We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty grand afterall..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Frankly, I have not heard much about this resort eversince it began operations 4 years ago. Out of curiosity, my wife & I decided to book a night's stay in their Deluxe Pool Villa.

The resort houses a variety of Villa's, with or without a private dipping pool and on land or on water, depending on how much you are willing to part with for your accommodation. Do take note that there are 2 hotels side by side under the same management (Lexis & Grand Lexis) so be sure to head to the correct entrance.

First impression - The resort looks good from the outside with nicely laid out villas, some within plain sight and some privately stashed away. This resort does seem to look & feel the part of a 5 star resort from the exterior.

Check in was unfortunately disappointing. We had to wait from 2pm (standard check in time for most hotels/resorts) all the way till 4pm before we were given the keys to our Villa. To top it off, the lobby area was small & could not cater to the huge crowd of people waiting to be checked in. Many were standing for more than an hour with heads hanging low & possibly with broken spirit while others could only stand outside of the lobby. This is the single worst and annoyingly long check in ordeal I have ever gone through. My best guess would be likely due to under-staffed housekeeping or sheer overwhelmed bookings, but either ways, they need massive improvement & pronto!

We got out keys (finally) at a tad before 4 and was ushered to a waiting buggy which brought us on a scenic journey to our Villa. The Villa was generous in size & is pretty well equipped. The dipping pool was clean & well maintained. As this is a private pool, pool towels are provided in the room. The toilet had a dry & wet area (shower) and both can be opened up to the view of the pool if required. The bedding was plush & comfy & you have a small seating area stashed around the corner. One tiny thing that annoyed us a bit was the frog statue spitting water into the pool which we didn't know how to switch it off. So the noise from that can be heard quite significantly from the bedroom. Other than that, you get what you pay for. And if you do not wish to lug your own heavy luggage on check out day, you can always dial for the Porter service and they will send the buggy to your doorstep.

All outdoor fun & games (Ie. Archery, cycles, segway) are available upon request at the main reception building. Also housed in this building are the eateries, lounge, karaoke, spa & family or kids entertainment centre. One can really spend a full day in the resort.

We both caught up with some drinks at the lounge after dinner and it was cozy & service was prompt and above expectation. Next day we had our breakfast which came with the Villa and must say that the spread was pretty good. Overall, our stay here was lovely & would definitely plan a second stay again when possible & hopefully they will not make us wait 2 hours to check in again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful! The service are good and room is comfortable. But the security will need to improve. Even outsider could just drive in and park inside the hotel parking then access to the hotel room easily.
The towel are mostly dirty. And we found dirt under the quilt cover.
Overall the hotel is GREAT! My children and I enjoy the stay so much.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdeNgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Check in was very fast and smooth...
Was suprised that d deluxe pool room 2007 was big and spacious.loved our very own open air pool.i felt like i was in Bali with the stone carving outside with the whole deco n concept of room felt very bali-ish n relaxing.Bed was huge n comfy.Room was equipped with microwave which was really useful... wifi in our room kept logging out n called frontdesk for many hrs but no pick up.so we tapped into our neighbours wifi n it worked well. Food was simple but nice...Food was expensive n not much variety for room service therefore..i will bring my own food the next time..cos i dont have any transport to go out n buy food..The games room was great n kept us occupied. The staff at the restaurant was so friendly especially the male waiters..Made us feel warm n welcomed. Overall it was a really fantastic and relaxing holiday.perfect for couples n family.. Would love to stay here again if i had the chance to.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelicfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with 2 pre-teens, enjoying very much during our stay. It's quite a surprise to get good wifi, pool is clean. Beds are big, clean and very comfortable. Probably we went during non-peak days, we get good service, check-in was quick and big public pool is great too.
Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVicSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Check in is as what others have mentioned, the queue was long and chaotic. They told us that we would get our room by 4pm but it was more like after 5pm. they compensated with free drinks and snacks at the bar, but would have rather be at our rooms earlier. Saw a lot of angry people during check-in.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Parts of it were worn, but acceptable as these things are built by the sea and anyone who is familiar with the sea will know that the salty sea environment is harsh. On our 2nd day we had some creepy crawlies in the room but was solved by the friendly staff from housekeeping.
Breakfast spread was good, however service could have been a little better with the replenishments of cutleries and refilling of beverages (coffee in particular).
Staff were friendly and helpful, but they lacked the knowledge of their own services and products as we kept getting different information about their services and timings.
My opinion; that there should be more activities for younger children (6yrs old and below), but then this is just a suggestion, as I had difficult time finding suitable equipment / activity for this age group among the activities available at the hotel.
I would certainly stay here again as it had a nice private pool where we could really relax and be ourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ogopogo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was given a one night trip to Grand Lexis as a surprise birthday gift. Check in was quick, even though the queue was horribly long. The room we got was huge (with 2 double beds) for the 2 of us. There's a kitchenette area, an exercise bicycle (huh?) and best of all, a private swimming pool. The pool was a small one, but perfect for 2 persons to chill out. We didn't sample any of the food at the hotel, so I can't comment on the F&B. It's a nice resort, good for a short getaway, although I could already see the wear and tear at various parts of the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had an office offsite last week, and stayed here for 2 nights. It was also my first trip to visit Malay.

First of all, Port Dickson area is far from beautiful. It is an old town in coastal area with no beautiful beaches at all, about 1h from KLIA or 1.5h from KL City. So, for those who have not been here, do manage your expectation. Perhaps because I come from Indonesia, and some of under-developed areas in Indonesia are still even more beautiful than Port Dickson.

Now about the Hotel. It's an old resort that have had a major revamp and then was re-launched in 2011. I would say it's a nice hotel, although the green coloured touch on its interior is totally tasteless. I can see that the owner would like to create a Balinese atmostphere within the resort, but seriously it does not really work.

The Villas are nice, built above the water, jutting into the sea, very spacious with 2 king size beds, comfortable pantry, shower+toilet, and private swimming pool, air con, flat TV, safe box, and other modern equipments. One thing is, eventhough all villas are built above the seal water, they are all high wall covered, so the essence of staying above the water are missing.

About staffs and services, I would give low rating on this. No smiling, not so helpful... If I were the Owner, I would absolutely send them all to several training on how to serve guess and tourists....or might as well fire them all..!!

On F&B section, I personally think they are doing well. I did enjoy the variety of foods, fruits, cakes, and fresh juices in its Duyung Resto.

Playground areas for kids are quite good. The pool is rather small, but more than sufficient for kids. There are also several other games and outdoor activities within the site. Your kids will enjoy staying here, for sure.

If you visit its website, they say it's a "5 stars resort"... but pleeeaase... you are undermining the taste of Malay people.... it's not even a 4 star laaaa...!!! I would probably still agree to rate this Resort as "4 stars" (although honestly its just a 3+")...

Overal, its a GOOD place for family vacation.... abosolutely above "average", but slightly below "very good"... So, I prefer giving this place an "average rating" to encourage the Resort Management to improve their services.

It will not become my favourite place for vacation, but I also have no issue to come back someday...it's a good resort.

Room Tip: Choose the Sea View Villa... they have a balcon, and you can see the sea from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irlan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,494 reviews
0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
535 reviews
6.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
9 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
10.9 mi away
PRIMALAND Port Dickson Resort & Convention Centre (PRCC)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lexis Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lexis Port Dickson

Address: Batu 2, Jalan Seremban, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia (Formerly Legend International Water Homes)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $160 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lexis Port Dickson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lexis Port Dickson is a resort styled sanctuary offering unparalleled superior surroundings with private individual pools amidst landscaped gardens in every room. It boasts exclusivity and mystical charms within its ecological surroundings. Grand Lexis is accessible via the north-south Expressway and the Port Dickson-Seremban Highway, and the average travelling time from the city of Kuala Lumpur to Port Dickson takes approximately 75 minutes. Located near Lukut Town, Grand Lexis is just 2 kilometres to Port Dickson Town and is easily connected to the places of interest such as Lukut Fort and Museum, Teluk Kemang Beach and Sungai Linggi Firefly Sanctuary. This luxurious 5-Star resort in Port Dickson features an exceptional collection of well appointed Balinese-inspired villas linked by spacious boardwalks that command a majestic view of the open sea. Grand Lexis offers luxurious accommodation with 317 spacious villas that are equipped with modern amenities such as air-conditioner, flat screen TV, in room safe and telephone. Each villa has a private pool. Grand Lexis Port Dickson offers dining options which serve delicious local and international cuisine at its Duyung Restaurant and Genn Japanese Restaurant. For those who prefer an informal place to meet, there is the Lanun Bar or Pool Cafe, which serve a variety of drinks and hot beverages. Mixing business with leisure, Grand Lexis provides facilities for convention and meetings where the Ballroom and Function Rooms can cater up to 450 guests and is suitable for events, conventions, seminars, wedding functions and meetings in Port Dickson. Take time to rejuvenate your body and soul at the hotel's Lex Spa. Be pampered in diverse selection of service such as massage, body treatment, hand and feet care, Spa facials and exclusive customized Spa program by skilled therapist. Using only all natural ingredients combined with unique treatment techniques, experience unforgettable treatment that will leave the body refreshed and reenergized. Grand Lexis, with its ideal location, amidst the sanctuary in harmony with nature, offers a peaceful environment for guests to stay and travel around Port Dickson. Nearby attractions include Tanjung Tuan Forest Reserve, Rachardo Lighthouse, Tanjung Tuan Beach and PD Ostrich Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lexis Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lexis Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing