We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for cheap, but BEWAREEEEE!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Reef Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place for cheap, but BEWAREEEEE!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just came back from a WONDERFUL 3 nights stay at Coral Reef. "Wonderful" not necessarily because of the chalets, but more because of the entire experience at Tioman. I LOVED it. So sad to be back. I digress.

Anyways, starting things off, I think it's a great place to have with the price of only RM 160 per night. It's pretty cheap, and the room is amazing. Check out the pictures. They have a hammock at the deck of every room, which we truly enjoyed! However, if you're unable to sleep on hard mattresses and hard pillows, be sure to load up on some alcohol (duty free) to help you sleep better.

OK, here comes the part where you need to BEWARE, especially if you are single ladies travelling or if you are travelling with teenage daughters. There's a member of the staff who calls himself "Lan", who goes around chatting up girls, trying to get lucky with them. My friend and I (two girls travelling alone) found him "friendly" at first and started out just small talking with him. Next thing we knew, he was bragging about how he was about to marry his third wife in Thailand, and how he was looking for a fourth one.

Never mind that, he was telling us how he had got lucky with one of Coral Reef's guest from New Zealand. And then proceeded to ask what my friend was doing tonight (he found my friend cute, of course), and whether we would like to come "party" with him at the Cabana few doors away. HELL NO!! Not only that, he took one of our beers without being offered. I find that utterly rude. But what's worse is that he just kept intruding in our space and causing us to be uncomfortable.

He also bad mouthed our neighbors for some misunderstandings, which should not happen.

My point is....this guy is dangerous. He will try to sleep with you if you're travelling on your own. So if you do not want trouble, DO NOT STAY HERE.

I've already made my complaints to the management, but by the looks of it, I don't think they're getting rid of him, as the lady owner takes pity on him coz he's from a poor family and no one else wants to hire him. They KNOW that this is a problem, yet they are letting him stay.

So single ladies, if you REALLY want to stay here, just be careful if a young Malay man named "Lan" approaches you.

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Beachfront Chalets. Only RM 30 more than the normal beachfront chalets, and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NicoleA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It's got location, and the beach rooms have excellent air conditioning. But no glass windows so no view if air is on. Breakfast as in other Tioman budget hotels very bad. One day they had fruit and that was edible. Staff is nice but why do they sweep AROUND the litter on the beach and walkways. Trash and trashed bikes, vehicles and toilets is everywhere. Shame on Tioman.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NationalHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our boat arrived tioman bejaya docking port at 9.30pm and we haven't made any bookings. Luckily we met two local boys who recommended Coral Reef.

Checked out the room conditions of their budget room RM50 and deluxe room RM100. Their deluxe room was heaven compared to the budget one. It was beachfront (literally), the ensuite toilet was made of marble tiles and really clean. Had AC, hot shower, twin bed, TV and the fact that it was beachfront made it super valuable.

You won't be able to find good rooms at this price at the village of ABC. Coral Reef is located at Tekek, the quieter but more beautiful village.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rainbowbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'm happy to stay here.. Nice people,nice room , garden and beach.. The best Coral and marine life.. Just walk into the sea no need boat for snorkeling activities...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hisham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglaise à paris
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in august 2011. Our chalet was right on the beach! Tiny but lovely decorated and clean little room, and simple clean bathroom. We (me and my 16yr old son) are backpackers so we weren't looking for resorts or any modcons and this is a lovely place to be.
The family who own it are really friendly and helpful and Tioman Cabana is right next door...a nice place to chill out. Diving schools next door too.
We wanted to stay longer but the sandflies were too much for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We arrived at Coral Reef Holidays as we had reserved another place, but it was under everything so we went to search for another place.
CRH had some rooms available, deluxe or normal room, both facing the sea and with airco, just the beds and the bathrooms were different. The deluxe room was recently renovated and painted, nice to stay with coffee facilities and TV.
Great view on the see from the chairs in front of the place, hammacs.

Breakfast is included in the price, toasts, eggs, jam and butter and some rice or pasta wit coffee or tea, simple but OK.

Easy to walk from there to jetty, find some restaurants to eat and shops to buy food and drinks.

Friendly personel, always there to help. We had a good stay!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'sia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the seaside chalet, RM 100 per night

The first night we almost jumped outa bed when we heard someone banging on the door, which we then realised it was our neighbour banging on his door. We can even hear their conversation over in their room.

The toilet was pretty bad. Water leaked from the toilet bowl, the drainage choked up after 5 mins of showering and we have to make sure we controlled the amount of water. Cracks on the tiled walls and it always feel like some creatures might suddenly popped out of the holes. The door couldnt be locked as well.

Basically, there is just 2 single beds and a dressing table. No hot water flask, no TV, no wardrobe. It is a simply a place to sleep that's all.
(Our neighbour had a quad-room with 2 double-deck beds)

The breakfast was nothing fantastic, just food to fill your stomach in the morning. Either plain bread (with jam / butter) or fried rice (with egg).

Pros : It is near to the eateries and convenience shops (duty free shops with cheap alcohol!) at the street.

And the view in before the chalet isnt that bad. You can view the vast sea and the sunset. There are chairs provided outside the rooms, along the walkway. Often,we sat there and read our books. It does feel great to fall asleep while listening to the sounds of the waves and be greeted by the sea breeze when you open the door. You can easily reach the seawater within 20 steps.

Free wifi available in lobby

The owner is rather friendly as well. The staffs did a great job in upkeeping the surroundings and keeping the place clean. The rooms should get a fresh look though.

Room Tip: DO get the seaview rooms if you were to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YeKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
0.4 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
72 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
5.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
3.5 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Coral Reef Holiday Beach Resort
Address: Kampung Tekek, Pulau Tioman 26807, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Holiday Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing