We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Relaxing but need to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Port Dickson
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and Relaxing but need to improve”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am the repeated customer of this hotel, I have made more than 10 visits to this hotel. The reason that I always choose this hotel is because of its atmosphere and its quality of service, I feel so relax to stay at this hotel. I was just back from this resort two days ago and would like to make some comments as follows:

1. Hotel rooms are good, but we found some mold and dirt on the wall tiles and basin apparently. We also found some bird's droppings at common balcony of connecting rooms.
2. The infinity swimming pool is not as clean as before, a lot of sand and leaves and tree branches were found in the pool.
3. The bath robes were not in the room, we always have to ask the staff to bring them to us.
4. The air conditioner at the room (the connecting room) we stay was not cold though the technicians came to do service and repair twice.
5. The music played at the Cumulus pub was too loud, the volume should be tuned down after 10 pm, because people started to sleep at this time especially young children.
6. the Toilet bowl at lobby and ground floor have black stains, I believe that some people stepped on the toilet bowl and it was not cleaned immediately after that. A 5-start hotel should not let this happen.

Apart from the comments, I will still come back to stay at this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: The delux rooms above 3rd floor have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatherineYap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    523
    240
    105
    79
See reviews for
631
268
19
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Expected a good and 5 star quality room but end up with average room with molds on toilets and noisy air conds ! Not really worth the price for the hotel. And Game room closes at 10pm which is too early.. it shall be opened 24hrs... Btw. they shall also provide cancellation fee returned for early cancelled stay...
Room are tiled and no carpet anyway in the room, its slippery ! Room slippers / sandals shall be provided in all room as standard since there is no carpet...

Room Tip: Room on 528 - 512 are good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevFusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stay here for 1 night, i think all the reviewer is correct the place is nice, clean, service is good. Only the bad things for me is the bed and the pillow was smelly. is not only 1 but four pillow also like that. So get them to change it, but after changed the new pillow too strong of perfume and it so hard. Make me whole night can not sleep well. We even can smell the protector but because children is sleeping so don;t border it, just use the pillow to cover it. I think this should not be happen to thistle hotel rated as 5 star. Room i stay is 262.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank limwc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had been staying here numerous times, with family for short weekend getaways, but mostly for company retreats/meetings. The Hotel is great for both purposes -spacious rooms, good selection of food, vast grounds for team-building and family activities, huge pools and good service.

Areas needing maintenance and attention would probably be the games area downstairs, and the children room too. Some items are broken and may be unsafe for the kids. Beach can be dirty depending on the tides.

The Spa is also good for some pampering and relaxing. Too bad they don't do reflexology by the beach... It would have been good to relax.

Room Tip: Always get at-least the deluxe room, sea-facing and on higher floors as it can be noisy sometimes wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a reaonably good hotel especially for those who are travelling with families.
The small resort styled pool is fun for the little ones. The beach side is good for evening leisure walk for couples. The only downside with this hotel is the price is a bit too steep as we stayed in a deluxe room and it was close to MYR 600++. Dont really see why the rates are that high but nevertheless its one of the better hotels in Port Dickson.

Noticed the furniture has aged since our last visit in 2010 and the bathroom could have been clearner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay with my family. Hotel was quite nice and definitely seems to be the best in Port Dickson. Price of the room when I stayed was quite expensive (650 myr per night) for a deluxe room, however this was mainly due to it being a holiday weekend in Malaysia. A few small issues I had with the hotel that I think could be addressed to make it even better.

• Ordered food in the beach side bar on Saturday night, after waiting over an hour for my food to arrive we had to cancel due to it getting late and the kids where very hungry. I think the service for the bar could be improved as there was not even an apology for the delay.
• Main pool was very dirty, with food, paper floating around. I did see one of the lifeguards cleaning the pool in the morning however it looked like he didn’t really have the proper equipment to be able to clean the pool in a timely manner.
• Kids pool was even worse and definitely needs to be dealt with as the water was extremely murky. Lifeguards should disallow adults from playing in the baby pool as its quite dangerous for those small kids when adult are jumping around the place.
• There was supposed to be a Weekend Fair which was advertised all over the hotel to start at 6pm on Saturday and Sunday. When we went to the garden all we could see was three small stalls which where not operational, no clown, no kids games as had been advertised. My kids where pretty disappointed with this.

As stated above, the overall experience was pretty good, however I believe they can improve as I expected a little bit more considering the amount paid for the room. Check In & Out was extremely smooth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malaysiatrulysarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. While we are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall experience, we wish to apologise for letting you down in some areas. We have gone through your feedback with our team and we will ensure that we improve in the areas outlined by yourself.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page – please let us know if we may be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

John and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When my family was there, the resort was literally filled to the brim with two team-building functions and a wedding! Even so, it didn't seem so congested as there is enough space between the various functions to make it seem like we could do our own things without stumbling over each other. Staff are very friendly and keep smiling despite the constant demands of too many guests. I really wonder how much better the place could get if they can stay so cool under pressure. Easy to get too via PD highway from KL. Also, located a little away from the crowded public beach area - which makes it really cosy and comfortable. Big plus is some off the sea activities are also free, being part of the overall stay package. And the tennis rackets and balls are provided free if you forget to bring them, like we did.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view facing rooms otherwise you end up looking out into a carpark. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLFunGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are very grateful to you for choosing Thistle and for giving us your comments. The team will be very happy with your feedback and we will continue to deliver a warm and friendly experience to our guests.

If we can be of any service in the future or if we can assist with a return visit, our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,163 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,402 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 36 in Port Dickson
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 36 in Port Dickson
789 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
3.6 mi away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#10 of 36 in Port Dickson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing