We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family at Port Dickson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Port Dickson
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for family at Port Dickson”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Thistle has everything you dream off for family vacation.With its beach,nice pools,play grounds,golf course, fully equipped gym and restaurants that serve local,western and Chinese foods.Had a Chinese food set during our stays, would say that the food was delicious.The room was big enough for a family of four.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drasmunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    527
    246
    106
    82
See reviews for
639
272
21
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great hotel with big spacious and clean rooms. The pools are great and so is the beach. Buffet dinner served is so so and nothing to shout about. Good place to relax and unwind. There is a kids club for your children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel room is very big, clean and nice. We liked the facilities offer by the hotel. canoeing was very good even though the rate for jet ski is very expensive. The swimming pool is very clean and large where you can spend all day in it. Kids can play video game like Wii for free or until their heart content, also at the arcade where they can used token (cheap one). But the best of all is the spa. We tried the swedish massage and it was heavenly. The masseurs are very professional. They asked you which part of your body you want to concentrate more and how strong you want them to massage you. The set up is very good and after one hour of massage, all your stiffness just gone. You can opt for other types of massages which ever that you preferred. Fresh restaurant offers good foods. We tried western foods and find it the same standard as some big restaurant in kuala lumpur. We definitely will come and stay at thistle again.

Room Tip: always take one with the sea view because the view is very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjnash94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We checked in at 430pm and the process was fast and hassle free. Khalid from the front desk was great. We were hungry and wanted to proceed to the executive lounge for snacks but unfortunately it only open at 530pm, even though the sign says 7am to 10pm.

As we were preparing for our little kids to sleep at 9pm, we realized that there was a trail of ants along the wall. We called house keeping and they came with insecticide. After seeing more ants behind all the curtains, they realized that we would need to change our room. Which reluctantly did.

As we were about to finish shifting into the other room, our room service dinner arrived. So is the maintenance staff who told us that the intelligent light is not working. There is no way to switch the lights manually so we had them looked into it. As we were having our dinner and they were trying to fix the intelligent lightings, it was like having dinner inside a dance club with the lights going on and complete off repeatedly. For a while we were having dinner with lights coming out from the TV. At 11pm, we were told that they cant fix the problem and can only do it the next day. But they can switch off all the lights and leave the living room lights on. That’s the best they could do at that moment and we accepted it.

This morning I woke up early at 6am and had to use my ipad to brighten up the shower room while taking a shower. I just hope that they will sort out the lighting today. Not acceptable when we paid $970+++ per night for the rooms.

On a good note, the staff was very professional and friendly. Especially the lady from house keeping wearing green uniform (cant remember her name). She was great and when we wanted to give her tips, she rejected.

Food was great and the kids loved the swimming pool. The hotel has a private beach but it was dirty. Will be great if the hotel cleans it up daily. Then this will be the best hotel with the best beach in Port Dickson.

Room Tip: Level 1 Indigo Room number 102 is right at the end with 2 balcony. one facing the pool and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Thistle from 15-17 Jun 2013.
Arrived at about 11am. I was pleasantly surprised when I was allowed to check-in and issued my room key.
We went to the hotel restaurant (I think it's called The Glass) for lunch. The whole crew, especially the manager, is very friendly. Service is also fast. At night, we requested for extra blanket from Housekeeping. The item was delivered to us promptly. Swimming pool is also fun.
Only setback is the hotel lift. The lifts are all very dimly lit and it takes a long time too.
Overall experience is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pachelbel1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have organized a church camp at Thistle Port Dickson in June. The logistics were daunting with almost 250 people and 100 rooms but the Thistle team managed it magnificently.

We chose Thistle Port Dickson as the venue because (1) it was easily accessible and not too far away from Singapore; (2) it's rooms are in very good condition; (3) it has a large ballroom plus several other large function rooms; (4) it has a wide beach front and a big lawn facing the beach for outdoor activities; (5) it has the experience handling large group events.

We were not disappointed. Notwithstanding some last minute requests, unexpected rooming changes, and food menu adjustments, the Thistle team handled them with aplomb. The service was excellent. Key Thistle team members were always present to make sure things run well, and all done with a smile.

The passion, motivation and warmth of the Thistle team could be felt throughout our stay – right from alighting at the front lobby. Credit must be given to the management of Thistle for investing in training and creating a positive culture within the organization.

It was a very pleasant stay for our church members and us, as members of the church camp organizing committee.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea-facing rooms. The rooms are better appointed and you get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SY8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

been in thistle last month for few days.the room is huge..the staff are very friendly and helpfull.... i would like to thank joel marasigan from the restaurant for taking care our table with always a smile on his face...and ariel manlalangit from spa for giving us a relaxing service....its a good experience and planning to come again in the near future and reccomend this hotel to friends..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corazon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,424 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 36 in Port Dickson
795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
4.3 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#13 of 36 in Port Dickson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing