We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable If You Manage Your Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lexis Port Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable If You Manage Your Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Purely from my observations, this hotel has a distinct business model. Mass luxury for the local middle-classes. What this means is that it has the basic trimmings of a luxury hotel at its surface, but it does not operate like one. Instead it has certain policies that make it ideal for large families on a budget.

For example, their rooms are large and the hotel is famous for its exclusive pools. Spacious, comfortably furnished with quality sheets and relatively generous with amenities that are more than enough for four guests to enjoy themselves quietly. However - this hotel does not place a cap on the number of people you can have in a room. Therefore, on peak seasons you will find the entire institution flooded with people who wish to cram their entire families and household goods in there. So if you are seeking a reclusive holiday in contemplation and basking in nature - you will not enjoy this nor will you get what you are looking for. If you are a family man with seven children but want above-average comfort, you will find yourself pleasantly surprised.

I'd like to stress here it is NOT cheap here. Room rates and room service, as well as the spa, rival KL restaurant prices with dubious quality (I've only sampled the complimentary breakfast, which was very generous). However, it is high value for money if you're trying to please a big family.

If you're not a Malaysian I highly recommend you look elsewhere for a quiet beach holiday. In peak seasons you will not have quiet, nor will you have much of a beach to enjoy. For the average Malaysian however, who enjoy travelling in droves, eating out to roadside restaurants or cooking for yourself indoors (which the management are happy to turn a blind eye to) this is ideal. For those renting chalets, you can even do some lazy fishing from your porches in the evenings when the tide has come in.

So the Grand Lexis satisfies a specific niche (especially in peak seasons). If you are under the specific circumstances I've mentioned you'll enjoy it. If your'e fussy, seeking quiet and time away from hoi-polloi you will find it all very grim. If you're seeking class try the Lone Pine in Penang and if you want class and great beaches there's plenty to choose from elsewhere.

Otherwise, I give kudos to an enthusiastic and friendly staff - their housekeeping, especially are very efficient despite the strenuous circumstances they are under. Cleanliness was retained (I'm grateful for that) and all these touches made my long weekend very tolerable. Would I come again? If it's a very off-season and there's only one other person with me.

Room Tip: It's not about the room, but the best season to stay here. The Chalets with in-door pools are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katscan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    439
    179
    56
    37
See reviews for
541
179
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I havent actually stay in this hotel yet but it has already given me a very poor impression even before I managed to book my hotel.

I've tried to ring this hotel (PD office) for more than 10 times within 3 days and no one answer my call from the room reservation dept. For the very last time, it was answered.

The person wasn't very helpful at all and she couldn't speak very good English, so I was transferred to another lady. I was hoping to know more about the promotions available but all I can sensed was she was really impatient and wanting to hang up my phone.

From the very beginning I was quite impressed with the hotel and decided to spend my Xmas holidays here with my friends for a few nights. Now? I've decided to go somewhere else because I don't think I'll get any better customer service if from the very beginning the hotel can't satisfy me even before booking. I am quite disappointed.

I hope the management can look at all these feedbacks and improve on their customer service. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fun2_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Checked in with a couple of freinds in March 2012.
Stayed at the Sky Pool Grand Villa
The place was amaizing, its really huge with 2 seperate rooms and ample amount of space
The pool was great too
Service could have been better, but no real complains
Breakfast spread should be improved in my opinion
On the overall, great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_Chalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have always wanted to stay here after reading about the in-room private pools. Booking directly with this hotel is managed through a 3rd party and that didn't give me a good impression right from the start because the booking agent cannot get your name right despite best efforts from the customer. For example, you say "S" for Singapore and they still spelled it "F".

I arrived at 1.45pm and was told my room was only available at 2.30-3.00pm. This is alright normally but I saw people checking out at 2pm which was a bit annoying. When I asked if I can also check out at 2pm, they said No.

The hotel staff in general are not very knowledgeable about their hotel. I get different answers from different people.

If you read my reviews, I am usually easy to please but this hotel is a bit disappointing.

I booked an executive pool villa

Good points:
The in-room pool was clean though a bit too heavily chlorinated.
It was cool to be staying on a room above the sea with a little glass window to peak at the water.
2 king sized beds and good comfortable mattresses
Buggy service was prompt
Staff are courteous despite seeming clueless at time

Points to note:
Pool fountain is centrally controlled. It can be noisy if you want to sleep in the afternoon.
Executive water villa does not have a window facing the sea except at the toilets/end of the pool

Bad points:
The room was not well maintained. Some doors and cabinets need to be fixed
Room was not cleaned properly
Breakfast spread is too localized. Not enough international fare

In summary;
Do not let the room rate deceive you that this is a luxury hotel. It is not.
The rate is high because the rooms are large, there is a mini pool in your room and you are staying above the waters of the Straits of Malacca.
It is officially rated 4 stars but I think it is more of a 3 star hotel.

You pay 5 star rates to stay in a 3 star hotel with rooms above water and a private pool.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room further out in the sea. Further to walk but quieter and during low tide, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good points : in-villa pool , good for families . Spacious room with 2 king-sized beds, dry kitchenette (microwave, sink ,2 bowls/plates but no dish detergent, and only a tiny minibar fridge ).
No sea-view , and just murky water through the in-floor glass panel.

Not-so-good : place was overrun by noisy young kids and large company groups , so it really isn't a choice for rest & relaxation . Very limited seating in lobby , and check-in/out can be chaotic. No assistance even offered , with bags, at time of check-in- just handed the room key and left to our own devices to locate the room and lug our own bags .
All in - would not consider it value for money .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superdin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

my 1st and 2nd stay has been reasuring however the adequacy of it's a-ar doors in the bath rooms and pool doors needs fixing. The drainange pipes from the bathrooms need futher maintanance plumbing without reports from the guest as this are essential for any hotel management

Room Tip: take the infinity pool , it's HEAVENLLY BEAUTIFULL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zayree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nites for business Trip. Arrived to hotel on late Friday night. Realized that no iron in my room. Called house keeping at 1140pm for iron. Reply from them, they are run out of iron. What...? My meeting start 8am next day. I insist I need one. they said nothing can be done and need to check...By 1210, someone send me iron with iron board using bicycle. But inform me that I only entitle for 30min. This is how 5 star hotel treat customer?

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
0.1 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
4.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Spa Hotel
Paradise Spa Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ilham Resort Port Dickson
Ilham Resort Port Dickson
#9 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
7.3 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lexis Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lexis Port Dickson

Property: Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Address: 2nd Mile, Jalan Seremban, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia (Formerly Legend International Water Homes)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lexis Port Dickson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lexis Port Dickson is a resort styled sanctuary offering unparallel superior surroundings with private individual pools amidst landscaped gardens in every room. It boasts exclusivity and mystical charms within its ecological surroundings. Grand Lexis is accessible via the north-south Expressway and the Port Dickson-Seremban Highway, and the average travelling time from the city of Kuala Lumpur to Port Dickson takes approximately 75 minutes. Located near Lukut Town, Grand Lexis is just 2 kilometres to Port Dickson Town and is easily connected to the places of interest such as Lukut Fort and Museum, Teluk Kemang Beach and Sungai Linggi Firefly Sanctuary. This luxurious 5-Star resort in Port Dickson features an exceptional collection of well appointed Balinese-inspired villas linked by spacious boardwalks that command a majestic view of the open sea. Grand Lexis offers luxurious accommodation with 317 spacious villas that are equipped with modern amenities such as air-conditioner, flat screen TV, in room safe and telephone. Each villa has a private pool. Grand Lexis Port Dickson offers dining options which serve delicious local and international cuisine at its Duyung Restaurant and Genn Japanese Restaurant. For those who prefer an informal place to meet, there is the Lanun Bar or Pool Cafe, which serve a variety of drinks and hot beverages. Mixing business with leisure, Grand Lexis provides facilities for convention and meetings where the Ballroom and Function Rooms can cater up to 450 guests and is suitable for events, conventions, seminars, wedding functions and meetings in Port Dickson. Take time to rejuvenate your body and soul at the hotel's Lex Spa. Be pampered in diverse selection of service such as massage, body treatment, hand and feet care, Spa facials and exclusive customized Spa program by skilled therapist. Using only all natural ingredients combined with unique treatment techniques, experience unforgettable treatment that will leave the body refreshed and reenergized. Grand Lexis, with its ideal location, amidst the sanctuary in harmony with nature, offers a peaceful environment for guests to stay and travel around Port Dickson. Nearby attractions include Tanjung Tuan Forest Reserve, Rachardo Lighthouse, Tanjung Tuan Beach and PD Ostrich Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Lexis Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lexis Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing