We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Else but View”
Review of Panuba Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panuba Inn Resort
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fantastic View - don't expect anything more than that.
What I did - 6D5N, SD Room
Personal Expectations - Clean room (bed & toilet) especially when I'm paying for the best room in this place.


What's Good?
1. View - undoubtedly
2. Boat man - The Malay uncle was so friendly and helpful. He even came to shook our hands before we left on the last day! Amazing uncle and he is the friendliest and most hardworking guy in the resort from what I observed.
3. Small Island - Perfect for getaway and to relax but there is nothing much to do.
4. Snorkeling - A lot of fish and you need not venture out far to see it. Water was rather clear but me and my friend were unlucky, we snorkeled on a day when it was not too clear.
5. Diving - Dive with Tioman Dive Centre. The best around and it's one of the cheapest place to dive. You will see lots of amazing sea creatures like turtles.
6. Cats & Kittens - Oh my! They are so cute and you can carry them on your hands!!


What's Bad?
1. Laundry Services - With RM8 per KG is cheap. Smell nice but some were still wet, BOOO!
2. Reception Service - typical village life, not motivated to do anything.
3. Light Pollution - island is too bright and there's too much light pollution. Can't even see the Milky Way which I did in Juara.
4. Room Service - No room service. Booked SD room but there is no coffee or tea provided. They only provided us with an electric kettle. So much for saying coffee and tea maker - yes I get it, MAKER. Btw, NO room service, me and my friends cleaned our own rooms for the entire stay and the balcony was infested with ants. So disgusting!!! Major EWWWW
Someone came into our room to do room service for 1 day and ran away without closing our door. That's rude.
5. Water - Walk is milky and unclear. Was at Juara, Tioman Island as well but nothing like this happened. You can drink from the tap at Juara. Boiled the water and drank, did not had tummyache though.
6. Breakfast - On the day we checked in, we asked what time does the buffet end, they said 12 noon. But when we got there at 9.30am, food were finishing and at 10.15am, they cleared the food. I asked why and they said breakfast ended at 10am. Breakfast was full of carbohydrates - plain white bread, noodles and rice and baked beans at times. Their menu repeats every 3 days. Had some cold hotdogs - not toos ure if they were cooked or not.
7. Room - Bed was disgusting. Bed sheets were yellow and old. Not too sure if they changed after every guest. Toilet was gross, no scrubbing and cleaning. Floor was absolutely dirty and old.
8. Restaurant / Canteen - Only place to get food on Panuba and the worst place ever!! Quality of food sucks and it taste bad.


There are so many things bad about this place. I do not recommend ANYONE to stay at Panuba. This inn is just disgusting! If you are coming to dive with Tioman Dive Centre, you practically have no choice but I believe type B room is more than sufficient.

Personally, I recommend you Juara for quiet, relaxing and if you would like to see stars and ABC for more night life. Everyone on Tioman Island is generally nice but the best people are in ABC and Juara! :)

Room Tip: Type B rooms are more than enough for 2 people. For families, go SD as they provide you with 2 Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BWanz_Isla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Despite the title I would stay here again just to go diving. It is a great location but the resort is shabby, service reluctant and unfriendly, and the food wouldn't be out of place in a school canteen. They would seriously struggle to make the breakfast buffet any worse. To make matters worse, as its a sweaty 20 min walk to the next bay, everything in the shop and canteen (I refuse to call it a restaurant) is double the going rate. Just because they can get away with it. Poor form to say the least.

However I doubt you'll find a better view from a hotel in this price range in many other places on the planet. This and the excellent Tioman Dive Centre on site are the only reasons to stay here. They are very good reasons though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloke1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have been there before and knew what to expect: Superb location, nice beaches, good snorkeling, a friendly but rather unattentive staff and a restaurant with barely edible food. (The real thing if you watch your weight.)
But the pro's outweighs the con's, and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregers A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Fantastic view from the rooms. Very beautiful sunny beach with clean water, reefs and corals. On the beach you can find few old wooden beach beds in shadows, but unfortunately without mattress. Hotel is small and quiet, but it is situated far from everywhere else and would need a boat to get to more popular places and for more life. One thing that need to improve though is that the breakfast has too little variety of food and too simple.

Room Tip: Choose room with aircon and central view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had the chance to go to Tioman Island with a couple of friends and have to say we very much enjoyed our 5 nights in Panuba Inn !
Nice Staff - Good Food (not that much choice but nice) - and obviously amazing views also from the cheapest room !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed as a family in an A class room with 2 double beds. The rooms were big enough and the bathroom was actually a good size with shower having a half wall dividing from toilet. This is a budget resort so you have to keep that in mind when going. So for our money we thought it was great. Yes the rooms could do with a thorough going over cleaning wise. My husband actually cleaned the air conditioning filters (his choice). But the location is excellent. The beach is really only for resort guests and the water is clear, so good for snorkelling. Our kids loved jumping off the jetty and snorkelling around it. We did walk to monkey beach one day, it is a huge hike and we had to try and wave down a boat to get back to the resort. But it was an adventure. We really enjoyed our stay here and we would go back again. (You can't seem to give half stars so 3.5)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

all the chalet facing sea... the location really strategic... its like private resort b'coz its separate with other resort... the water its really clear till u can see fish also coral & the service was great...

Room Tip: if u bring old person request the room nearby jetty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rizan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.5 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
81 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.8 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panuba Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panuba Inn Resort

Address: No. 9 Pusat Khidmat Pelancong | Jalan Abu Bakar, P.O. Box 56, Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Panuba Hotel Pulau Tioman
Panuba Resort Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing