We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but with some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Avillion Port Dickson is a large hotel with two pools, tennis court, and beach. The views of the beach are nice, as are the trees and plants on the hotel. The beach is unfortunately polluted, which is hardly the fault of the hotel, but nevertheless it does not help. When I went, the wifi quality was very poor and unusable. The food was fine. The service was adequate but be sure to check the details carefully as misunderstanding can happen. The soldiers who guard the hotel wear very fashionable berets. I spent about 400 RM for the garden chalet. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are very large. All in all, it was very nice but a little pricey, in my opinion. The pillows provided are very large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors get cool sea breezes, which help compensate for Malaysia's humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norcrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you very much for taking some time off to share
your experience in your stay.

Please be assured that we have taken note of your
feedback and have taken immediate action

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to this hotel due to the fact it advertises itself as wheelchair friendly- we managed to get a disabled room, whereby the beds are lower, a flat shower area (as opposed to the other rooms, where it its a sunken shower area) and bars in the toilet. What was lacking however, was a metal chair for a disabled person to sit and shower- after about 45 minutes, and told we should just use one of the chairs in the room- we persisted and manage to get a plastic chair. I hope the resort will take this comment on board and make the rooms more disabled friendly.

The resort itself is massive- water chalets with two pools- one for everyone and an adults only one, which was very quiet and a relief as this is a family oriented hotel. The pools are 24 hours and if you are unfortunate to stay right opposite the communal/kids pool, they are up playing and having fun until 12-1am at night- great to see them enjoying, not so great if you want some peace and quiet. However, there are other chalets that are not near the main building and pool area which seemed more serene.

There hotel boasts a spa center- which is very nice- the couple treatment rooms face seawards and have a verandah to have your tea and relax after your treatment- the single rooms have a communal lounge facing the sea as well.

There are two restaurant attached to this hotel- one with a buffet service, the other ala carte (Crows Nest). The food is of good quality and very big serves- we were impressed with the variety of dishes offered. The only complaint would be that breakfast was a little chaotic and people had to wait for tables.

Some maintainence is required in this resort as parts of it look old and tired and desperate need of a repaint. The fridge in all our rooms were not working but other areas are OK- the pools are well maintained as well as the grounds. It was lovely to see peacocks walking around the grounds and there is a petting mini-zoo for the kids.

It was a terrific mini-break for a few days- though the beach and the sea isn't nice, the rest of the resort makes up for it. The staff need to be commended on their attentiveness and friendliness. True Malaysian hospitality! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main building if you want some quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the management apologize for the
shortfalls in areas highlighted.

We had taken immediate action to improve our services and
look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at a Garden Villa, very spacious and clean. Loved the bed and room service was always prompt. Beautiful resort with a small, private beach which had lovely sand, altho there were qt a bit of sandflies. They had interesting facilities (couldnt check them all out) like a gorgeous spa, sotong fishing, kids petting mini zoo, kids club. Would have loved to have stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: We thought the room in front of the pool would be noisy, but actually it was ok although we could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megkualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Your feedback on this matter is most appreciated.
It is a great pleasure that you had such a memorable stay at our Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my second visit within 3 years. Enjoyed the sunset view here. The water chalet is better. However, there's limited beach to access. More over, the beach is not clean (with dead Jelly fish & sand flies). The children will enjoy the 'mini zoo' which keeps the peacock, rabbits, chicken, etc. They are happy during the 'feed the animal' session, which start at about 10:00AM. The environment is peaceful & quiet at night. There are three swimming pools which includes a children's pool. You may drive from the resort to the nearest seafood restaurant in PD town. It's just about 10 - 15 min drive. Food is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WenWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Your kind comments are most valued.

Please be assured that we have taken note of your feedback
especially on the cleanliness of the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our first visit was 8 years ago, stayed in a premium water villa. That was before we had any kids and even though we didn't do many things, we had a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Now, with two additional young family members, we did somewhat different but still enjoyable activities like crabbing and farm animal feeding. The kids loved doing those things since they don't normally get to do those as city kids.

One unwanted consequence was those two out of the four of us got very bad insect bites, initially I thought they were mosquito bites but now I think they are more like from sandflies. So, don't forget to apply insect repellent even when you are just going to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusYawbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the Team
sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience and
had taken remedial steps to improve on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just went to this Resort over the 9th to 11th weekend with my two kids and wife. Must say, they charge over 600 RM for a water room without breakfast, but service wise, they are not up to standard. Only allowed two towels although I paid additional kids charge for the room. The pool is too crowded and no control whatsoever. Bought breakfast coupons, but was told no space on 1st floor so we had to go to the 4th floor, which did not have the same buffet spread as the 1st floor. No wifi on the beach chalets (wifi is a must please please please). passageway to the water rooms are broken and you can see nails jutting out from wood. Very unsafe. Basically from check in to check out, I get the impression that staff were more concern to charge for amenities rather than look after our enjoyment. Too commercialized and hope this changes for future guest. No parking next to hotel, hence had to cross road, which is pretty dangerous as there are no traffic lights or any security guidance. Overall, my worst experiance in a resort that have won many awards.

Room Tip: Never book a room above 400 RM even during peak. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank singh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
The Management sincerely apologizes for the unpleasantries encountered during the peak season.

Customer service is of prime importance to us and we have taken immediate remedial steps to improve on areas highlighted

The team hopes to welcome you again for an opportunity to ensure that this time around, you will experience Avillion hospitality through and true!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Water Chalet and thoroughly enjoyed the abundance sea breeze and the sound of the waves splashing underneath the chalet at night. The Water Chalet provides access to a quiet and exclusive adults only pool nearby that was appropriate for doing swim laps. If you are seeking access to a vast attractive beach, this hotel may not satisfy you.

Room Tip: ask for Sea facing Water chalet as you may receive water chalet that faces other water chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review...

We are happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you decide to return for another stay, please do let us know and
we will be very happy to accommodate and
welcome you back for a return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#6 of 37 in Port Dickson
836 reviews
4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
5 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#15 of 37 in Port Dickson
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $92 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing