We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cozzi Hotel(Port Dickson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Resort(Port Dickson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveler rating
376
557
273
113
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
557
273
113
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslego roomfresh restaurantbeach barchinese restaurantinfinity poolhole golf coursejet skihuge poolprivate beachbanana boatgarden viewwater sportsplay roomsand artkaraoke roomdeluxe roomtable tennis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,294 - 1,299 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel has a very large plot of lawn which is really nice for having kids to run around and flying kite. The swimming pool is quite big and there is also a small playground for children.
The room is very "new" and quite big.
FOR:-
a) Nice environment, everything seems new.
b) Nice lobby lounge
c) The place is big
d) Friendly staff

AGAINST:-
a) Buffet breakfast spread could be better, basically the hotel offers only very basic types of choices, which are considered OK, but definitely not "5-star" choices.
b) Seems to be a lot of flies in the restaurant...
c) ...and mosquitoes in the room

Overall I'd say it a nice place to be for vacation in Port Dickson especially with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfaromeo8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Spent a one night weekend stay at Thistle PD with my hubby and 2 young children (3yo & 1.5yo). I chose Thistle PD after some research on the net as well as on TA. They are running the Ramadhan promotion at the moment and we got a pretty good deal. We paid RM 270nett for a twin sharing room with welcome drink at Steps (their lobby lounge), buffet breakfast and 20% discount on any meal purchased.

We arrived at about 12.30pm and we already like the place. The lobby was bright and airy and the view out to the sea and the pool was breath-taking. Not to our surprise, our room was not ready when I check-in. And I asked for a King size bed and the request was granted. We decided to head to the pool while waiting for our room.

The pool was HUGE and deep. Starting from 1.8m until 2.5m. There were a smaller pool, a children wading pool with slide and another deeper pool with a bigger slide. There's also a life guard on standby due to the depth of the pool. The pool bar was a good idea for some quick light snack after spending some time in the water and the prices were pretty reasonable.

There's a Kids Club, a movie room, a kiosk, a mini library, an italian restaurant (Glass), a coffee house (Fresh) and a chinese restaurant. Quite well equipped with many facilities around.

We went up to the reception to ask for our room after some time and were told that our room was not ready still. But the front desk staff quickly resolved our problem by giving us a sea facing room (but with twin bed) to us. Not a problem for us since our kids were quite tired by then.

Our room located at 3rd floor and it was a decent sized room. The twin beds were big enough and we just moved the beds together. There's a daybed by the window and our balcony was facing the pool and the sea. We asked for a baby cot and there were plenty of room to move around still.

The features in the room were quite new, with a 32inch LCD TV, coffee and tea making facility and some basic toiletries. The bathroom was spacious enough with a shower area but no bath tub.

The pool has a direct access to the beach and the CUMULUS was situated next to the beach. There's an infinity pool (adult only) and the Spa was temporarily located there as there were some soft refurbishment going on in the hotel (but was not affected by it).

The sea at PD is fine for dipping but not so if you want to go for a swim. On the evening, it was quite relaxing taking a stroll on the beach and for the children to play with the sand.On day time, the high tide and the waves were pretty strong.

We had our dinner (buffet) at their coffee house "Fresh" and were quite satisfied with the quality of the food. We were quite surprised with the amount of choices of the food. It was not too crowded even though it coincided with the break fast time for the Muslim ans\d the service was good. But one thing which I was not comfortable when we were there for our meals (breakfast as well) - the HOUSE FLIES!!! They were everywhere and I really dont know how they got into the restaurant.

The breakfast spread was pretty normal but taste wise OK. We asked for a late check out and was granted until 1pm. Check out was smooth and there's no mistake in the billing. All the staff were quite well mannered and helpful. But one BIG minus thing, no free wifi, not even in the lobby but were informed that they are going to do so in the near future.

Would definitely recommend this place to others when visiting PD.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferien_messenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This wonderful friendly hotel is a delight in Port Dickson. Their Director Sales Michelle is ever so accomodating !!! Michael who is in charge of all the activities is constantly around encouraging you to try some sports at his SWAT area !!! Its fun...
The ambience is superb, the beach is unspoilt and the food is delicious !!! great way to be introduced to typical Malaysian cuisine.. it is very different yet amazingly tasty ...especially if you can palate spicy food.
Definitely recommended ...stay minimum 3 nights ...its worth it !!!!
Drive to Malaka for a day trip ...

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I spent at Thistle (Deluxe King seaview room) for 1 night alone for weekend gateway. I had very mixed reviews about this hotel...

pros:
The lobby is impressive (the first impression is very important)
Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Nice room concept.
Very comfy king-size bed.
Toilet was big but the bathtub looks kinda old....
Huge swimming pool and a fun children's pool. A bar at the corner of the pool so that you could enjoy your cocktail drinks by or in the pool.

cons:
Slow check-in/out
Very noisy at night - the noise from the band performing at the Cumulus bar till 1am could clearly be heard inside the room!
Can even heard trolley moving around the coridor.
And also people talking from the next room, grrr!!!!
The breakfast spread was a total dissappointment.
Encountering flies during breakfast which was quite annoying.
No free wifi...

Overall I enjoyed my stay..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alina6240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is set in some great gardens, and the beach is ok (but the water no good for swimming), but thats about as good as it gets.

The hotel boasts a big electronic board saying that its now been open 382 days... I dont think so Thistle, the place is old and shabby and falling apart!

There is pretty much nothing to do here, which is great if you like to sit in your chair and drool. Although there is a Pizza Hut 15km away.

So, on arrival and being greeted by a sneering receptionist I booked into a "Deluxe" room (ha ha!) which to be honest I wouldnt put my dog in, so I requested an upgrade and had to pay the 70++ additional.

The next room was nice enough but kept us awake all night because of a broken toilet systern that made a right noise all night long, and still is by the way.

I complained to the staff this morning, not even a sniff of an apology by the way, but they have changed my room to the room next door (lets hope nobody moves into the old room or we will be awake all night again Im sure!).

Overall the hotel is let down by its shabbiness and poor service, but then again thats typical Malaysian attitude, why should they care?

Im considering checking out early and going back home to KL today...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTTT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews