We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the private swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Contrary to the many negative reviews that we read about the resort, we had a wonderful 3D2N stay there. I think a lot depends on the time you stay at the hotel and the rooms that you booked. Do not visit the hotel during Singapore and Malaysia school holidays because they received most bad reviews during those super peak periods.

We booked 2 sky pool villas but were "upgraded" to Grand pool villas. We arrived at 12 noon though the check in was at 3 after reading the horror reviews. We waited for about 1 and a half hours before we got our rooms. The service at the reception was average. Check in was hassle free but be prepared to wait.

The villa was clean and comfortable. The 2 king sized beds were big enough for 4 adults and 3 young children. My kids loved the pool (about 1.2m deep- I think). Pool water was warmed by the sun. There was a life bouy which the kids used. 2 pool towels were provided. Only 2 bath towels were provided even though it's a room for 4 but you can request from housekeeping. The toiletries provided were Crabtree and Evelyn - loved it. Cleanliness of the toilet was average, shower area has some mouldy tiles. The villa has an irritating door alarm which goes off every time you pull the handle but at least you know you are safe. No mossies issue when we were there.

Recreation:
There is a games room with some arcade games, 2 Wii sets, 2 table-tennis tables, table soccer, air hockey and pool table. Kids get to do some craft there too. I tried the fishing. Rented the fishing set with baits but didn't catch anything. The archery was quite fun for first timers. Make sure you buy the package vouchers at the reception because it's much cheaper. Mix & match package is a good bargain. I also tried the massage at the Spa. Good experience, nice ambiance, average massage, expensive (160RM for an hour).

Food:
The breakfast buffet was great. Good spread. I read some bad reviews about the breakfast on trip advisor and actually checked with the staff. They said that there was more variety that weekend we were there because they were catering to a company retreat for 300 pax. Lucky us.

Outside the hotel about 10 mins walk, there are a few small eateries. If you drive then you can head to the Giant hypermart at Lukut or the waterfront at Port Dickson. We also visited the night market along Jalan Pantai (Road no. 5)(before Petronas). Must Go!

We enjoyed the stay very much and would probably return.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper floor villas with the pool at roof line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hana_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Glad to know that overall, you had a comfortable stay with us. I have noted all your comments and will certainly look into them individually with the necessary teams. It pleases me greatly to know that you had such a great stay with us. Having shared your compliments with the team, high fives have been shared for creating such a memorable stay for you. Your feedback shows that we are truly on the right path as we continuously work to improve our service delivery process.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friends and I were at the Grand Lexis Port Dickson 2 weekends ago for a one night stay and had the most disappointing experience. We arrived to be informed, to our delight that we had been "upgraded" to a waterfront suite. However, the waterfront suite turned out to be a poor excuse of a suite. The poorly designed rooms leaves one with almost no view of the sea except for a small opening at the pool. For a hotel that has allegedly won the best architecture award and with a beautiful view of the waters, this is extremely baffling. The pool is enclosed within 4 walls, leaving one feeling extremely claustrophobic. The floors of the kitchenette and shower was dirty and the room smelt musty. To top it off, there were also lizards in the room. We called for housekeeping to clean up the toilet. However, even after the cleaning, there was still a stench of urine in the bathroom.

Breakfast ends at 1030am sharp daily. We attempted to head for breakfast at 1050am to find the restaurant staff clearing out the restaurant. We asked the restaurant if anything could be done for us since we missed breakfast by about 20 mins. We were then told that the only breakfast available were if we paid for it. While we understand that there is a limited window for breakfast, it would have been helpful if we were informed upon check in about the breakfast timing. We casually mentioned this to the front desk during our check-out. The front desk staff on duty was extremely nonchalant about our feedback, which only adds to our disappointment.

My friends and I felt extremely aggrieved after our weekend experience, especially since we paid a good MYR800 for the hotel room. You would expect quite a bit from such a price. For anyone looking to visit Port Dickson, please stay at the Avillion, which is a much more pleasant resort for just a little more in price.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank RachelLi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding our location and overall ambiance. We regret that some of these factors had inconvenienced you during your stay and thus made it less memorable than was expected. You will be glad to know that we have addressed these issues with the respective Departments and that there will be improvements in the areas you had mentioned.

The Resort has and always will ensure that the well being of our guests remain our utmost priority, and we would once again like to assure you that our commitment to quality hospitality service standards remains paramount at all times. These feedbacks have helped us tremendously in ensuring they are rectified with the respective departments and improvements are in place to nullify these shortcomings. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Therer are signage to the road leading to the hotel, which is great. Checkin is smooth, and there are buggy sending us right to our unit. Having teens with us, the first thing they are concerned is the Internet access from our room; which did not work. We called the reception many times for 2 days, it was only on the 2nd night the technician decide to turn up to fix it.

The breakfast buffet is not impressive, only the cooking station saves the day. We were seated near the poolside, there is only 1 staff clearing the 15 tables most of the time, so it takes awhile to get our cutlery and a clean table.

The room unit we booked is supposed to be sea view, but all we see of the 'sea' is just a square glassed peep hole on our room floor, staring at murky water. Only when I step on the toilet seat to look out the window, then I managed to catch the sea view, haha.

The private pool within our room unit is great, but of course small. There is a frog ornament spewing a jet of water into the pool, which adds to the resort feel, but gets noisy at night when we are trying to sleep. So we turn the froggy at an angle to dent the flow, it works to cut the noise.

The coffee making supplies in the pantry has a good stock on tea but only 1 type of coffee, which is alright I guess. There is a microwave oven, utensils, dish washing, pretty complete. The pantry leads to hand wash basin area leads to the toilet unit and shower unit. The pantry and basin area has wooden fan fold window that can be open to step direct out to the private pool.

The 2 king size bed is firm and 2 pillow of diff softness for each person is a well appreciated touch. There is a fan in addition to the air con, which is good when you just come back to the room after a hot day out.

The room certainly has a resort feel and is well stocked, overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank dotnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback concerning your recent stay with us. First of all, please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you had experienced whilst staying with us. I can assure you that it is not the service standards for which we aspire to provide to our guests.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the shortfalls in service delivery of our Associates and your feedback is valuable and will help us to address issues. I have shared your constructive feedback with the respective Department in regards of the Internet problem for their immediate review and re-training. Please be rest assured that counselling will be conducted for our Technicians Associates to be more tactful and improve the service delivery towards guests.

We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. We will definitely bring this review to attention with our leadership team and on behalf of the team, we do express our regrets for your disappointments. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Lexis Port Dickson once again, and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and make it right for your next stay.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good Hotel. Good Location. Good staffs from check-in to the security guards. Friendly and ever smiling.

Memorable stay with my family. Room is big and spacious. Only complain is the water too cold. Other than that everything there was what you expected to enjoy in a holiday.

Well done guys, you made my 4hours drive up there total worthy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your splendid review and your confidence in the Grand Lexis Port Dickson. It is wonderful to hear that you have nothing but compliments for your stay with us. We are heartened that the experience and accompanying benefits have exceeded your expectations. Also, your valuable feedbacks will definitely help us in ensuring they are rectified with the respective departments and improvements are in place to nullify these shortcomings. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to PD and this time we choose to stay in Grand Lexis because it has a private pool in all its villas. We were being upgraded from deluxe suite to a grand garden pool villa and it was very much bigger than we expect. The main reason why we opt for deluxe suite because we want more sun shine. We had consulted the hotel staff had they had recommeded to us. And we had a great surprise that they had upgraded our rooms and since we wanted the sunray, they put us on the upper deck. We had spent so much time in the room watching kids favorite disney channel and pool play with the sun shining right on us. The room is very comfortable for a family of 4 and kids can roam around freely. We were too lazy to step of the room and order for room service most of our meals. The service was fast we only waited for 30mins or so for the food to be sent right to our door step. The staffs were very helpful and response to our request quick. The only setback was that the bicycle for kids were under repair and kids were kind of disappointed. But other than that we had enjoyed ourselves very much. Thank you very much for the kind hospitality. You are great, staff of Grand Lexis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thamfelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing us Grand Lexis Port Dickson as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Port Dickson.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. Your generous comments will be passed on to our associates as this would further spur them on in providing excellent guest services. We are pleased to note that you and your family have had a great time at our Resort.

Thank you once again for your kind patronage as we look forward to be of service to you and your family again in the not too distant future.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we checked in at 2pm, room wasn't available but that was reasonable. Person at the front desk agreed to call when room is ready but it didn't happen. I had to go back to front desk, and we got a room by 3pm. That set a slightly lower bar for the customer-serving-standard, and we observed that throughout our stay - 3D2N.

I specifically chose 'deluxe suite' for the 'in-room pool'. However, that was a disappointment. It wasn't well lit (no sunlight or lighting), made of dark tiles and had a "ghostly look" (as my 9 year old daughter described it).

We visit Malaysian hotels very often, and expensive hotels normally allow a 9 year old to join breakfast with paid-parents without an extra charge. This wasn't one of those places. I had to pay extra RM22 for the bowl of cornflakes she had.

When I asked the person at the bell-desk whether there is a beach access, he didn't have a straight answer (which was surprising). He started calling two other people and having a big-discussion in Tamil trying to decide what to say. Finally, I left without waiting for their conclusion. I found through the map that beach access was about 8km away.

Those were the bad, but there were many good things:

Breakfast was very good with many varieties and a large seating area to handle large crowd. Food quality and price in restaurant was reasonable.

Room quality was very good (except for the in-room pool) including clean towels. Good quality bathroom fittings gave the idea that it is not a 'cheap hotel' by nature. TV programs were adequate to keep a 9 year old occupied for two days.

Outdoor swimming pool was good except water wasn't perfectly clear. In 4 feet deep water, bottom could not be seen well, while swimming.

There were some outdoor activities advertised including bicycle rental but we didn't use them.

WiFi access was great. It appears that our unit had its own access point, which is rare in Malaysian standard.

At the moment, I do not plan to visit here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bandu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandlexispd, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time and effort in writing this review, really appreciate it. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Grand Lexis Port Dickson.

In regards with the inconvenience you faced during your check in, please accept our humble apologies. Due to our high occupancy on the day you have checked in, our staffs were really doing the best to deliver the best service they can in such short time they had. We take serious measurements especially when it comes to high level of customer service in our hotel and we will ensure the same issue will not repeat again on your next visit.

As for your encounter during breakfast, it is with deep regrets to hear that you were asked to pay for your additional charges. However, this has been a practise and it is also our hotel policy to charge for any additional person or guest.

Welcoming our guests with our sincere “Salam Sejahtera” Grand Lexis Port Dickson’s greetings by placing our right hand on our chest, with a sincere smile, has been the main key motivation for us to deliver the best service to our guests. Yes, we do it with full sincerity.

Please accept our humble apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel. Your review has been very helpful for us to improve on our quality service and we look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went here for our anniversary celebration and my, was I a happy wife! Rom was full of rose petals and a bouquet, plus a nice chocolate cake! The service was up to my expectation and facilities were in good condition. But what amazes me most is the staff's apparent effort to do their best to accomodate the guests. Despite the heavy crowd and rain during the breakfast buffet, the hotel put in every effort they can to ensure that guests are attended to soonest possible. They kept their calm and work harmoniously together.
The room was also very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HabibahMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally W, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lexis Port Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Lexis Port Dickson as your preferred accomodation. We’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments and will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
4 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,494 reviews
0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
535 reviews
6.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
9 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
10.9 mi away
PRIMALAND Port Dickson Resort & Convention Centre (PRCC)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lexis Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lexis Port Dickson

Address: Batu 2, Jalan Seremban, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia (Formerly Legend International Water Homes)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $159 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lexis Port Dickson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lexis Port Dickson is a resort styled sanctuary offering unparalleled superior surroundings with private individual pools amidst landscaped gardens in every room. It boasts exclusivity and mystical charms within its ecological surroundings. Grand Lexis is accessible via the north-south Expressway and the Port Dickson-Seremban Highway, and the average travelling time from the city of Kuala Lumpur to Port Dickson takes approximately 75 minutes. Located near Lukut Town, Grand Lexis is just 2 kilometres to Port Dickson Town and is easily connected to the places of interest such as Lukut Fort and Museum, Teluk Kemang Beach and Sungai Linggi Firefly Sanctuary. This luxurious 5-Star resort in Port Dickson features an exceptional collection of well appointed Balinese-inspired villas linked by spacious boardwalks that command a majestic view of the open sea. Grand Lexis offers luxurious accommodation with 317 spacious villas that are equipped with modern amenities such as air-conditioner, flat screen TV, in room safe and telephone. Each villa has a private pool. Grand Lexis Port Dickson offers dining options which serve delicious local and international cuisine at its Duyung Restaurant and Genn Japanese Restaurant. For those who prefer an informal place to meet, there is the Lanun Bar or Pool Cafe, which serve a variety of drinks and hot beverages. Mixing business with leisure, Grand Lexis provides facilities for convention and meetings where the Ballroom and Function Rooms can cater up to 450 guests and is suitable for events, conventions, seminars, wedding functions and meetings in Port Dickson. Take time to rejuvenate your body and soul at the hotel's Lex Spa. Be pampered in diverse selection of service such as massage, body treatment, hand and feet care, Spa facials and exclusive customized Spa program by skilled therapist. Using only all natural ingredients combined with unique treatment techniques, experience unforgettable treatment that will leave the body refreshed and reenergized. Grand Lexis, with its ideal location, amidst the sanctuary in harmony with nature, offers a peaceful environment for guests to stay and travel around Port Dickson. Nearby attractions include Tanjung Tuan Forest Reserve, Rachardo Lighthouse, Tanjung Tuan Beach and PD Ostrich Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lexis Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lexis Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing