We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panuba Inn Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
See available hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
23
71
41
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
71
41
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsea view roomsnorkeling trippackagejettyislandferrycondbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were a group of 6 (my parents, uncle & aunt and my wife). Went in from singapore by berjaya air. The flight was actually funny :) small aircraft, the small landing runway at tioman, it all felt like those 'island adventure movies' !

Stayed at panuba for 2 nights. My expectqtions were a bit high from the plqce so got disappointed at first. Our room was high up with no room service so you have to go down and up even if you need some water. Thats a pain on a holiday. Our room door latch was broken and i had to go up and down a couple of times till somebody managed to fix it. The reception is poorly staffed so when you come down from your 'hill' for that bottle of water, dont be surprised if the whole place looks deserted and you feel you are the only one on the island! The reception has somebody only during specified time, rest of the time, go fish yourself :D

Food was decent, actually quite good. Even vegetarians had options. Breakfast was not that great and when I thought i need eggs ( which shuld have been part of it anyway), i went around the whole premises including the kitchen and found no soul in sight. Again, poorly staffed. I could have cooked my eggs myself and nobody would know!

Now the good part. The location is mesmerizing. The front deck is amazing to sit hours on end. You can see fish around you, just stand there! Cool breeze and the sound of waves will make your eveneings and nights simply awesome.

Short trips to coral island is worth it. Amazing corals and colorful fish all around, just stick your neck in and enjoy the nirvana. Even non swimmers are encouraged to not miss this.

I have snorkelled at phuket, india's west coast (Malvan, maharashtra) and tioman. Sme of my friends have seen the reefs in florida and bali. Tioman is one of the best!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Parikshit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went to Panuba Inn Resort for a lovely weekend getaway. We bought a promotional package deal which included the ferry rides (to and fro Mersing, 2 hour journey), 3 dinners and a few snorkeling trips.
First night there we had a really really great and tasty BBQ dinner. Very fulfilling and satisfying :D
The snorkeling trips were really fun as well, beautiful, Beautiful corals.

The staff at Panuba Inn were very nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms were simple, had everything you needed. The view outside our room was just perfect.
Panuba Inn Resort is just nice for couples, romantic getaways and/or family stays, because its a very quiet, peaceful area.
Hanging out at the jetty, watching the sunset is very romantic as well. :)
One thing I like about that area - No mosquitoes.

However, if you want to experience the nightlife in Pulau Tioman, suggest you stay at ABC or Salang Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed two nights here but would not return. First the good points: Panuba Inn has the whole area and small beach to itself. No other shops or resorts around. To get to Monkey Bay or Salang (heading north) or ABC / Tekek (south) you either have to take an expensive speed-boat (MYR 25 each for minimum 2 people) or hop on and off the ferry that goes to the mainland (MYR 25 per person). Or you can climb through the trees on either side - about an hour to Monkey Bay, two to Salang, one to ABC. It's reasonably tough going in places (shoes are better than flip-flops) especially when it's raining and the slopes are slippery. And Monkey Bay is not that great - it's, well, a bay, with an abandoned hut, a bit of sand (if the tide is out) and that's it.

Anyway, Panuba Inn has a lot of potential. Great hill-side location, meaning all chalets have some sort of direct sea view. But the people who run the place clearly have no desire or ability really to exploit the potential. As other reviewers have noted, customer "service" is non-existent - never a greeting or a smile from anyone, and you really are made to feel that you are slightly in the way. You pay a MYR 20 for a white towel when you arrive, MYR 10 for the room-key, and that sort-of sets the tone for the staff-customer interaction. Breakfast was as cheap and cheerless as you could imagine - stone cold fried noodles or rice, cheap factory white bread for toast (no surprise, an endless queue to use the toasters), sickly sweet orange "juice" and coffee with tinned evaporated milk. Food off the menu was just as bad - "fish and chips" was four thin rectangular "sponges" of some white bouncy middle, enveloped in fatty breadcrumbs - good enough to eat only if you are very hungry. The evening BBQ was mediocre and over-priced - MYR 40 for prawns, rice, veg and a bit of salad!

The rooms vary. The first we were shown had filthy blankets on the beds, mould on the ceiling and overall gave off the "couldn't care less" attitude of the place. We asked to me moved and were given a better room, with a proper tiled floor, which was clean enough. The sheets and pillows could not be of any thinner material - maybe they're 20 years old! The new-ish aircon leaked water very badly over-night, but the puddles dried up during the next day - again, an induction of lack of maintenance.

We were not there with kids but, if you are, take note that the steep slopes and paths with absolutely no fence of protection, make it highly dangerous that a kid - or adult - could slip and fall straight over the edge. It looks damn scary. As no alcohol is sold on site (Muslim management) at least there's little risk of a drunk sliding off the path.

Overall the guests seem to be treated like a "captive audience" with prices to match. Since you can't "escape" from the place, they charge as much as they can and offer as little. Another example - four wooden beach chairs, two off which have planks of wood missing so are almost impossibly uncomfortable to sit on. Why not replace or repair them? But why bother!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

i just got back from panuba, reading the reviews in here give me mixed emotion abut booking at this place, but as soon as i arrived at the jetty it was beautiful, the room that i stayed was super durian, it was clean, nice and cozy. it was really worth my money, and the private beach wihich is isolated is nice an clean, the staff was friendly and they were cheerful, i dont really understand the bad review coming from others,
the jetty was really nice and peaceful compared to other jetty in abc and salang or tekek, the jetty gives u a great place to snorkelling and to swim at. most traveller would jump from the jetty into the water, it was really exciting. there's really so much different when you stand and take a swim from a wooden jetty compared to a concrete and stone jetty, and sitting there watching the sunset was really something else.....
getting to know the staff here makes me feel at home, talking to them makes u think how peaceful it is living here...
the fishes would swim to the beach and you dont really have to go farther into the ocean just to see the colourful fishes there.... just sitting at the jetty or by the beach u can feed them. u can hike to abc and monkey bay from here..... i've fallen for this place and would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked here as I had trouble booking an air con room at ABC or Saleng. Room location was great, right on the water, stayed in a SD room. This place is pretty laid back, if u want something you have to ask for it. Ferry stopped at panuba jetty. Place was a little run down but good for the price, did their snorkel trip and enjoyed it. Tv only had local channels (no astro). Breakfast was nothing great, rice, noodles and toast, theyd cook eggs if u asked. Staff were friendly enough but left u well alone. Good snorkeling off jetty and they are rebuilding the burnt chalets. Only real negative would be they burn their garbage (so did most of the places we saw at ABC and Saleng) and I had a few bed bug bites.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spikeyspikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews