We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort, great for kids, patchy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Port Dickson
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Good resort, great for kids, patchy service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location: along the beach road 3 miles from Port Dickson
Hotel: Water chalets, garden chalets, regular hotel building, vast property, well kept, private beach and water sports, spa, 2 restaurants, live music in the evenings
Room: we took water chalet with king bed, side seating area, open shower, balcony with seating
Positives: good property, well kept, adult's swimming pool, lot of activities for children, good food (non-veg)
Negatives: service was patchy, not enough options for vegetarians

My wife and I went to Avillion for 3 nights over NY and we had booked our room with the NYE dinner (which wasn't compulsory, unlike most resorts). We rented a water chalet (only difference between water chalets and premium ones are that the premium ones are farthest out at sea). Our room was quite spacious with a king sized bed and a separate dewan by the window to relax during the afternoons. The bathroom area had a bathtub as well as a well concealed open roof shower. No complaints about cleanliness. Do carry insect repellents as the mosquitoes/flies can be painful after a rainfall, especially if you are close to the beach.

The service was a bit disappointing especially when it came to vegetarian food, we ordered a coffee and hot chocolate by the pool and both came at almost room temperature, however, the waiter took them back and got them freshly prepared. Even at the restaurant on the very first meal, the waiter forgot to place the order for the garlic bread which eventually never arrived. However, I must say that they took extra efforts on 31st night to ensure that my wife ate a 4 course veg meal. The international food selection was wonderful at the Village Court restaurant every evening and the resident live band was playing music to my liking (60s to 90s with a few recent pop hits).

This resort is great for kids as they have kid's play area, kid's swimming pool with a slide, water sports. The kids can even feed the birds and other domesticated pets every morning (I saw all kids enjoying this activity). Do get proper directions to the resort if you don't have a GPS system as the exit from the main highway can be confusion and there aren't enough boards guiding you to the resort. The service, except for these 2 incidents and slow check-in, was good, the staff was very courteous and very polite. Had there not been these incidents I would've given the hotel a 5 star. We didn't make use of the spa as the rates were almost more than Singapore standards and hence we didn't find it worthy.

I'll certainly go back again when we have kids, wonderful place to spend new year's eve with them as I saw most kids enjoying the pool party that night.

Room Tip: I would get a regular water chalet and make a request for farthest possible room. Temasek block is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    602
    267
    160
    104
See reviews for
662
364
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was not sure what to expect after seeing some negative reviews, but we really enjoyed our stay here. We had a standard water chalet and we all thought it was super cool to be in a room above the water. The room was a perfect size for our family of four. The open air shower and large bathroom was a treat. We found the condition of the room and of the other chalets to be good- remember these rooms are above SALT WATER- they had a pleasantly weathered charm. The grounds and facilities were immaculate. We were there on a super busy weekend, New Years Eve, and we felt the hotel and the staff handled everything very well. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvmalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a Premium over-water chalet for 2 nights based on reviews we came across. I must say I was initially impressed by the room lay-out & facilities (bed, outdoor shower area, day-bed, 24 hour adult pool, sauna/steam roon) however this was soon tarnished by the extremely appalling service of their staff (front desk and wait staff).

On our first evening, me and my mates decided to hit the pool and order a bottle of wine to be delivered to where we were. The waiter comes back 10 mins later saying they've run out of reds and only have whites so without a choice, we decided to get a bottle of white instead. 15 mins pass, and he returns with a chilled bottle of red (not white) and tried to convince us its the same thing! We were adamant we wanted a bottle of white (who chills their red wine?!) so he goes back and takes an extra 10 mins before he comes back with our order.

That night we decided to hit Crow's Nest (in-house restaurant at Avillion) for dinner. The wait staff did not know much about the menu and was not very helpful. We ordered the set menu and was shocked by the quality of food served. The steak was over-cooked and the seasoning was off. Breakfast was not all that great as well. They had to send us to another level due to lack of tables (peak season) resulting in guests waiting for at least 15 minutes to be seated.

A couple of our friends arrived the next day to check in. We had initially requested for their rooms to be placed next to ours. This request was not acknowledged and to make matters worse they were placed in a room with 2 single beds instead of a King-sized bed! When I called front desk, I was informed by a certain Ms. Chong that the were no King-sized bed rooms available, she even made an inappropriate comment about my friends sleeping on the day-bed if we really wanted a King-sized bed. Upon multiple calls to front desk and having spoken to management they finally agreed to the initial request we made at 7.30pm that evening!

All in all, the appalling service by their staff had left us questioning the value behind Avillion PD's room rates. I would not recommend staying here if you are seeking 1st class value for money service at your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Unsatisfied_DK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Dickson hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3d2n here and it was the best holiday ever! If you are looking for a hotel for small kids this is the one - farm animal(rabbits, tortoise, chickens, peacocks)- monkey plucking the coconut tree - playground - kids area - beautiful beaches - kids pool with slide! The only thing is make sure you book the days on when these activities are running. Personally i love the food and it has all the variety. The staffs are all really helpful and friendly will smile and greet you when passing by - as if we re family. Love the room and bathrooms - if you get the chalets on the stilts the shower area is open aired haha! Love it. Writing this review makes me want to go back again ahh..will definitely come back with kids. Keep up the great service! Thank you our kids loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I checked in with my partner on the 29th, while my 4 friends who came from Sydney gathered at Avillion the day before us(28th). Rooms were real clean, complimented with a very nice rain shower concept inclusive of a day bed. I did not get the liberty to enjoy the view due to time spent checking in to an unfriendly receptionist. Service was really poor as they could not give me a double bed room which I wanted, instead they gave me single twin bed despite my friends who arrived a day earlier told them specifically that we wanted rooms next to each other. What blew my top was when the receptionist told me to sleep on the day bed. It's frustrating that the staffs have got attitude problem towards guests. I sincerely hope the management could improve more on their service, cos I'd like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank victorypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at one of the water chalets, can't remember the name but our chalet was the one overlooking the Spa.

Anyways... here are some points from our stay:

Plus points:
1. The pool - clean, with options for adult pool, and open 24 hours. Yeay!
2. The day bed in the water chalet was super huuuge! They even provided an extra, very, very plush blanket in the closet for guests sleeping on the daybed.
3. They use those plush pillows in the chalet. We slept very well throughout our stay.
4. The petting zoo - kids loved this very much. Don't miss the daily feeding session at 10 am!
5. The sunset - dont forget to catch the sunset from the water chalets.
6. The breakfast spread was okay. Not much to shout about but wasn't too bad either. The omelette could be improved though.

Not-so-bad point:
1. Some of their staff (at least the ones that we encountered) don't know the area well. One that we approached for direction to our chalet responded our question with "Errr.. I don't know, ask the counter", and another one whom we approached for the direction to the beach answered with "no, no, don't know". Hmmmm.
2. The beach was murky - probably that's because it's in Port Dickson and there is no crystal blue beach in Port Dickson.
3. the aircond compressor next to the outdoor shower turned the shower area into a sauna. Very hot.

Can't think of any other bad points.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we went to Avillion child free for a wedding.
our first Asian holiday as a couple.
loved the luxury of the resort and the cleanliness and well groomed gardens was lovely.
It was novel to have the day bed for reading when it rained and was bit exotic been on the water
the water was a bit of a surprise but this is the Malacca Straits not Fiji
service was slow but the waitstaff friendly and respectful

Room Tip: over the water is bit exotic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,177 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 36 in Port Dickson
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#10 of 36 in Port Dickson
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#13 of 36 in Port Dickson
122 reviews
3.3 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 36 in Port Dickson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Property: Avillion Port Dickson
Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing