We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view from the rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panuba Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panuba Inn Resort
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Torino
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic view from the rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The sea view was the main reason we selected this place and we were not disappointed.
Chalets are built on huge and beautiful rocks (you may think what a pity is they built in such a place!) overlooking a small but perfect beach and a wooden jetty were the ferries from Mersing stop.
The sea water is not too shallow (as in many other places in Tioman) so you can swim at any time (just mind the sea urchins!); great snorkeling.
Air Batang "life" is at 10min walk (climbing the hill on a wild trail), in the other direction you may quickly reach a couple of very tiny beach then is a couple of hours climb in the jungle for Monkey Bay.

We took the A room type, the cheapest (55 ringitt): a little run down wooden bungalow at the very top of the resort. Just a bed, a small cupboard, toilet and basin, a fan, a couple of plastic chairs and the balcony I was dreaming of. Here you may remain enchanted forever by the view of the sea below and the forest behind.
You cannot expect total cleanliness in an old wooden chalet but it was not dirty as said in some of the reviews below and sheets were changed every couple of days
The stair to reach the room is steep and a bit unsafe, in its upper part.

The other room type are quite different... made in concrete (so that the environmental disaster will last forever...), with A/C (what is the sense of it where you just have to open the window to feel the fresh and fragrant sea breeze???), some signs of luxury, more expensive. All others guests stayed in there.

The restaurant is beautifully located at the beach, food is so and so, slightly more expensive than other places in the island. Only once they brought in some just caught fish and grilled on the barbecue.

As said elsewhere personnel is not so "attentive"; in fact they are mostly busy taking their own fun (watching Malaysian soaps on TV, playing volleyball) . However you can get what you need, after you are able to obtain their attention.

All in all this is a great place for a relaxing staying in front of the ocean at bargain price, go elsewhere if you are looking for bars and nightlife.

Room Tip: "A type" is ok if a simple wooden chalet is all that you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    40
    29
    28
See reviews for
37
78
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in a B room for two nights and it was OK. The room is dirty especially under the bed - nobody ever cleaned there. Of course, you don't expect much for the money it costs but... The breakfast is a toast with butter and jam + malaysian food if you like it, but coffee is drinkable. In the evening yo can eat there as well but drinking is limited to beer fr extreme prices. It is compensated by the stunning sea view on the bay from the balcony which is really amazing. The beach there is good, but there are sea hedgehogs so don't enter the water without the shoes. You can solve this by jumping into the water from the jetty or going with a boat to the other bays to snorkel or swim. However the most important issue istht this bay is really isolated. It's a very small place with only one so-so restaurant. I should say - it's pretty much the same in the neighboring resorts in Air Batang and Salang but there you are free in your choice where to eat and have at least some drinking opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj1971live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

Koganei, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

At diner time, moterbike come and go many times, I understand they are working. But they can delay to do it.
No cleaning room, it's very cheep, but they can clean room, no sheets change is OK.
Sea in front of hotel is just OK, not very beautiful.
Around hotel no shops and restaurant. You have to choose menu of hotel which is not many kind.
BUT old man who works here is very very kind!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked three nights, checked out early after the first night Stayed in an "A" block room; fan only with a sea view. The temperature is cool enough so a fan is sufficient but I'm skeptical if the place had ever been cleaned. There was hair all over the bathtoom and there wasn't even a toilet seat to sit on! The resort is isolated on its own very small beach so you are limited to the very small menu offerings at the resort. If you have basically no money but want a beach location you can stay here as the rooms are 55 ringet a night ($17USD). But if you have any standard of cleanliness or hygiene you will be disgusted. The only redeeming quality is the girl at the front desk promptly refunded our money for the nights we weren't going to stay for. Just know that you are getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miekechum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Panuba Inn is a great place to stay. We were recommended it by Eric from BlueWater Island Information Centre just outside the Mersing Bus Station. We trusted his good review and went along. 85RM a night was a bargain for this busy season so we didn't expect a huge amount. When we arrived we were given B6 for a room. Great bungalow view but horrible room. Dingy and dirty. We asked for another and were given B1 which was just lovely and one of the best in the resort in my opinion. Queen Size Bed and an incredible view over the ocean. Weather wasn't great but the one day we did have good weather we took a snorkelling trip to Coral Island and it was amazing, we saw sharks and turtles. Staff were a bit unfriendly but that wasn't a problem when you stepped into paradise. Advice: Don't stay on ABC beach, it's not nice and it's dirty. Stay on Salang if you can, nicest beach around! Enjoy paradise!

Room Tip: Choose B1 if you are going for the 85RM a night rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rooms are really basic and maybe not immaculate but who care! There is a stunning beach when you can snorkel and see fishes. You can eat well. People who work here are a bit lazy but not such a big problem. If you are not sophisticated I would advice you to go there

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gius71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

They have a good complete package for 3d2n, with includes ferry transfer from jetty round way, the food were all good. The resort is bound by the natural environment. We went there in a group of six, and the rooms were clean, the furnitures are kinda old. The beach activities such as island hopping, snorkelling trip. The beach shore is small, many jumps off the jetty and it was more fun. Panuba inn, a resort to be hit in tioman.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhiva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
8.9 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.5 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.8 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
4.2 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panuba Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panuba Inn Resort

Property: Panuba Inn Resort
Address: No. 9, Pusat Khidmat Pelancong | Jalan Abu Bakar, P.O. Box 56, Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Panuba Hotel Pulau Tioman
Panuba Resort Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing