We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we needed, no complaints! Roast lamb and mash heaven!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed, no complaints! Roast lamb and mash heaven!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We just got back from 5 nights at Melina beach, totally chilled out and refreshed - would definitely stay there again. I was really surprised to read the one or two negative reviews here in fact, but perhaps it's a difference in expectations? I'd say this place is perfect if you're looking for an unpretentious and quiet getaway, but want a bit more than those basic fan only backpacker bungalows that you can find all over this part of the world, and the dirt cheap banana pancake and beer diet. It's definitely not 5 star - the rooms are simple (no marble designer bathrooms here!), but you have air con, hot water, towels for beach and bath (ours were changed...) a decent bed etc - I think the website represents the rooms very fairly and accurately. It's not the cheapest place on the island, but as the prices are clear on the website (also that it's the only place on a private beach setting so you don't have a range of restaurants or bars to choose from is clear) anyone booking surely already knows that?? Everything the resort needs would have to come in by boat from the mainland, and it's small so wouldn't profit from huge numbers of guests I imagine, and those factors make it both (a little) more expensive and also much more secluded and peaceful - you can't have everything for nothing!
We chose it precisely because it would be a quiet retreat to swim, read & sleep, and it offered just that. The setting is incredibly quiet and unpolluted - we were totally lazy, just took a short walk to Genting and did an easy snorkel from the beach one day, but still saw monkeys, monitor lizards, squirrels, fish, coral, a ray etc etc. The resort offered all kinds of activities we were too lazy to do - guided walks and snorkel trips with biologists, kayak rental etc, but be warned not to expect the loud music and video bar type of entertainment.
I assumed the food would be pretty basic, given the location and isolation, but was very pleasantly surprised - as an example the all you can eat buffet menu one night included roast lamb & mash/vegetables, tiger prawns in soy & sweet chilli, thai chicken curry, salad, rice, and a banana cream pie (so good) for dessert. Alternatively you could order something simple like a burger, a pizza or a rice dish if you didn't want to lash out on the buffet. Given the small size of the resort, small number of staff and remote location I was hugely impressed (and did I mention the cocktail list...??!). You could be picky & say the Thai curry wasn't spicy enough etc, but seriously - providing this kind of menu for such a small number of guests in such a remote spot is a great effort.
The last point - service was lovely. We travel a lot and it's fair to say that in some locations like this one service can lack enthusiasm, but all of the staff we dealt with were polite, helpful, smiling, patient - Ray was the perfect friendly barman (and made great cocktails), Patrick is around every evening checking on everyone during dinner to have a chat and make sure they're OK, and the guys that help in the kitchen/wait staff etc obviously wanted to make sure everyone was happy.
If you are on a super tight budget and want the cheapest deal on the island, or if you expect 5 stars I'd suggest staying away - but if you've grown out of backpacking, like your aircon and a cocktail, but don't want to trade the rustic, remote and unique vibe for a massive cheap and faceless resort then definitely it's for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatsleep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    87
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
100
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

It is nearly a year since we stayed with Patrick and crew. It is an adventure getting here and truly a great place to go. The scenery is unsurpassed; the service friendly; the nighttime seafood BBQ the only choice and accommodation - we had the Rock Villa- rustic,
comfortable and a great part of the experience. Planning how we can
get there again - soon. Thankyou to everyone for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carobell631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had one of the front view bungalow which was supposed to be the top range of the resort; it was actually a very basic accommodation with plastic windows and a bathroom that look like a bad backpacker bathroom which was very disappointing for the price we paid – as a matter of example for the price paid at Melina we had a room at the Trader’s hotel with a view on the Petronas. Needless to say that these two hotels have absolutely nothing in common in term of quality and service provided, Trader’s is a 4 stars while Melina looks more like a backpackers than a hotel – the only thing in common is the price!!!
The service was also borderline, cleaning of the room and the bathroom was barely done, they don’t change the towels, no complementary water, rundown fridges in the rooms… all that for other 110€ per night!!!!
Since the resort is 20 mn walk from any restaurant you have no other choice than eating at what they call “the restaurant” of the resort (at least at nifght) – in short very basic food (they say they have a chef – that was a joke!) which is just 10 times more expensive than in any other restaurant of the island (no kidding!!!), they know that once in their resort you have no other choice that eating there so they don’t mind charging you as much as they can!!! Same for the drinks and taxi boat they order for you and so on… as long as they can charge you they are happy!
I don’t mind paying the price when it is deserved and justified, that is just not the case at Melina!
Tioman island is a beautiful island, just avoid to Melina beach resort and you will have the perfect holidays…

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiaci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We slept in the tree house, what an experience. First night you have to get used to the strange noices, but looking at the squirrels via the transparant roof, listening to the sea and its waves made it an unforgettable experience for me and my familiy.
It.s beautiful quit place, staff was very friendly, we like the evening safari with the UK biologist, the nice service staff in the restaurants.
Patrick and his staff made this an onforgettable experience.
Although not the cheapest location is't full worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you have to stop in Sigapore it would be well worth the 45 minute flight to Tioman Island for the opportunity to really get away from it all. The arrival by plane (Berjaya Air) is a joy as the view of the islands is superb, and much to the kids delight the speedboat that took us to the island was perfect with the kids hanging on and screeching with delight as we sped across the waves. The arrival at Melina Beach couldn't be faulted, check in was seamless (we stayed in the boulders) but there are various options for couples and families alike. Within 10 minutes of arriving the kids were in the water and snorkelling, there is a great snorkel trail directly in front of the accommodation. Whilst not the most luxurious of accommodation it was clean, well serviced (daily) with air conditioning that worked well and certainly met our needs.
Food was pretty good, with a buffet style breakfast and a variety of options for dinner, on the down side the local pricing at melina Beach was a tad pricey, so if you feel adventurous do walk to the local villages and stock up on provisions and do lunch in the local cafes for some authentic cuisine.
Patrick and his team were extremely helpful throughout and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall a great stay, superb temperatures and the kids entertained themselves for the majority of the day often spending three hours at a time in the sea !
Do go on one of the local snorkelling trips, either bookable at the resort or at either of the villages locally where it is slightly cheaper.
Well recommended as a place to unwind.

Room Tip: Do check out the website as various options exist
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttley321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a great place, everything was perfect. The staff was attentive, everything was clean and the food was very good. You have to try the lamb goulash! Bridget one of the owners was awesome. She can suggest many activities and books them for you. We did the cross-island walk from Telek to Juara with one of her zoologists and 2 biology students from England. It was incredible because they gave us tonnes of info and they're better than we are at spotting lizards and other animals. We even saw a baby monkey hanging on to it's mom. This trek is a must. The zoologist even gave 2 presentations in the evening. We had a clean beachfront chalet with a great view and the room is big enough for a family of four. Bridget is very knowledgeable and really took the time to help us plan the rest of our Malaysian trip. Her suggestions were on the dot. It is a peaceful place in which you can be as lazy or as active as you like. We snorkeled and dived and got to see a lot of marine life and you can walk to 2 nearby villages. We also relaxed under the palapas right on the beach. We had a 14 and an 11 year old with us and they really enjoyed it also. Thank you to Bridget and Patrick and their great team who really went out of their way to make our 5 day stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gab099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This resort was fabulous from A to Z!!
SERVICE:
The staff was friendly and helpful.
if you have question about the rest of your trip you can ask bridgett for information of where to stay and what to do in malaysia.
FOOD:
The food was excellent, you need to try their milkshakes and the indian pancakes. Try to be there for supper on saturday since it's a barbecue buffet that really is worth eating.
ACTIVITIES:
The treck in the rainforest his really something you must try. A biologist accompanied us and she showed us a lot of things that I would've not seen by myself. You can go snorkling just in front of the resort and maybe have the chance to see some clownfishs and even stingrays !!
REALLY worth going :)

Room Tip: ask for a room on the beach, you can fall a sleep with the sound of the waves :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.1 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
4.9 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia

Property: Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Address: near Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• We are a quiet family resort and totally unsuitable for those looking for a late night or party venue.• Our intention is to provide comfortable accommodation combined with a personal service. We are not offering luxury and have no aspiration towards 5 star ratings.• We build our rooms to incorporate as much of the natural surroundings as possible. Many of the rooms have large rocks as features and some include trees in bathrooms.• Our back garden is literally the Tropical rain forest, as such we are prone to animals occasionally wandering in. In such circumstances our resident biologists are on hand to remove animals safely. We ask guests to keep any food items to a minimum in bedrooms and to always keep items in a sealed container, food items left uncovered will attract animals, in particular ants.• In support of the local economy we try as much as possible to employ local staff. This can at times create confusion as there are many cultural differences, we ask our guests to please report any shortcomings to the reception staff who will deal with any issues immediately ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing