Chinese seafood restaurant and the Malaysian bbq restaurant, both directly outside the gates of the resort. The food was good and much cheaper than the resort. We were appalled at the lack of service from the main desk - when dropping into the spa, noone was at desk, even though we waited 15 minutes. We walked to reception to ask for a price list, which they refused to give us. We asked them to ask the spa to deliver a price list to our room. We waited 3 hours, called twice, and the price list was never delivered to our room. We only realised the next day that it was in the folder in the room - why didn't reception just tell us this??

The beach bar was closed during the day, and refused to serve us any drinks when we requested some around 3-4pm. We're on holiday and would like a drink....do they not want to make any money?!

The only positive about our stay was the beach. It's a private beach and wider than the other stretches of beach that we saw on the island. Our recommendation is if you are not a family, do not stay here. The pool and beach were busy with families and children - a lot of yelling across distances means that it isn't ideal for a relaxing/romantic stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FG733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there for 4 days 3 nights. The resort is nice, but I expect better condition of the room with the price that I paid.

The food was great and the service in the restaurant was very nice. The best service ever was from the staff at the dive centre. They are so friendly and guide us well. We are really satisfied and felt very happy with their service and their hospitality. Thank you to all staff at the dive centre!

The overall service is nice, but only 1 person spoiled our mood. The person in charge for the snorkeling equip, he is kind of rude to us and thought us want to use the equip for free, and reluctant to give us the equipment. When we declared that we had paid for the package and make a prior booking about the trip on that day, he is mumbling alone with bad expression at his face. Someone (maybe his boss) come over to us when he saw that we were angry to his reaction, and calm us and order that man to give us the snorkeling equipment.

Room Tip: The place is big, choose the room that near to the restaurant or main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Husse_Serk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We needed a couples break someplace close to Singapore for a few days and Tioman was an easy choice.
Our hotels were narrowed down to Japamala, Baggus and Berjaya. Japamala was a bit too expensive, Baggus was booked so Berjaya it was.
We flew down from Changi - pleasant flight. Reached the hotel (the pickup was fast) and checked in. Our package was the 'Sweet Honeymoon' one so that included a few things like breakfast, one dinner and some activities.

Our room was (initially) a Superior. One thing that was strange was they gave us a twin bed instead of a double. This is odd considering it is a 'honeymoon package'. The girl at reception said they were full for the first night but we could 'try' and change the room tomorrow or get a double bed in. We tried joining the beds but they would not align as they had mattresses of different thicknesses. Nevertheless, after reading the horror stories of bad rooms, all in all the superior room was not bad. Simple but clean. The bathroom was a bit grotty (old) but clean.

The next day they arranged a viewing of a Delux chalet which was right near the beach and we decided to upgrade immediately. Its 100Rmb more per night. But the room was a major difference from the superior one. Bigger, cleaner, more modern and the bed was very comfortable. You also get a tub here (never used it though) instead of a shower.
The only gripe we had was when moving rooms. We packed our bags and left them in the room -walked to the main lobby (its a bit of a walk) and waited as we were told a buggy/drop will be arranged to move our things from the old room to the new. We waited and waited - buggies came and filled up and left but we could not get on. Finally when we went and asked the guy at the drop counter if it would ever be our turn he was a bit brisk and said to "wait longer". When reminded that we had been waitig for over 30 minutes - he said "but you only just told me". That he got so defensive was unnecessary. We gave them both our keys and asked them to move the bags themselves. We would not wait any longer. Fortunately they agreed.

The restaurant (Sri Nelayan) had some amazing food, however one lunch was not a great experience as the staff forgot about our order or misunderstood it - we were not served food for over an hour! we almost walked out. This was at 3.30 and we were back from a morning of snorkelling and starving. There were only four other tables being served and yet when we asked why the food was late - we were told its "a busy time". Not acceptable. But apart from that the restaurant staff though seeming a wee bit inexperienced were friendly and hospitable.

The beach is fantastic! The snorkeling amazing. We never used the pool - didn't have to with such an amazing ocean right outside. Besides it was usually full of happy noisy kids so we chose to stay away.

The restaurants right outside the gate are nice but try and go there early for dinner - once we went to Delima at around 8.30pm and got our food served at 10.30! they have a huge crowd after 8.

The spa experience (included in our package) was nice.
The resort should also reserve a separate section of the beach for smokers. Not only is it disgusting to have smoke blowing in your face when you lounge on the beach (how many times can you change your seat to avoid that? ) but it's the one pollutant you keep finding on an otherwise pristine beach....cigarette stubs all over the sand.

And the staff really should pay attention to the package details when they offer it. We were told we'll have a fruit basket in our room on arrival - never came, in either room. We didn't bother to ask because we thought it was trivial but since it was part of our package as stated by them - they should've honoured it.

Also we were given a dinner voucher for a steamboat/Seafood BBQ dinner to be used during our stay. The reception girl marked out dates on each meal voucher - marking this one as our last night. When we turned up for dinner, they said there is no BBQ dinner and it was scheduled for the next night. Of course we were leaving the next morning so we would not be able to use that. Again, it should've been mentioned if BBQ dinners do not happen daily - thats fine - we could've gone a day earlier or whenever - but to neglect telling us that it will not be available after you yourself mark the dates is simply poor management.

Overall - the stay was pleasant. we will probably go back. Just hope someone from management reads this and makes the few necessary changes in what was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are NOT as bad as described - however insist on one which has been recently refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gussanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.3 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#10 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing