We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful exterior! Run down rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My hub and I decided to make a last minute booking at this accommodation. We drove into port dickson and my hub unload the luggage at the entrance for the bell boy before he went to park the car. When he got back, our luggage is still at the same spot and the bell boy is missing.

The service staff is pretty nice. However, they are not train. They do not know that there is a wine list in the room. I overheard a guest asking for it and they informed the guest that there is no wine list and that they have to call the in-room dining number to check.

However, the surrounding is very nice. They have an adult pool and as such, it is rather quiet without the kids. They have animals such as rabbits, chickens, guinea pigs for guest to feed in the mornings at a caged area. They have various herbs and plants - some form of nature walk. Nice tennis court. Pool table and some console games that you have to pay to play.

Generally, the exterior of the place is very relaxing and nice. The spa is wonderful. It was only a few weeks old when we were there. It is facing the sea and it is really nice. I must say it is a must do.

The room is a little worn. The bed feels kinda dirty and it is rather uncomfortable. They seems to refurbish all the exterior and not the interior. hmm.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eittus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2008

I was really looking forward to staying here as a romantic getaway wt my husband on my birthday but was quite dissapointed with the accommodations. The hotel itself is quite lovely. The gardens are very pretty, nice lobby and beautiful, spanking new spa. The rooms however seem to be a little run down over the years.
My husband has stayed here before a few years ago and liked but noticed that that it has not been well maintained.

The bathroom was a dissapointment. The bath was stained and had cracks which were filled in wt some kind of glue which still showed. It looked dirty and we didn't want to use it.
No floor mat was provided, till we called housekeeping and requested for one. Even then, after cleaning the room the next day.. they didn't replace it and we didnt have a floor mat in the bathroom again!
The sliding doors diving the room and the bathroom was coming off the hinges.
Overall we didn't think we got our money's worth. It was still nice but expected better from a hotel like Avillion.
The family pool was being renovated so the adult only pool became a family one. Breakfast was ok, good variety and quality. The Spa is lovely as it new brand new and the service was also very good.
We have always loved the live band that play in the lounge at night and enjoyed that again.
Overall, I hope that they can improve in terms of maintaining the rooms as it is quite a lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HoneyBeeKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This is a beautifully laid out resort. We stayed 6 nights in a water chalet, my parents stayed in one of the garden rooms with a sea view. The first night we were allocated a chalet very close to the restaurants and pool. It was quite noisy and while the room was lovely we did not sleep much, as we soon discovered the malysian way is to get up late and stay up late. I went to reception on the following day to request a quieter room and the staff were very helpful. While the place was fully booked they moved some rooms around and gave us one facing the beach, away from the common areas. The rooms are spacious, with king size pole beds surrounded with mozzie nets and beautiful day beds next to the balcony to enjoy the sea breeze. The outdoor shower advertised was a bit less glamorous than I expected but still thoroughly enjoyable. There are three pools, one for kids, one for everyone and one just for adults. The adults pool was beautiful and peaceful. The spa located on the premises had just opened and we had massages and bodyscrubs. While the treatments were expensive compared to rest of malysia, they were very luxurious and upmarket. The staff were wonderful. The buffet breakfast included was wonderful and had something for everyone from traditional Malay food to fruits and croissants and yoghurts and cereals to porridge... The facilities include karaoke rooms, two bars and three resturants. The only downside was that being in a quite remote spot, you ended up having dinner at the facility every night and despite the three restaurants, the menu was odd and unsatisfactory. I would say the layout is perfect to accommodate both couples wanting to enjoy peace and quiet and each other and families with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Check-in was quick.. But had to declare how many pple in the room. What is the purpose? And we did not like to park our new car at the carpark opposite the hotel. The carpark at the side of the hotel was full and we had no choice. The other carpark is dark and the guard was not as alert as the one at the same side carpark..

Not easy to look for the rooms but perhaps I was looking at signage way up instead of looking at the ground.. The rooms signage is placed on the ground level.. they have water to refresh your feet along all the pathways.. maybe just to remind u to wash off the sand before gng to your rooms.. The landscaping is very well done.. All kinds of tropical plants and flowers line the pathways.. and lots of benches to rest your feet..

We had a sea-facing room which had a 4-poster king-size bed and a queen size day bed. Sufficient for 3 adults and 3 toddlers.. Room size is nice and spacious.. The open air shower was fun.. though have to keep a close eye on the kids when they dash around cos there are steps down to the open air shower.. we locked ourselves out of the WC cos of the faulty lock.. but it was easily fixed by the hotel pple.. oh yeah, there was no water when we got to the room and we were told that the water will arrive in 1 hr time.. The initial water was yellowish too..

We wasted no time.. We changed into our bathing suits and had a swim at the pool.. Because we were there on a Friday, the pool was not crowded, but there was not enough deckchairs next to the children's pool.

After the swim, we built sandcastles at Riau Beach which is just a short walk from our room.. after that, we cleaned up and headed out to seaview seafood restaurant for dinner. They have at least 3 types of lobsters in tanks gng for about 200RM per kilo.. Tot of having crabs but they have the policy of selling minimum 2 crabs leh.. but how to finish 2 crabs? So we had some simple fried rice, horfun, salted egg shrimp, kailan and sea cucumber with mushrooms and brocolli.. We drive around the town centre but did not find anything that made us want to get out of the car.. So headed back to hotel where the kids did some sand painting at the kids corner.. There is a playground to keep the kids entertained too.. Even the toilets are kids size.

The next morning, we had the buffet breakfast included.. Normal hotel buffet breakfast.. They have local specialities like nasi lemak, roti canai and kaya toast.. After breakfast, we explored more of the hotel... There is a sea-facing gym, a bigger adult only lap pool, a petting farm with rabbits and chickens.. Then the kids went to the kids corner and did more coloring.. I should not call it a corner cos the size of the room is equivalant to the hotel room.. there's a TV and PS2 games too.. TV is free.. PS2 chargeable.

Then it was more swimming before bathing and checking out..

The service is great! We were greeted several times along the pathways.. Even the gardener offered help when we were looking for our rooms..

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank syen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We booked two water chalets for three nights. We had a fantastic time. We were five kids and two adults and the rooms had plenty of space. Pictures you see on websites are taken with a wide angled lense so that the whole room can be seen at once so don't expect that much space. However the space is more than adequate and clean and tidy. The beds are lovely and the view was breathtaking especially in the early morning. The facilites at the resort are quite good and the resort itself is very pretty. The restaurants serve delicious local food and the staff are very polite and friendly. There are three swimming pools and two beaches as well as a kids play area and cabin. The gym is good and there is opportunity to do water activities too. Well maintained. We had a great time and I cant say enough good comments about it. For people who are into rest and relaxation and beautiful surroundings then this is for them. For those who love the social scene and lots of hustle and bustle then better stick to the city..this isnt for them. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Here is another hotel available in Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan.
I had the opportunity to stay here for business and the hotel was good. I was in Selesa Beach Resort a week prior and this hotel I felt was way better. It is a new hotel located in PD which had only just opened its doors to the public.
The place is a little bit confusing to find however the landmark is a small boat just after Selesa Beach resort. It is actually next to the Admiral Cove Marina. I am told that the marina has been there for a while but the hotel had only just came.
The check in was okay, they appeared under staffed. They were however friendly. The rates were good, RM 212 for superior, RM 235 for deluxe and RM250 for studio on weekdays and on weekends add another RM20-30 on to those prices. This included bfast.
The room was spacious and new. the bed was good. I am told all rooms came equipt with LCD tv. Astra is available but no wifi.
There is no beach but you can walk next door and use the public beach about 3 mins walk. There is the marina that you can see and alos a swimming pool in the yatch club next door which is attached to the hotels. All meals and functions are done there.
The bfast was okay and the drinks and food were cheap. Lunch was about RM20 in the hotel and drinks varied from RM5 to 20 non alcoholic and a bit more for alcoholic drinks. They have an okay bar that opens at night with live music.
I'd recommend this as an alternative if you are there for business or a short retreat. It is still quiet but i feel that business is picking up.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ViciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Avillion for five nights in June 2008.

The resort is small and lowkey, but very pretty. Port Dickson itself did not seem to have a lot to offer, so we spent most of our time at the Avillion.

Our water chalet was well situated with both sea views and views of the beach. One of the most enjoyable aspects of the chalets are the open-air showers, but the balconies are also nice for sitting out and soaking up the sun. (All balconies have two deck chairs).

The resort has a number of options in terms of eating. We dined repeatedly at both the Village Court Buffet and the Crows Nest Restaurant. The Village Court is also where the breakfast buffet is set up each morning. Many visitors also seem to enjoy eating in their chalets and we found 'room service' to be fast. Overall, the food was abundant and good, and at fairly reasonable prices (from a European perspective).

The resort has a number of nice pools. The 'children's pool' and slide pool in the Village Court area were in heavy use when we visited. The 'adult pool', which is in a different area, was often empty however.

Drawbacks:
- At the time we stayed there was no TV reception as we were told work was being carried out on its improvement
- There was also a small problem with flies, esp. in the food service areas
- Internet access is only available in the reception area, it costs c.€10 per hour and is pretty slow
- Many people swim at the resort's two beaches, but the water is quite dirty and we did not swim

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OranGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 38 in Port Dickson
1,219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 38 in Port Dickson
812 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 38 in Port Dickson
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
1.3 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#9 of 38 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#14 of 38 in Port Dickson
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $77 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avillion Port Dickson 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing