We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a nice stop for a day or two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Could be a nice stop for a day or two”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you don't go out and stay inside the walls of the hotel, it is a very nice place. It has 2 restaurants, one bar, 2 swimming pools, a tennis court, and other attractions like birds, rabbits, etc. There is nothing to do outside in Port Dickson, so you may as well stay inside the resort. The water houses are very nice, simple and clean. The only thing is that there is basically only half roof in the bathroom, and thus no airco as you are under the sky, and can see the dirty water of the sea. If you go there do not think of a nice swim, as it will not happen: the water is dirty. You can enjoy a beautiful spa although it is a bit pricey for Malaysia. Overall the staff is very friendly, but unfortunately they do not manage timely the check in and the heck out. Finally, prepare earplugs as night storms may prevent you from sleeping.

Room Tip: Ask for the room as close as possible to the spa, it is further in the sea, and the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhabitss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    610
    269
    162
    104
See reviews for
669
367
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Avillion used to be a top class resort. But our last visit was less than perfect.

No doubt places degrade physically over time. But services should not. There were glitches between reservations and check-in. Information about the package and redemption of offers was unclear. Service at the restaurant was less than stellar.

While the place still offers a fairly decent holiday, it is no longer worth the prices that are charged.

Room Tip: Ask ahead and make arrangements beforehand to avoid disappointment. While the staff are friendly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svsingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Avillion Port Dickson for the first part of our Malaysian honeymoon.


First impression of the hotel was how nicely laid out it was and how clean it was. It really was immaculate everywhere. Lovely pools and garden areas maintained well with beautiful plants. Was also nice to have the adults only pool to relax. Good around the pool was also not too expensive. We were staying in a front facing water bungalow (think these are the deluxe ones) and were only a few doors down from the Avillion Spa.

Our room was amazing, really clean and the bed had been decorated with rose petals and all kinds of towel creations. We also had a bottle of wine on ice and some chocolates In the room (I believe this was part of our package)

The bathrooms are amazing too! The open air shower was definitely a high light for me :)

The spa there is absolutely amazing! A must do!! It's beautifully laid out and clean. The ginger tea was unusual but refreshing and the treatments make you feel so relaxed i even nodded off to sleep a couple of times! I believe the spa has won awards for being one of the best luxury spas and I can see why!

Whilst we were there we were booked in for the 'honeymoon' package and the 'drive me to Avillion' package as we were there a total of 5 nights. I can't remember exactly which went with which package but whilst we were there we had;
Rose petals, chocolate and wine on arrival
A candlelit dinner in the restaurant
A snow pearl body wrap in the spa
A steam, full body massage and facial in the spa
Candlelit dinner on our balcony
A mini photoshoot with framed picture
Another bottle of wine
Transport to and from the hotel
Daily afternoon tea in the Avi a Lounge (amazing views and great sunset photos!)


There may have been more included but that's all I can think of at the moment.

The only slight downside is that the beach did have a fair bit of litter but that was part way down, it is a lot cleaner immediately around the hotel. It also had a lot of sand flies but that's not a fault of the hotel's. Also the water bungalows are amazing but do not expect the crystal clear water like you would have somewhere like the Maldives, it's a bit murky!

In summary; the Avillion Port Dickson is an amazing hotel. It's especially great for couples looking to unwind and spend some time together, recommended as part of a honeymoon like us :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravel646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great getaway for couples or family with young children. The water chalet is clean and spacious with a huge toilet and open-air shower. However, the balcony is a bit small. Lots of greenery around the hotel and peacocks wondering freely around the grounds.

Good selection of restaurants and food. The staff are helpful and friendly. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Book the Water Chalet for privacy and good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Was impressed with how much cleaner the beach was compared to the last time I visited PD. Check in was breezy and had a friendly banter with the lady handling my check in. Did not realise that the hotel was quite a huge one and was impressed by how green the hotel was. Also, I did not expect to see peacocks and peahens roaming about freely. Checked into a Premium Water Chalet, which was clean, comfortable and had the standard amenities (lots of mineral water in the fridge). Really loved the open air shower but the toilet had to be flushed quite a few times for it to clear, as the water pressure was not strong enough. The best part of the stay was the enjoying our complimentary drinks up at the lounge - very refreshing and relaxing, with good service and breath-taking sunset view.

Room Tip: Water chalets nearer to land would have louder wave crash sounds in the evenings due to high tide, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chryshijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice surroundings, but the standard of the hotel was not up to scratch. The children's pool was very dirty and very unpleasant. The cleaning of the rooms was ok, but we had issues with the toilets getting clogged. Food was ok at the buffet, restaurant had some great food. Especially the lamb dishes.
Beach could have been very nice, but to much trash lying around.
The spa and high tea was very nice though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Thor1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Avillion Port Dickson

While it is good to read that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed,
we really must apologise that we did not meet your overall expectation.

We would like to assure you, that we had taken action to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love coming here for a quick getaway from the city. We've been here many times before. The kids love Temasek Beach (although beware of sandflies) and the pool. The little one really enjoyed the mini petting zoo where she could feed the rabbits.

For the price we have paid, we expect the rooms to be better than it was before. First of all, the 4-poster king bed did not come with the canopy like it did before. It was bare. The floor was very sandy, as if the cleaners did not vacuum it before we checked in. There were only 2 bath towels, no hand or face towels. For the premium price that we paid, surely it could've been more than that.

Since the entire resort is made of wood, regular refurbishing and upkeep of the structure is needed so it doesn't look old.

Having said all that, we love the view from our room. Did not manage to get a go at the spa though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WanderlustReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review…

We regret that it fell short of both our expectations in terms of service levels rendered by the resort team for your stay.

There is no excuse for such service standards at the Resort.
However, we do assure you that this is not the norm for the Avillion; and we had addressed these matters to improve on areas mentioned.

Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
513 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
169 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
1.3 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#12 of 37 in Port Dickson
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Property: Avillion Port Dickson
Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing