We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & Poor Service At The Avillion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We booked 2 premium water chalets for ourselves and our friends as we were touring Malaysia, and the website showed luxury water chalets, and nice beach. On arrival they did not have keys to one of the chalets, and our friends were left waiting whilst house keeping had another key made. The overall appearance of the resort was tired and dated, and this included the rooms. We are not sure what they classed as premium apart from a view of the ocean that was dirty and grey. The swimming pool water also looked cloudy and dirty. After 20mins of arriving both couples agreed to check out early the next morning, as this was not the resort we had seen on the internet!! The service was generally slow, and they were not geared up for the amount of people staying their at this time of year, which included breakfast the next morning where tables were piled high with dirty plates ect, lots of flies, and the food was poor. We checked out without any staff asking why we had only stayed 1 nite out of the 4 nite booking!!! We had driven from Shangri La resort in Penang which was amazing, and shall in future book Rasa hotels & resorts!!!! Do not waste your money on this resort as there are far better places to stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

It was our second visit. Loved it very much. This time we took a garden chalet away from the restaurant and pool. It was quiet and lovely. My daughter enjoyed it very much. Will surely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Stayed at Avillion for 3 days 2 nites with and overall its an enjoyable experience. Checked in rather late and did not manage to park outside the lobby instead had to parked across the road. Check-in was pretty smooth though and i got the card keys to my room within 5 mins.

We went into our room. We booked the Water chalet, and happy to see that the day bed in the room turn out some what to be a queensize bed. Just a little bit smaller. Fit my 2 kids confortably. The water heater and aircond was working OK. The water heater takes a while to heat-up the water and the aircond was quite noisy, but because my room was just by the edge of the rocky sea bed, the sound of the waves hitting on the rocks were just as loud. Hence did not bother me much.

We hit the pool right away, but it was overcrowded due to school holidays. For dinner we were hoping to get a nice seat at the Village court but it was overcrowded as well. Waited for almost 20 min before we were told that we have have our dinner on the 3rd floor at the Galley lounge. The ambience was so much better, and less crowded and noisy. Half way through dinner, a live acoustic band came to play. Dinner turn out to be nice after all.

Next morning, we waiting for 30 mins before we could get a table for breakfast. Again it was overcrowded. This happened again on the 2nd morning althought we there much earlier. They just do not have enough space and tables to accomodate all the guests during meal time.

They kept the beach clean as well, but the sea water is much less to be desired. my kids did enjoy their time at the beach.

Generally, the staff are friendly and helpful. The only not so pleasant experience is really during meal times. My recommendation would be not to go during peak season and school holidays. There are way too many people. Otherwise, this trip would be really nice and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgpgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Spent only a night in this resort staying in the Premium Water Chalet. Overall experience was pretty nice for my partner and I.

We were provided 2 welcome drinks upon check-in, and managed to check in earlier at 2pm with a good car park provided in the resort compound itself.

The Premium Water Chalet itself was not too bad, a bit small and worn out but it was comfy. The overlooking view from the balcony was okay, which we did not expect much since it's facing the PD beach. The toilet was far from those described in the Avillion website, bath tub was very small and the open-sky concept of the bathroom, nothing to shout about really. The a/c located in the bathroom was making loud noise all the time, which pretty much ruined the bathroom, and did I mention even with the bathroom door closed we could still hear the a/c running? And also as mentioned by others, when the tide is low (which occurs time to time) it doesn't feel like we were in a water chalet, and we did see some garbage underneath the chalet such as plastic bags, bottles, etc..

We spent most of our time in the adult pool. The pool with only adults around was relaxing with some desk chairs provided. Pool is considered clean and you may order drinks through the staffs around the pool. We also enjoyed spending time on the Pangkin Day bed, doing some reading facing the sea. The Spa facility looks gorgeous (and smells good too) although we did not try it due to time constraints, but I would definitely recommend my friends to give a try if any of them decided to stay in this resort.

During our stay here, we had a bad experience with the electricity. The fuses in our room were blown and some of the lights in the room did not work accordingly by evening. So the whole room was dim by night and the bathroom was completely pitch dark. We informed the reception on the way out for dinner but they did not get them fixed even we were out for dinner for 2 hours. We called the reception again, and waited for another 45mins but still, nobody showed up. In the end we had to inform the duty manager, and finally a staff turned up, it was already midnight by then. The staff told us he had to get a ladder, but somehow he did not return with the ladder, or maybe, we fell asleep whilst waiting.

The day after, we had complimentary breakfast but the café (Village Court) was too crowded. We waited for a while and the café staff sent us to another café (Crow’s Nest) and we waited for another 20mins until we were escorted to a table. I must say the breakfast was bad for the $$ we paid. Not much of variety and the food was not good. We expected much better breakfast for a 5-star resort. The breakfast was disappointing.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay here, and managed to unwind in this resort. Price is a bit too much, still it was a good stay. We had a pretty lovely 1st anniversary in Avillion.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thomari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at this property in their Premium Water Chalets with full sea view. I only wish I had saved my hard earned money to go stay someplace else.

There is an omnipresent stink of sewage which dispells any notions of 'paradise' in no time. There is a drainpipe running right down the hill from the lobby to the pool area so the lobby is not an inviting place where you can linger for sometime. The staff attempts to camouflage the smell with fragrance which hardly helps. Our kid was enjoying the kids pool but the smell of sewage assaulting us could not be ignored so we had to leave the pool area rather quickly.

The rooms do not justify the price. We were given rooms in the 300 series. The bed had bugs! The beach is dirty, there is a huge drainpipe from town to the beach not too far from the chalets! Sometime at night I was woken up by a terrible stink that lasted probably 30 min -1 hr. Also, be warned that when the tide is low, your water chalet is no longer a water chatet! It is just a room standing on top of waste - ugly pastic bags and what not!! I had hoped that my daughter would have a fun time at the beach, but after seeing this we decided to stay away from the beach altogether.

The only plus I can say is that the breakfast was decent and had a good variety.

The property has a unique concept and they have made an attempt to do good landscaping to pretty up the property but there are some of these fundamental issues which cannot be overlooked.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kdeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My hub and I decided to make a last minute booking at this accommodation. We drove into port dickson and my hub unload the luggage at the entrance for the bell boy before he went to park the car. When he got back, our luggage is still at the same spot and the bell boy is missing.

The service staff is pretty nice. However, they are not train. They do not know that there is a wine list in the room. I overheard a guest asking for it and they informed the guest that there is no wine list and that they have to call the in-room dining number to check.

However, the surrounding is very nice. They have an adult pool and as such, it is rather quiet without the kids. They have animals such as rabbits, chickens, guinea pigs for guest to feed in the mornings at a caged area. They have various herbs and plants - some form of nature walk. Nice tennis court. Pool table and some console games that you have to pay to play.

Generally, the exterior of the place is very relaxing and nice. The spa is wonderful. It was only a few weeks old when we were there. It is facing the sea and it is really nice. I must say it is a must do.

The room is a little worn. The bed feels kinda dirty and it is rather uncomfortable. They seems to refurbish all the exterior and not the interior. hmm.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eittus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

I was really looking forward to staying here as a romantic getaway wt my husband on my birthday but was quite dissapointed with the accommodations. The hotel itself is quite lovely. The gardens are very pretty, nice lobby and beautiful, spanking new spa. The rooms however seem to be a little run down over the years.
My husband has stayed here before a few years ago and liked but noticed that that it has not been well maintained.

The bathroom was a dissapointment. The bath was stained and had cracks which were filled in wt some kind of glue which still showed. It looked dirty and we didn't want to use it.
No floor mat was provided, till we called housekeeping and requested for one. Even then, after cleaning the room the next day.. they didn't replace it and we didnt have a floor mat in the bathroom again!
The sliding doors diving the room and the bathroom was coming off the hinges.
Overall we didn't think we got our money's worth. It was still nice but expected better from a hotel like Avillion.
The family pool was being renovated so the adult only pool became a family one. Breakfast was ok, good variety and quality. The Spa is lovely as it new brand new and the service was also very good.
We have always loved the live band that play in the lounge at night and enjoyed that again.
Overall, I hope that they can improve in terms of maintaining the rooms as it is quite a lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HoneyBeeKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
821 reviews
4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
3.3 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 37 in Port Dickson
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $93 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avillion Port Dickson 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing