We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for family, good for company retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had been staying here numerous times, with family for short weekend getaways, but mostly for company retreats/meetings. The Hotel is great for both purposes -spacious rooms, good selection of food, vast grounds for team-building and family activities, huge pools and good service.

Areas needing maintenance and attention would probably be the games area downstairs, and the children room too. Some items are broken and may be unsafe for the kids. Beach can be dirty depending on the tides.

The Spa is also good for some pampering and relaxing. Too bad they don't do reflexology by the beach... It would have been good to relax.

Room Tip: Always get at-least the deluxe room, sea-facing and on higher floors as it can be noisy sometimes wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a reaonably good hotel especially for those who are travelling with families.
The small resort styled pool is fun for the little ones. The beach side is good for evening leisure walk for couples. The only downside with this hotel is the price is a bit too steep as we stayed in a deluxe room and it was close to MYR 600++. Dont really see why the rates are that high but nevertheless its one of the better hotels in Port Dickson.

Noticed the furniture has aged since our last visit in 2010 and the bathroom could have been clearner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radhapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay with my family. Hotel was quite nice and definitely seems to be the best in Port Dickson. Price of the room when I stayed was quite expensive (650 myr per night) for a deluxe room, however this was mainly due to it being a holiday weekend in Malaysia. A few small issues I had with the hotel that I think could be addressed to make it even better.

• Ordered food in the beach side bar on Saturday night, after waiting over an hour for my food to arrive we had to cancel due to it getting late and the kids where very hungry. I think the service for the bar could be improved as there was not even an apology for the delay.
• Main pool was very dirty, with food, paper floating around. I did see one of the lifeguards cleaning the pool in the morning however it looked like he didn’t really have the proper equipment to be able to clean the pool in a timely manner.
• Kids pool was even worse and definitely needs to be dealt with as the water was extremely murky. Lifeguards should disallow adults from playing in the baby pool as its quite dangerous for those small kids when adult are jumping around the place.
• There was supposed to be a Weekend Fair which was advertised all over the hotel to start at 6pm on Saturday and Sunday. When we went to the garden all we could see was three small stalls which where not operational, no clown, no kids games as had been advertised. My kids where pretty disappointed with this.

As stated above, the overall experience was pretty good, however I believe they can improve as I expected a little bit more considering the amount paid for the room. Check In & Out was extremely smooth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malaysiatrulysarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. While we are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall experience, we wish to apologise for letting you down in some areas. We have gone through your feedback with our team and we will ensure that we improve in the areas outlined by yourself.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page – please let us know if we may be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

John and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When my family was there, the resort was literally filled to the brim with two team-building functions and a wedding! Even so, it didn't seem so congested as there is enough space between the various functions to make it seem like we could do our own things without stumbling over each other. Staff are very friendly and keep smiling despite the constant demands of too many guests. I really wonder how much better the place could get if they can stay so cool under pressure. Easy to get too via PD highway from KL. Also, located a little away from the crowded public beach area - which makes it really cosy and comfortable. Big plus is some off the sea activities are also free, being part of the overall stay package. And the tennis rackets and balls are provided free if you forget to bring them, like we did.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view facing rooms otherwise you end up looking out into a carpark. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLFunGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are very grateful to you for choosing Thistle and for giving us your comments. The team will be very happy with your feedback and we will continue to deliver a warm and friendly experience to our guests.

If we can be of any service in the future or if we can assist with a return visit, our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Worth stay as all I can say. The staff are well trained, helpful and friendly. Quick service during check-in and check-out. Comfort, clean and spacious room with nice view facing the sea and pool (I notice there are also rooms facing the golf course). I'm impressed by all complimentary facilities the hotel provided to their guests including all water sports activities (jet ski, banana boat, boat ride and feeding fish) and entertainment (wii, movies, kids play house). The swimming pool are great for kids and adults, even their private beach is well maintained. Lots of seafood restaurant nearby the hotel (you need to have transport to get there) but the hotel itself has several choices of restaurants. Satisfying breakfast buffet. Definitely will come back again, especially for family vacation :)

Room Tip: Ask for high floors for better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummy_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort.

We are very happy to see that your stay was a pleasant one and the team are delighted that their performance has been acknowledged by you. Complimentary facilities such as water sports, golf, tennis and supervised games are part of our continuous improvement strategy. We realise that guests return again and again to Thistle so we need to create new and exciting things for people to do.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page – please let us know if we may be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Best hotel in Port Dickson, merely 1 hour drive from KL.

We stayed 3D2N in large and comfort room facing swimming pool. Nice sleep on big soft beds enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids. LCD TV and powerful aircond and shower. My wife enjoyed her time reading at the balcony facing the sea and swimming pool.

My kids enjoy very much in everything that including the free water sport - jet ski, boat ride to fish feeding, banana boat. My younger daughter enjoyed video game, kids movie, sand art, swimming, etc.

We also played tennis.

Few restaurant here - We tried buffet in western restaurant - delicious. However, i like the CHINOISE (chinese) restaurant the most - great food with reasonable price.

Overall, the atmosphere here is very relax. We enjoyed our vacation here. This is our 4th time here. We will definitely come back again. It's heaven! fantastic!

On the way back to KL, we went to Museum Tentera Darat nearby the hotel - A good place to visit too.

Room Tip: Try the water sport - It's all free at the moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSTan8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 6 nights here, and had a fab stay. The hotel and extensive grounds were clean and well attended by friendly and helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was tasty and staff attentive, with lots of choice. The swimming pool is large and sun beds well situated around it. There are activities for families and children. Jet skis, banana boat and fish feeding are also provided at their private beach.

Port Dickson itself did not have much to do, but there is a night market on a Saturday which had a good buzz. Public transport is poor, with few buses along the coast and no timetable so have to rely on taxis which the hotel arranged easily and reliably.

Room Tip: Air conditioning unit is located near to 267, and makes it noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,532 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,270 reviews
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#7 of 37 in Port Dickson
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
2.2 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range: $77 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing