We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Visiting this place again last Dec'13 was a good idea as always, not mentioning the price was a little bit high. As a place to visit with family, Thistle Port Dickson Resort will always my choice. The 5th level room was good (clean and well maintained), and the restaurant offered great meal. They also provide space dedicated for children to play just next to restaurant, good place for kids to hang around with other kids. If you find anything below expectation of your money value, you may speak directly to their boss Mr.Asri like what i did. The boss was very helpful...

Room Tip: Get the 5th level, the sea view was great in the morning..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank budakKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were late in booking the rooms and none of the online website had rooms for this hotel and we had to book 2 rooms directly from the hotel website. When we arrived on a Saturday morning, we were told that only one of the rooms available. Bad news we thought. But it turned out that we were upgraded to a suite for the other room, which was a nice touch.

The rooms were clean and well-maintained. We had an enjoyable time at the hotel enjoying the facilities and the beach. During our stay, there were activities organized by the hotel for kids and we saw many happy little faces. The gym was under-utilized but I guess guests would probably go to the beach or golf, instead of hitting the gym (like we did).

Wondering out of the hotel for meals, we were often stuck in traffic snarls when we were passing by the town area. This is probably because we were visiting Port Dickson during the weekend. You will not get stuck in traffic if you are visiting the roti canai store or seafood restaurant near the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fire-tower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

vacation on 05.01.2014-06.01.2014.

rooms is facing in pool at level 5 is not very clean and a lot of dust in the bed area.

the bathroom is not clean and when I told the maid to clean the bathroom but the maid did not clean the bathroom. I did not like her behavior.

The jets skies, indonesia employees was rude and impolite. One of the workers said that the said worker has no permit work but acting like a boss. The said employee does not tell the complete information abort jet skies.

we did not go home with good experience because such employee indonesia. Managemant need to take action against employees indonesia so tourists do not have this kind of experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xyz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall enjoyable. Facilities were as expected and the swimming pool was good. Only problem was that i requested for a King bed yet i got 2 singles. Not what i expected. Tip: Those traveling to Thistle, make it a point to confirm and double-confirm your room preferences because it seems they just have trouble in this area. Aside from that, it was an enjoyable trip! To Thistle, if you are reading this,do invest in lighting up and providing more signage and lighted ones so guest do not have to worry missing your place. Lastly, advise to your guest that breakfast coupons can be bought. Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zaszon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Dec 2013. It is a huge laid-back family style resort but far from luxurious. It's fun for a family holiday with several swimming pools with slides for the children and ample grounds to walk. It has a decent beach but no beach activities were available. This was one of the main reasons we signed up for the package on their website, which offered activities for the children. This should have been specified on the hotel website.The ground floor had lots of activities such as table-tennis and kids games and movie room for the older kids. They had a kids club as well for the smaller kids but it did not look good at all. The activity they had planned for the kids on one of the days was a candy hunt, but it lasted barely 10 minutes so not very useful in keeping the kids occupied while parents try to relax. There is a good spa on the property and we were very satisfied with the massage. Unfortunately, service at this hotel was not the best. The service at the main restaurant was sub-standard and slow and staff not very well versed with the menu, buffet pricing etc. There was poor coordination among the staff in the main restaurant and not acceptable given the price category of this hotel. Similarly room service and service by the poolside was slow and the fried snacks we ordered tasted strange because of what tasted like reused/old oil. On one of the days, our room service took almost 2 hours to arrive. On another day, the order was wrong...chicken nuggets became fried rice. Coffee and tea at the main restaurant for breakfast and buffet dinner was self-service.. unfortunately the coffee machine was not at all in good working condition, which led to frustration amongst guests just trying to get that first cup of coffee in the morning. The rooms were spacious but are in need of a spruce up. In fact one of our rooms had lots of problems and the first day we arrived we required a lot of things to be sorted out, such as the air-conditioning not working and hooks falling down from bathroom, flush not working etc. There was a lack of the "clean" feeling, especially in the bedding. The worst thing was that the pillows were smelly and the blanket from the cupboard had a stale smell and to top it all off, my 5-year old son who slept on the day-bed woke up with a massively swollen eye and ear which the doctor confirmed was from a bug, probably a bed-bug.

Despite all the issues, my kids still had fun at the resort... it's swimming pools being the saving grace !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachMama322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We wanted to praise the good service of the hotel bell boy, the refreshing welcome drinks and the clown to entertain our son. We were unhappy as we have been told that our room was not ready despite we arrived the hotel after 3pm and have to wait for 45 minutes for it to be ready (due to rooms fully booked the day before) but the front assistant has nicely offered a late check out time for us at 4pm the next day. Thumbs up for the spacious Deluxe seaview room, comfortable bed and baby cot for our son. Our son loved the children's swimming pool as well! The children's playroom is an added point but sadly that it's poorly maintained (toys with missing pieces, the damaged wall cushion etc). The hotel should also maintain its private beach. We were really unhappy as our package comes with free 1st drink at Cumulus Bar and the front desk has confirmed that no voucher was needed however the bartender said that we must get the vouchers when we were at the bar thus my husband have to walk all the way back to the hotel to get the voucher and after giving the voucher to the bartender, he said that we could only choose non alcoholic drinks though our package stated that we could have beer or house pouring wine! Besides that we have been told by the front desk that our package did not include breakfast though it has been clearly stated on the voucher and confirmed with Arnie Yusnita via email however the front desk assistant told us off harshly that Arnie is based in Thistle Johor which was not our fault as her contact was listed on the hotel booking voucher. After complaining and resending the voucher to her, she only reluctantly issued the breakfast vouchers for us after we insisted for the vouchers as we did not want the same issue like the Cumulus Bar happened again. The hotel should have proper communication on promotions offered as it's inconvenient for hotel guests like us with young children to walk back and forth to deal with all these miscommunication!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors room so that the seaview will not be blocked by the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandysu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at the hotel on 31.12.13. We, two families, checked into room 306, 308 and 310. We were so surprised when we were given a room upgrade. The suite was beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. I just wish that I could stay here everyday! The New Year Eves buffet dinner spread at the Fresh restaurant was amazing. There was so much food and the BBQ was delicious. After that we went to Cumulus bar for the New Year countdown. All the staffs were helpful and cheerful.So much improvement from before when it was known as Guoman Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggielsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,535 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,270 reviews
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#7 of 37 in Port Dickson
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
2.2 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $78 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing