We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tioman Paya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tioman Paya Resort
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hospitality....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Been staying at this resort for all my trips to Tioman since 1994. The location is quiet and peaceful, chalets are extremely spaced out which is a plus point same goes for the friendliness of the staffs. The rooms are starting to look worn out over the years and the owners must seriously consider if they want to start rejuvenation works to the chalets.

However, the route from jetty to the resort via the wooden bridge really needs to be improve as it looks run down and the amount of used construction debris from adjacent resort has increased which is disappointing. The recent trip saw in increased of motorcycles which is a but annoying as it

Room Tip: Book the deluxe room instead as the rooms is a lot larger and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kowboochua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
11
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place has so much potential. I wish I could give a better rating, but there is just too much that is run down about this little resort. The mattress was clean, but the bathroom taps were mouldy and insect ridden. Quite a few mosquitoes, but we were warned by earlier reviews and bought repellant. Spent most of the time at Paya Beach resort (directly in front of this resort). The beach was great in the afternoons (avoid low tide in the morning).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

Penang
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

When we just reach the place, we were lead to walk into jungle, along the way some of the hotel looks nice..

If you are looking for a place to eat during free time, do not eat at "santai beach burger". They are very rude and fierce. They mixed up other customers' burger with ours, of course we would not know it's not ours. They scolded n shouted at us for us eating others' burger when the customer complained them being slow. This is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE!!! then by mixing up our orders, they brought us extra burgers and forced us to pay for it. It feels like gangsterism forcing us to eat and pay for it. Plus the burger was very dry and too pepperish. Do refer to the photos attached for how the stall and the workers looks like.

Upon arrival, we were serve orange juice while waiting (thanks). The room/chalet is very rundown, toilet door locked with just a nail on it.

The room are very near to the forest, and we encountered monkeys attack and jumping on the roof. Thanks to the worker n friends monkeys were chase out.. but that was a very horrifying experience.

Sea water was not very clear, we should have go to the other side of the island, namely sallang beach.

Do spend your time along the beach on the right side of the resort, awesome place for photography.

Food served were very big portion.

Room Tip: Do not eat that burger for your own good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyIb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we reached the place, we went to paya beach resort at first and was told that we went to the wrong resort. At first, we were disappointed as the paya beach resorts were very beautiful and it was located just outside the beach, but the staff there wasn't very friendly and was very rude. We took about 5 mins walk into the island and found our resort (tioman paya beach resort), it was disappointing at first because the place were a little run down, however the 3 days 2 nights that we have spent there, the hospitality was excellence. Everyone was very friendly, especially the chef there, he is very funny and prepared very yummy Chinese home cook food for us (our package inclusive of dinner and breakfast). Overall, i feel that if you were going there to just find a place to sleep, and you will be out most of the time, i would say is a very presentable resort. Of course, improvements can be made, but their hospitality definitely deserve a thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We took a 3D2N package and stayed there in Aug 2013. The room was clean and equipped with sufficient furniture. The bathroom was clean but only shower is available. The resort is not near the beach. You need to walk a bit to reach the beach or the shops. However, it is quite and very comfortable for families. Food was included in the package and it was delicious. Certainly will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avid t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I went to Kampung Paya for a long weekend with friends in April 2013.

Every one of us loved the place and how welcoming and nice the tenants were. Bedrooms were clean and tidy, air conditioning was OK. Bungalows are located like 10 meters from the beach and the resort is literally in front of the ferry arrival. The resort's restaurant offers very simple and cheap meals but if you don't like it, you can have dinner somewhere else.

The tenants were really nice to us, the manager offered to help us book a snorkelling trip and even brought us to waterfalls in the jungle.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND, for travellers who won't judge a place by the number of english TV channels or the water pressure..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have booked a deluxe suite and found the room was a little run down.
The shower pressure was really low.
Breakfast was bad - cereal dispenser that does not work, uncooked eggs, tasteless noodles.

The main complaint was the ferry timing - do NOT expect the ferry to be on schedule.
We waited 1.5hrs before our ferry came and we were considered lucky as some have been waiting for at least 4 hrs...

Other than above, I do give credit to the resort as it is located in a peaceful side of the island, away from the crowd.
Also, it is near a decent snorkelling site - at the small island, right side of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PingTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.2 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
3.3 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tioman Paya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioman Paya Resort

Property: Tioman Paya Resort
Address: Kampung Paya Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tioman Paya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tioman Paya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tioman Paya Hotel Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing