We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience. Thanks for your patience and professionalism!”
Review of B&J Diving Centre

B&J Diving Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: B&J Diving Centre is a PADI 5 Star IDC Centre that was established in 1987 and is run by a Malay/German/Swiss management team. It has dive centres in two locations on Tioman Island in Malaysia (Salang Bay and Air Batang Bay aka ABC).B&J has launched it's own upper market hotel (Tioman Dive Resort) in January 2012 to serve our clients even better.We take pride in providing the highest quality dive education for our customers as well as enjoyable leisure diving trips for already certified divers. B&J has a 100% safety record since it's existence and we constantly invest in maintaining/upgrading our equipment. Dive equipment is well maintained and regularly replaced, the air is tested for purity, the dive boats are large and comfortable and the dive groups are kept small.It might not be known to many but Tioman Island is home to some of the healthiest coral reefs and a myriad of marine life. B&J has been there from the beginning and has helped maintain these reefs by organizing regular environmental events such as cleanup days, COT (Crown Of Thorns) collections and more. B&J has been awarded several times by PADI for it's "Outstanding Contribution to Divers Education" and also as a “Project AWARE Environmental Achievement Award Winner”. B&J is also a “Go-Eco Operator” and a “Longitude 181 Ambassador”, promoting environmentally safe diving with a strict no glove and no touch policy. As a PADI 5 Star IDC (Instructor Development Center), B&J is amongst the top dive centers in Asia and the very experienced instructors teach all courses from beginner to instructor level. B&J is further a DSAT and IANTD Technical Diving Facility and provides DAN O2 Provider courses.If you like to see some of the most beautiful coral gardens in the South China Sea, a vast variety of tropical reef fish, turtles, sharks, cuttlefish and some of the best spots for nudibranchs in the world, then you shouldn’t miss a visit to Tioman Island.Two Tank dive trips for certified divers are organized daily and you have the choice of additional afternoon boat dives or night dives. If you prefer to take it more relaxed, then you should head for some great muck diving on the house reefs. Nitrox is readily available.Technical divers are drawn to Tioman to either enrol in more training and to visit some of the most spectacular wrecks in the world, HMS Repulse and HMS Prince of Wales. Next to diving we assist you with transfer and accommodation bookings or invite you to join one of our regular cleanup efforts to protect the ocean.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Awesome experience. Thanks for your patience and professionalism!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my PADI Open Water Dive (OWD) course. Getting certified to scuba dive was not as hard as I was expecting. Thanks for all the knowledge, fun and attention I had this week. Please pass on my thanks to Oliver. He made the whole experience fun and totally worth the time, money and effort.

I would recommend B&J Diving Centre to my friends and look forward to more advance training and many new adventures…

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at B&J Diving Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Igor,

Thanks a lot for your visit, it was a pleasure having you with us on Tioman Island. Your instructor Oliver is proud that you have become a PADI Open Water Diver and we're looking forward to your next visit to continue your dive education.

All the best,

Your B&J Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    73
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“great atmosphere, superb education, nice teachers”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did our Open Water Diver at B&J including the theory part.
Our teacher Nic and our companion for some dives James were extremly nice and friendly and made this a great experience. The diving experience was great too! We did two dives off a boat above great coral reeves, two at the beach and the rest in the pool.
Nic was really patient with us and very supportive. The rented material was good too.
We would definately recommend the business and got to talk to the other diving teachers over a beer in the evening too. All seem to be very nice!
So go there and enjoy :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at B&J Diving Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Paul,

It was a pleasure to having you with us for your PADI Open Water Course and Nic/James send their regards too. Nic told me that you guys were brilliant and hopes that you return soon for your PADI Advanced Open Water course.

Best wishes from Tioman

Martin Ritter
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quite simply an excellent dive centre.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a group doing the open water and the rescue diver courses. The beaches an excellent learning environment meaning the open water divers get to do the pool dives actually in the sea. This was great as from day one they were seeing fish an experiencing "diving". The rescue course was well organised and fun. The beach is once again a great learning environment with a clear entrance and exit and low swell and current for safe practicing. Fun dives are very cheap for students and the house reef is beautiful and full of friendly fish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to learn to dive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My son and I have just completed our PADI open water dive certificate with B&J. Great outfit, good facilities and professional staff... and good value too

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at B&J Diving Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear David,

It was great having you and your son with us and we truly hope that you can visit us soon again for some more awesome diving!

Your B&J Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent ten days on Tioman and all of my dives with B&J. Everyone that works there is super fun and friendly. Actually everyone in Air Batang (ABC) was so cool! I HIGHLY recommend diving with them if you go to Tioman.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B&J Diving Centre also viewed

Pulau Tioman, Rompin District
Pulau Tioman, Rompin District
 
Pulau Tioman, Rompin District
 

Been to B&J Diving Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing