We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great view but noisy”
Review of Puncak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bukit Fraser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puncak Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Bukit Fraser B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Standard room has great view of the clock tower but small room. During the night we stayed, it's noisy as there's karaoke downstair. The room has bad soundproof, I can hear sound when neighbour turn on water pipe, TV sound till midnight, children crying and people talking from our neighbor room. The breakfast here is not very good. If you prefer better foods, you can walk to the Scott restaurant next to this hotel, they serve good western and oriental foods, I had my dinner there. The good thing about this hotel is its location, it is very near to the Gap entrance and located in the center of town. Parking is convenient. You may climb up to the top of the building, sit there to enjoy spectacular view of Fraser's hill.

Room Tip: No lift at this hotel. If you do not want to climb many stairs, stay at standard room but these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sywong331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for the standard room with free breakfast & wifi. Check in was smooth, early check in was allowed. The room was standard sized with basic amenities, ideally for couples. Variety of TV channels was a plus point as we both love to watch movies and series. Good night sleep, eventhough it was a cold night. A heater should be provided to warm the room instead of a fan as the surroundings there is already cold, especially at night. If you want to kick-start your day with a good breakfast, this place is definitely out of the list. Not only the breakfast was dull. We were given only one choice of main course which was (nasi lemak / kuey teow / mee hoon), and buffet of fruits with insects around, and breads. The spreads were jams and planta. Butter would be a good replacement instead of cheap planta. Well, we totally appreciate we had food to eat. But definitely it wasn't a good breakfast as we anticipated. Adding to that, the worker wasn't good in cleaning up the mess left on the dining table. Stay was good. Food and dining place is just a massive turn off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ragu1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the outside the Inn looks great so we were happy when we checked in. The man on reception was efficient, however our travel agent had booked us into a standard room which was incredibly basic. I upgraded to a deluxe room which was up two long flights of outside stairs. Still very basic so I upgraded again to a Junior suite. Well it had a little anti room with a soiled sofa and dirty walls so it could be classed as a suite but no carpets and basic furniture. We had one towel each with no way of drying it.
When we woke up next morning, it was pouring rain and the outside stairs down to the breakfast room were wet and slippy.
I cut my losses and checked out after one night. Luckily I did not lose too much as it is extremely cheap.
This could be OK for a backpacker or a budget traveler only.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room that you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our stay in Puncak Inn Fraser's Hill was a pleasant one. We book a standard room (Rm120nett on weekends) which included breakfast at the Restaurant D'Olio.

The hotel.
Check in/ check out procedure was quick and efficient. Staff was pleasant. Lobby was clean.Free Wifi and reading materials are available here. There's games and bicycles to rent as well. Location was very strategic. Restaurants, post office, police station, clinic, sundry shops, ATM, the golf course and souvenirs shops are all very near the hotel. Parking bays are limited.

The room.
Our room was on the first floor (all their Standard rooms are on the 1st floor), which had a lovely and unobstructed view of the clock tower roundabout and its surroundings.Couldn't have been better! Room was clean and cosy. Rather small, with only space for one person to walk around the bed at any one time. Those with large suitcases and baggage should store it in the big cupboards provided. That should solve the problem of space. Coffee/tea making facilities are provided, but there's no mini bar in the room. A minor downside of the room is it isn't carpeted, so the tile flooring is a little cold to step on especially at night. Another thing was the outside noise. As the room faces the popular clock tower, many tourist will flock the area and it can get noisy. There's also a restaurant opposite the hotel which many go to. However, the noise dies down by midnight (on weekends, not sure about weekdays). Thirdly, the walls are VERY thin. We could hear everything our neighbours were saying.

The bathroom/shower
The bathroom was small-fit for only one person to use. No shampoo provided, only a small bar of soap. The heater was functioning well.

Breakfast
The restaurant had a rather limited selection, but adequate to fill us up. Breakfast is served from 7.30-10.30 am. They had a selection of fried rice, fried mihoon, porridge, and three other side dishes, fruit juice, coffee/tea, toast with a choice of margarine, grape jam or egg jam (kaya) and some fresh fruit. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating and the area was very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor above lobby have good views of the clock tower. You can also get the wifi signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JD_JT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Puncak Inn Apartment. The staffs were friendly and efficient. Checkin/checkout procedure was quick. The rooms were clean and presentable. More importantly, the sofa was comfortable and cozy to sit on. Given the new "security" policy, the hotel gives out passcard for easy access of the Silverpark area, facilitating your move-abouts. Cooking facilities are provided but bring your own cookware and food/ingredients, or you can eat out at the nearby foodstalls. The apartment is located nearby some lovely trails you can explore. Given the minute scale of Fraser's hill, I feel everything is within walking distance, especially in the cool weather, although hilly. The only downside to the apartment is that is doesn't provide lifts, and therefore, not wheelchair or elderly people friendly, especially if you get rooms on the upper floors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaja136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Fraser's Hill is a favourite place for my husband and I to visit. We try to visit it once a year. Most times, we stayed at Shahzan Inn. This year, for a change, we decided to stay at Puncak Inn.

Initially we could not get used to the fact that there is no lift. So we had to lug our luggage up 2 flights to get to our room. That was rather back breaking! But this inn grows on you. We spent 5 nights here and by the 3rd night, we were feeling quite at home in our Junior Suite room.

The central location is a bonus as lots of trails are accessible. We went trekking on at least 3 different trails which are all within walking distance to the inn.

As previous posters have mentioned, breakfast is basic and same for the duration of our stay. Fortunately we are fond of nasi lemak and fried bee hoon! We also had several lunches and dinners at the Inn. All reasonably priced.

We are glad we gave Puncak Inn a try. Now we have 2 choices of accommodations for our next visit to Fraser's Hill!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is probably the latest refurbished place in Fraser's Hill. Right smack in the town center in front of the clock tower. We booked the Junior Suite which has a big queen-size bed (maybe even a small King Size one) and a small lounge with a 2-seater sofa set and stool. Extra mattresses available at a mere RM40 each. We took 2 and stacked them on top of each other to ensure the chill from the tile floor does not seep into the person sleeping on it. It is basic but comfortable and the decor is simple yet welcoming. There is no fridge and the floor can get a little cold with its ceramic tiles. If you keep the windows open (insect screen closed), you can hear the noises from the other guests outside but it provides great ventilation and natural air conditioning. It was 20C in Frasers' Hill whilst Kuala Lumpur was 35C so it was brilliant. Breakfast was okay but go early so that you get the best-cooked first round batch. But the restaurant has a beautifully done patio with iron furniture and wrought-iron decor all in white.. The second batch was not so great. Othewise, very pleasant stay with pleasant and well-informed and helpful staff on hand.

Room Tip: As it is built against a cliff, you would not want a room too high up as there are no lifts. But if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muddyjunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Fraser
22.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
20.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,883 reviews
23.5 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
#4 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puncak Inn Bungalows
Puncak Inn Bungalows
#5 of 6 in Bukit Fraser
6 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Jelai
Hotel Jelai
#4 of 8 in Raub
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puncak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puncak Inn

Address: Fraser's Hill, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Fraser
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Puncak Hotel Bukit Fraser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing