We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more from the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Port Dickson
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expected more from the hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night on the way back from Kuala Lumpur and from the rave reviews, was excited about the stay. My experience was average at best.

ROOM
[PROS] Spacious with comfortable bed. LCD TV with phone and pay-to-use wired broadband access. Bathroom is a good size, clean with roomy shower stall. No bathtub for my garden view room. Not sure if this applies to other room types.

[CONS] Dirty towel left hanging at the back of the toilet door. Power of the shower was average, water was not as hot as it should be. The shower head was broken and crudely fixed with a wad of toilet paper. The is no safe in the room.

FOOD
[PROS] Room service was excellent. Had local fare - nasi goreng and char kway teow.

[CONS] Breakfast spread was unimpressive and the food was not being re-filled quickly enough. The breakfast area was fly-infested and staff looked overwhelmed with the crowd.They did not have time to clean the tables and floors properly. I had to look at a pile of sick on the floor throughout my breakfast.

HOTEL EXTERIOR/ FACILITIES
Nothing really negative to say about the hotel exterior. It was well-renovated and surrounded by great landscape. There's an exercise route which by bypasses a rather rundown looking corporate training area. The beach is small but sufficient and offers a variety of water sports. There are 2 pools, one massive one with facilities for children and another more adult infinity lap pool. There are 5 eating places, a gym, spa and parking is free of charge.

STAFF
Staff are well-trained, speak well and are friendly but were especially overwhelmed in the breakfast area.

Overall I do not think I would return of my own volition to this hotel. It has great potential but misses out in the small stuff and cleanliness is questionable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    512
    235
    103
    76
See reviews for
618
264
19
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Thistle resort in Port Dickson for 3 nights in the last week of May 2010. The resort is around 1-2 hours drive from Kuala Lampur and is definitely a “Must Visit”. It’s a great place to relax and just let go of the fast-paced life. Though nestled in a small town, Thistle and Port Dickson does see a fair amount of holiday traffic – more locals than tourists – giving a different feel to the place. The resort itself is quite good and service is warm and encouraging. In fact, we were upgraded to the Suite on the last night of our stay from the deluxe room due to shortage of rooms. Rooms are cozy and quite romantic also. The sit-outs they have inside the rooms itself is very quaint. The flooring in the rooms could do with an improvement though.
The resort also has a host of facilities and is a great kid-friendly place. You have a play room for kids loaded with toys and goodies, kiddie’s pool with slides, a large room for kids to watch movies with bean-bags and toys all around, even an outdoor play area. There is also a reading room for people to spend some quality time. The resort has an evening lounge / bar that plays good music called Cumulus. There are working on a golf course that should also come up in some time. There is lot of greenery around and one can take nice walks around the place though mosquitoes in the evening could be a handful. The gym is also reasonably equipped though spa services are average. Food is okay and we eat a lot of our meals at the number of different restaurants / small eateries around the hotel – for non-vegetarians it is heaven – apart from the usual meat suspects you get deer, ostrich, wild boar, frogs and what-not.
You won’t have too much of sightseeing to do here – just a mini zoo and ostrich farm – though the day-time can be pretty hot to roam around outdoors. There is a good flea market nearby on the beach selling all sorts of stuff from beach-wear to toys to clothes, etc – worth taking a couple of rounds. The best thing is to stay by the pool and venture our for meal-times, I defiantly recommend the place especially for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balaji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Food,our room,& the pools are all 100%. The staff and the service they provide are a credit to their management. While the food is all produced to a very high standard, I must recommend the chinese restaurant as my favourite for outstanding service and quality and flavours. A trip to the nearby Mega Restaurant provided us with the best ever Indian curry that we have ever eaten at a cost under £5. A vist to Kuala Lumpa is essential. Must see items, the chinese night market, The twin towers with its shopping mall and near by park. The whole city is alive
with an ambience we have not felt in any other city. We should have stayed more than the one night. Two or three days in Singapore is to be recommended provided you are there on a Sunday between 12 midday and 3 p.m.to take full advantage of the sunday brunch available at the Fulerton Hotel its not cheap but worth ever penny, you per book your places. Another must visit place is the Divine Bar a little known place even to the locals,here you can buy good wine and be served by a flying angle miss this at your peril. Taxi drivers tip,its across from Raffells Hospital. Air Asia provides excellent local flights at reasonable prices within Malaysia with hand luggage only,much more expensive with a suitcase.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireWacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

ROOM
-Garden View with balcony.
-very spacious. nearly 30sqm. the interior need some uplifting make over.
-the floor is hard surface tiles. small indoor pangkin daybed.
-en suite toilet but no bath tub. the shower was a bit slow. weird in-room toiletries (bath lotion, shampoo in bottle and not in miniature set)
-TV channels a bit disappointing- only 1 cartoon channel.

HOTEL
-pool facilities was brilliant. 4 swimming pools with 1 huge pool for adults, 2 pools for children and another besides the sea.
-the pool have slides for children.
-got Children Play Room.
-beach xtvts quite lively.
-parking bays is sufficient.
-training centre is available.

LOCATION
-20km from Port Dickson town centre.
-stone’s away from PD Ostrich Farm. The Farm was okie and fun filled.
-Halal Thai food and Chinese restaurants along the road.

BREAKFAST
-the spread was okie. local and western menu with vegetarian option is available.
-have a children section. baby chair from Ikea.
-the restaurant is the only place to get your baby food warmed. there is no microwave in the room.

SERVICE
due to public holiday (Wesak Day), it seems the hotel couldn’t manage well with the huge turnout. check in was after 3pm. And getting fresh towels was a survival.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I changed our stop-over plans at the last minute due to recent problems in Thailand and we were certainly not disappointed.

We had a really relaxing break here. The hotel was very nice with excellant facilities but the staff were absolutely great and restaurants were super. Steven, the restaurant manager, Bishan his deputy, Rainah from the pool bar and Bennet Paul Mowe who entertained in the hotel foyer, most evenings made our trip special.

The concierge organised a taxi for us to visit nearby Malacca where we had a super day sightseeing in this world heritage site.

Facilities include 3 pools (including one for adults only), a fitness course, a well equipped playground for children, tennis courts, golf, a gym and spa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

A hotel with lush tropical surroundings, massive lagoon-like swimming pool, plus an infiniti pool with a view and clean private beach. Rooms are comfy. Only if the check-in process is fast, then everything would be an excellent experience. Highly recommended for family retreat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

We booked the hotel from booking.com (Standard Room (Hot Deal)) a week before. The hotel is easily located, and
we arrived quite late on 27th of May. We already informed the hotel in advance, by the way... (late check in around 6 o'clock). The check-in took not more than 10 minutes, and we requested a baby-cot,extra towel, as well as extra blanket.
All items requested arrived within 15 mins time.

We stayed at room 614, (upgraded from garden view to seaview). The room was spacious and superb.
The bathroom, the 32-wide lcd tv was ok, everything was fine and meet our expectation.

We liked the room, the bathroom, the pool, and the food is okay.
We will definitely come again.
There should be some improvements during check out, which is during noon. A bit hot while waiting..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaMahayuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#9 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing