We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently stayed at Melina for 5 days with my husband, sister and 11 year old niece. We were perched high above in the Canopy rooms and we loved it. The accommodation is rustic and simple but it has charm and sitting on the sofas looking at the jungle coming alive behind us was a treat. For such a small resort the food was varied, good and plentiful, the staff attentive and very friendly, the beach constantly changing between high and low tide. Patrick, our host, was extremely helpful in organizing our trips and even made sure we not left stranded on a beach with we could not find a sea taxi. The best characteristic of the report is its isolation, peacefully immersed in nature. The beach is interesting and while the seabed just off the beach is not really that colorful we still managed to see stingrays, clown fish and lots more

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We, family of 4, stayed 8 nights at Melina beach. We loved it, the staff is amazing with children, it has a nice and rustic charm. The beach at high tide is great for swimming at low tide the scenery changes completely, you can walk to sand banks and explore the rock pools. Our children enjoyed swimming and snorkeling and walking to the near by villages. Furnishing could be improved. Great place for parents to relax and great place for children to explore.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank AmandaLegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 7 days at Melina beach resort end of August. We were absolutely satisfied. Beautiful beach with no other resort visible around, which is rare on Tioman, snorkeling at your doorstep and still a not too crowded beach, even though the resort was fully booked at that time. A bit Robinson Crusoue feeling guaranteed, we loved it.
Service was excellent, extremely attentive and friendly staff and owner, making you very much feel at home. Rooms are clean and on the simple side but with a very unique touch to them.
We stayed at the treehouse, a great experience. Food was also very good, overall prices are reasonable. We also very much approved the eco-friendly attitude of the owner and family friendlness of the resort. We found paradise, we hope you too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spongiosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were 3 adults and 2 children, booked a beachfront chalet at Melina. We enjoyed our stay except for the food, which was lousy. The indian food served was no way close to the original recipe and tasteless! Perhaps they should hire a gud chef! Nice place for honeymooners! the staff are very friendly. my daughter is still insisting that we should invite Amy (The office in charge) home!
Tips on Tioman
- The ferry service between Mersing and Tioman is pathetic not reliable at all. so always be early for the ferry and queue up in advance
- There are no sandy beaches, but rocky and full of dead corals weeds. Always wear protective gear

Room Tip: The beach front chalets were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We live in Singapore and went again to Melina Beach after several visits. This place has constantly improved since we went first 6 years ago. We had to listen to that loud and complaining UK lady recently and we were not the only ones delighted when she left.

Having always been fascinated of those giant boulders along the beach we much enjoyed the secluded setting between trees and rocks making it hard to spot the resort from the sea.

The waiters were highly attentive and friendly which is not too common in this part of the world. The young European lady at the bar entertained us most charmingly and sitting outside the restaurant on my 2nd morning one waiter came out to ask if I wished the same tea for breakfast as the day before. I just like that.

I fancy big fresh salads and fresh fruit juices and was pleased to find both. Our rooms had comfy new furniture, it seems most rooms were recently upgraded.

We don't like concrete blocks and big resorts so we have been recommending Melina Beach to our friends and relatives for years.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were me at the airport and taken to the boat terminal where a shuttle was awaiting our departure to Melina Beach. 10 mins later we were on the beach being ably assisted by Amy the Manager and the very helpful and friendly hotel staff, and shown to our two simple, yet adequate, adjoining beach-front cottages. These are the best to get - especially if there are four of you travelling together - as they are right on the beach. They could also accommodate one or two children but it would be a squeeze.The tree house is also nice.
Melina Beach resort is situated right on its own beach, a few steps away from an inviting swim in a warm sea. The water near the edge is cloudy, but cleans-up some 20 metres from shore. The snorkelling at their "house reef" is pretty good; with the occasional ray, black-tipped shark and some very interesting nudibranch specimens.
Patrick the owner is helpful and knowledgeable, and runs "a good ship". Service was always excellent, including breakfasts, lunch, dinner, and the ever-cold beers. For a change of food, you can walk along a small path behind the resort in either direction to two small villages where restaurants may be found. A torch is useful here! The Chinese restaurant on entering Genting is probably the best.
I would not hesitate to recommend this for a couple, or a small family, or group of friends wanting a relaxing holiday on your own beach. Just bear in mind that there is no "night life" nearby, nor is this a 5 star resort. However, it is comfortable, friendly and clean.

Room Tip: The two adjoining beach front rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_and_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our second stay at Melina and we are still loving it. Came over for short weekend trip from Singapore.

Private beach, tucked away from everything else, clean rooms (they are basic rooms but it adds to the charm), friendly staff, reasonable price. Yes the food is expensive compared to paya restaurants, but we can live with that. Will definitely return again. Highly recommended.

Thanks for the hospitality Patrick!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiencoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.1 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
2.1 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
523 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
4.7 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
340 reviews
4.9 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Address: near Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $106 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• We are a quiet family resort and totally unsuitable for those looking for a late night or party venue.• Our intention is to provide comfortable accommodation combined with a personal service. We are not offering luxury and have no aspiration towards 5 star ratings.• We build our rooms to incorporate as much of the natural surroundings as possible. Many of the rooms have large rocks as features and some include trees in bathrooms.• Our back garden is literally the Tropical rain forest, as such we are prone to animals occasionally wandering in. In such circumstances our resident biologists are on hand to remove animals safely. We ask guests to keep any food items to a minimum in bedrooms and to always keep items in a sealed container, food items left uncovered will attract animals, in particular ants.• In support of the local economy we try as much as possible to employ local staff. This can at times create confusion as there are many cultural differences, we ask our guests to please report any shortcomings to the reception staff who will deal with any issues immediately ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing