We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very basic apartment”
Review of The Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukit Fraser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very basic apartment”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom apartment on the second floor. There are a lot of (narrow) stairs to climb to get there, making it less suitable for the disabled or elderly. The apartment is very spacious, leaving very limited workspace in a tiny kitchen. The fridge is a tiny tiny one and did not function properly. Unlike other places that I've stayed, they do not provide kettles, tea/coffee sachets. Carpeting is in desperate need for a change. Otherwise, it was an OK stay. Large balcony with a lovely sunrise.

Room Tip: Request at booking if you need a lower level apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaja136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We book one room apartment given us 3 rooms apartment. Well you must think it was a best deal, no it was not. Once we open the apartment room door, a funny smell, next try to on the lights, toilets light & dining room lights cannot on. Have to walk all the way to inform, but the response was good. Immediately their handy man were at our apartment to fix it. The apartment was not well light up even we switch on all the lights. Breakfast it was a very basic M'sian style i.e. nasi lemak & fried mee hoon taste so so. But the view/rather scenery was beautiful. If you are going for the view, then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lfyloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived, and was given an apartment with 3 rooms, the place didn't look that full, and we were given a room which was right opposite to the reception (i.e. no view), the only view we had was of reception and on the back a grey wall. went to reception to change rooms if possible, they said it was full. so we checked out, then suddenly there was a possibility to change room. as soon as you walked into the place there was a musty smell (the place had carpets), if you do want to stay here, ask for a view, than it should be alright. they were nice to give us a full refund, although we were not fussed if we got it back. it was not possible to have stayed in that one apartment, if there was a view it may have been a different story.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ttp1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am fortunate enough to stay in one of the nicely renovated apartment of Bank Negara Malaysia ( I was invited by my brother whom is a staff). The walk-way and surrounding is quite dirty and under maintained. The unit we stayed in was clean and very well maintained (of course by Bank Negara's Staff). I tried peeping into some other units, they are horrible!! Facilities wise: free wifi at lobby area, a restaurant which barely has customers. The good thing about this resort is the calmness and the quite-ness you will not find in big cities. My final advice is that if you love to relax, sun bath, and just chill-out in the chilly weather, this is the place for you. If you expect some sort of activities, sports, and shopping, this is definitely NOT the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floors for easy access - NO LIFT. Choose higher floors for less disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cheap accommodation for groups of 6 in an apartment of 3 rooms at only RM238. During off peaks, breakfast for 6 per apartment is included. Very simple facilities in the apartment with a kettle, a TV and a few glasses. Towels provided. One room with attached bath and one more for the other 2 room. About 20 minutes to walk down to the Town Centre for food as lunch and dinners are not normally served. If you are looking for budget accommodation, it is OK.

Room Tip: For cheap accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

While on a course up in Fraser's Hill, Pahang, Malaysia, we were booked into the Pines Resort, which is picturesquely nestled into the sides of a mountain.

Every unit is an apartment with one to three rooms. We had the three-roomed one.

There is a hall and a kitchen and two bathrooms. The master bedroom has an attached bathroom while the other rooms share a common bathroom/toilet.

Each room had two single beds and a room fan.

There are no amenities, only one hot water kettle is issued. Bring your own toiletteries. No bedroom slippers, room safe and no cups, plates, knives, spoons and forks. So bring your own or "borrow" them from the restaurant, which opens for breakfast (starts at 8 am) and dinner only. People seem to eat early there, and the restaurant starts to shut the door at about 8.30 pm. It serves Chinese, Malay and Western items. The food standard is okay.

The common bathroom had leaky taps and shower heads. The toilet cistern doesn't cut off the water flow once it is full, you have to manually turn the tap off or the water will keep on flowing out of the cistern. Rather annoying, this.

Our kitchen had a blown bulb so it was always in darkness.

Fraser's Hill is cool but not cold in May. The air is fresh and trees are aplenty. There is a lot of moisture in the air so towels and washed clothes take days to dry.

But the views are priceless, mornings are best when the sun is rising. If you are lucky you can see a sea of clouds in the valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level apartment or you will need to climb many flights of stairs up the mountain side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrotherDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our 5th visit to The Pines Resort and we always feel extremely relaxed with our stay.

The best thing about this resort is that it's one of the only places in Fraser's Hill with huge balconies. The views are spectacular and the air at night is very refreshing. There is nothing like sitting out on your large balcony at night with a bottle of red wine, watching the mist come in, or as last night a beautiful lightning storm in the nearby hills. Its a peaceful place to stay and quiet. The breakfast is large enough though very Malaysian in its idea of what a hotel breakfast should be.The units all have views and they sleep up to 6 people. They have 2 bathrooms with efficient water heaters. There is a large kitchen but its not well equipped. They give you a kettle at the office and towels but there is very little else in the kitchen. On previous visits, tea and coffee sachets were provided but not now.

The downside is basically what you expect. If you come to Fraser's Hill for the same ugliness of Genting Highlands or the over-development of the Cameron Highlands then forget Fraser's Hill. It is perfectly underdeveloped and so quiet it really is only for those who don't need entertainment. The rooms are a tad tired and lack kitchen equipment and the furniture is tired but it is comfortable.
My tip is to bring your comforts from home, like wine, coffee etc and just enjoy it's unique spot.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet with excellent views from an outstanding personal balcony then this is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gordiereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
22.9 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
19.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
187 reviews
23.7 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#3 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
149 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Property: The Pines Resort
Address: Jalan Pecah Batu | Pahang Darul Makmur, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bukit Fraser
Number of rooms: 159

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing