We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not 4,5 stars” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Point

Paradise Point
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Point
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely not 4,5 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at paradise point. First the good things:
- good Restaurant and cheap
- directly on the beach
- friendly owner

I have to say we are traveling now since 4 month and this guesthouse was our worse guesthouse where we have been. The huts are very old and dirty, to bring it on the point it's better to put them down and built new!
At all was it okay at paradise point but this place is only for backpackers they are get used to cheap and simple accommodation and for everybody else try Bushman at juara beach it's good and cheap.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Paradise point is the perfect, cheap beach accommodation for backpackers. Although the bungalows could use some new paint, they were clean and provided everything we needed: a double bed with a mosquito net, bathroom with (cold) shower and toilet and a fan and a veranda with 2 chairs, all within 15 meters of the beach and for only 40 RM a night for 2 persons. The restaurant is cheap and good, the owners a bit shy but very friendly, and there are hammocks hanging between the palm trees at the beach. It takes a little extra effort to get to Juara, as the boat will drop you off at the other side of the island, but the trip with the 4WD through the jungle was pretty nice as well (70rm one-way). We were sorry that we had to leave to continue our trip! It would have earned the last star if the bungalows would have looked a bit less run down.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slknijnenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a while back now and it is the most beautiful place I've ever stayed at. It is a typical beach but with all essentials (e.g. Mirror, Toilet and fan). If your the scenery type of guy, then your place is here. If you the sun loungy wife, then your place is here. If your the kind of family who likes culture, then your place is here. This Island caters for all and is provably this best island on Earth. Better more, its duty free!! The resturant is supurb value and I would highly recommend this to anyone who is considering. I still talk to my mates about it now!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Its a last minute and just a weekend gateway for us, just a time to give a quality time with my wife and our small little kid to play at the beach. So we choose a cheap and just a place to sleep with no TV, air-conditioning and hot water. But it very worth when we open a door we can see a South China Sea straight away from the door. This place located in Kampung Juara as a good place to chill out and relax. Living in 'kampung' (village) is the good choice for foreign traveller and a town people like us.

The chalet is very basic and clean, there is restaurant nearby and food is no problem at all. Our chalet is the most closest to the sea. Everything is fine, the owner is so helpful and arranged everything for us from 4WD from and to Tekek jetty, suggestion of activity and food.

Will be spent more time there..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed with Pian at Paradise Point last year. I originally was only to come for a few days... SIX weeks later I managed to tear myself away from this lovely little town. The lodging is basic, with beds, mozzie nets, and ensuite bathrooms. The food is amazing. I ate six times a day sometimes, it was so delicious, so cheap. The beach is uncrowded and clean. Careful, you may end up staying here forever!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TidalGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We decided to spend an extra night on Tioman, but our original resort was fully booked. We headed overland to Juara, and there found a chalet at Paradise Point.
This is a simple and unpretntious collection of little cottages with mozzie-nets, fans, and western WC as the main luxuries. But with a beautiful white sand beach, interesting local attractions like the turtle hatchery, and a few nice places to eat and drink - you wont be spending much time in the room anyways. The cottages are innexpensive, relatively clean, and a great value.
The food at Paradise Point is also equally simple, excellent, and great value, although one note is that they are muslim and do not serve alcohol (easily available next door or down the beach!)
The hosts - the couple who run the place -are very kind, friendly, and humble hosts.
All in all it was a super decision to spend our last night at Paradise Point!

Room Tip: There are 5 cottages... all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

This place is part of the settlement along Juara beach, which is the opposite side of Tioman island from where most people land at the airstrip or the ferry jetty in Tekek. My advice is to get out of Tekek as soon as possible, it is littered, can be dirty, the coral is dead and it is a bevy of tin-hutted older buildings and some burgeoning newer ones. There are nicer places on that west coast than Tekek, but rather than waste space here I suggest you put Tioman island into a search engine and read all the available information. There are some 3, 4 or 5-star places on the island, a few on the south coast where you usually have to pre-book, and also the huge Tioman Island resort on the west where many package holidays come to...I don't knock it if that's what you want, but to get to simple village life in a great location you need to get across to Juara on the east coast. This involves 2 choices - a sweaty trek across the footpath where you'll need plenty of water and a light pack, and some fitness - fit people do it in 2 hours, fat old gits take 4 hours or more along that jungle track and it gets dark early in the jungle so leave lots of time. However you can now charter 4-wheel-drives which take a separate route across, following a recently-re-opened steep and twisty concrete track first pushed through by the Japanese in WW2. Again you'll have to research broad detail elsewhere...but for a whole vehicle charter the locals pay around 80 Malaysian dollars, the canny tourist can get it for 100, but if they think you're stuck the airstrip touts may ask you as much as 175 Malaysian dollars. Leave enough time to say no and look elsewhere. I wrote down 2 4x4 operators' numbers but did not use them, you may find them a useful backup. 1)Khairul on [-] or Kennet on [-]. It's a hairy but safe 45 min trip across the island's spine, and you can get 5 people & luggage into the one vehicle.

Paradise Point is not a star rated hotel, and has no pretension to be so. It is one of a string of beach chalets along one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, fringed by palm trees and backed by mountains, and virgin jungle once you get back from the fringe inhabited by locals who use the lower reaches to tap rubber trees...this accounts for 70% of local income. The sea is safe and lovely in which to swim even at low tide. Snorkelling and fishing trips can be booked at the jetty.
Tourism is low-key and gentle, there is no hard sell. There are 3 stretches of beaches totalling around 2 to 3 miles at Juara, the southern beach is more remote and has fewer facilities and slightly higher prices (the turtle hatchery is at its farthest south end), whereas Paradise Point is at the northernmost beach beyond the jetty which divides the two bits of beaches on that side. That end has more facilities including a small shop at Juara Mutiara and another at the jetty itself, plus a wide choice of places to eat and to stay. Paradise Point is one of those and we were lucky enough to happen upon it when searching for available accommodation. I've visited Juara 6 times over 25 years but never stayed at Paradise Point until 2010. The huts are one step up from the simple A-frames which can be found elsewhere, but are still basic beach huts. Each has a lavatory (western style), fans, shower, basic beds and electricity. No hot water, but it is usually 30-degrees plus so it doesn't matter.
If you're a star hotel person, look elsewhere, but here we got a 5-bed room for around £14 Sterling per night. The attached cafe/restaurant is simple, a few wooden tables under an extended verandah, but with a wide enough choice to keep you interested, and low prices...our family of 4 ate well for around £10 all-in. It's basic Malaysian food, porridge, waffles, toast, chicken or fish curry, stir-fried vegetables and so on. Next door is Juara Beach run by Chinese Malay man Stiven Cheng, here there is beer, wine, and Chinese style food. The alcohol used to be hard to get in Juara, now Tioman is a duty-free island it is cheaper and more available, but some Muslim places such as Paradise Point won't sell it but have a relaxed attitude to you consuming your own, or that purchased elsewhere. A lttle further south down the beach ( 1 min walk) is the laid-back and cute coconut bar, a great place to watch the sun do down while sipping a cocktail. The lads play football on the beach each day around 4 p.m.
The family who run Paradise Point are friendly and helpful and relaxed. They'll do a laundry service if you don't like doing it yourself. My wife spent a great deal of time in a hammock between 2 palm trees reading a book, but activities are not hard to find if you like jungle walking, fishing, swimming or diving. When you need to get back to Tekek to go home the owner can get a nearby man with 4x4 to do it for around 80 Malaysian dollars, but book ahead, the pace of life is slow and people do not rush. Just in case a local storm disrupts travel (rare in summer but not unkown ) I suggest booking back to the mainland a day earlier than you need.

You often have to walk-in at Juara, booking ahead is not usual or possible. You trudge the lengthy concrete footpath that traces the beach, looking at all the various operations. It's hard work in high heat, so leave lots of time. Accommodation may be tight in summer but there will always be somewhere to stay. I wrote down the 2 phone numbers for Paradise Point, so you could try calling ahead, if you don't speak Malay then use English, very slowly and carefully! 09-4193145 or 0137462787. If those numbers don't work, be brave and turn up. Someone will want you at Juara! There is a cellphone signal, so get a Malaysian SIM card for an unlocked phone before you come over from the mainland. Put plenty of credit in and bear in mind there are no ATMs here so carry enough Malaysian cash to see you through, you can always change it back later. There is NO broadband at Juara, which explains why travellers sit and talk to each other rather than wasting their lives on Facebook or their mates on e-mail.

I'm sure you are adult enough to do your own research, so I hope this helps a little along that route. If you really want air-con rooms, either go farthest north on the beach until it stops at a creek, the place there, the name of which I've forgotten, has a higher notch of rooms and prices...or in the middle of the beach some of the Juara Mutiara rooms set further back on their own grassy patch do have air-con.
It's a lovely place is Juara, I thought it would by now be spoiled but was delighted to find it still charming AND NOW YOU CAN GET COLD BEER!!! The Monitor lizards are awesome, however If you're worried about snakes, you'll hardly see any, they try to avoid you...you are more likely to be killed by falling coconuts. One missed me by half-a-metre 15 years ago from so high up I'd have died instantly. Better, though, than being crushed on the M1 in the daily rush! Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank SteveRichesRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
0.0 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
0.0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.0 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point

Property: Paradise Point
Address: Kampung Juara / Juara Village, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing