We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port Dickson
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was my second time at thistle. I have always been impressed by their large pools, with two slides suitable for both younger and older kids respectively, and the large expansive pool. There is a lot of greenery which provides the ideal escape for city dwellers. The beach is fairly tide dependent and going at the wrong time will cause one to find that the beaches fairly short. Food is good, with several off site facilities if u drive. Parking is ample. Staff are friendly, if a bit overwhelmed during peak hours or when there is a huge tour group. Recommended definitely and will return again if there is an opportunity. The room is spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Sea view would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesome3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review – we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Thistle Port Dickson Resort. It is great to learn that you took advantage of our 86 acre site – I agree that this is the ideal place for people to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and please contact me if I can be of any service.


Yours Sincerely,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    454
    211
    89
    68
See reviews for
552
239
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My plan was to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday at Thistle.. My husband always wanted his friends to join the trip since we has couple had visited the Thistle Pd twice.. Our 3rd visit to Thistle was Great!

We 3 couples where there to celebrate my husband's birthday. I've book the room through trip advisor promotion package. where got the Deluxe sea view room with breakfast for Rm 360... Reasonable price for the facilities and service given b y the resort. This resort is probably the best choice for a hassle free weekend trip in Port Dickson. Not forgetting the very spacious and big pool with 2 slides! We really enjoyed our day in Thistle Resort! Would like to visit again!..:-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hemaviknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came here for weekend break to unwind & it really did. Our two toddlers enjoy the beach so much, they spent 2 hrs everyday building sand castles and playing at the beach! Not forgetting the very spacious and big pool with 2 slides! That is so cool. Even if there's a lot of people, because of the huge area, we didn't feel too crowded at all ;-) Plus, there's scheduled movie room with vast choices of kids movie, Wii games room + kids room which will ensure the kids occupied! when the kids are happy, parents are happy!!! ;-)

The room was ok, enough for 4 of us with baby cot FOC which helps. The bed is huge enough to fit 3 of us and it was very comfortable. The room service was good too with the standard hotel price. The plus point in the room is there is a window 'sofa' that you can lay down and spent time relaxing and looking at the beach view

Overall, we are very happy with the trip & will definitely come again, maybe this time with extended family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank your for taking the time to review Thistle Port Dickson Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your children were happy throughout their time here. The “I-hub” where your children enjoyed the interactive games is a recent addition, as is “Act:Zone”, our daily programme of supervised activities for adults and children. We have had great success with these initiatives and we will continue to add more features in the future.

When you decide on a return date with your extended family, I would be pleased to take care of your booking personally. I can be reached at the contact listed above this page.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us.


Kind Regards,


John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This resort is probably the best choice for a hassle free weekend trip in Port Dockson. I stayed in this resort many years ago before Thistle took over the management; it's a huge improvement since then. With the new management, the resort is so much better now in terms of cleanliness and services. The kids liked the children's pools. Breakfast was OK. Overall, this is a good place to recommend for a short weekend trip from the capital city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at Thistle Port Dickson Resort in the future.

If we can be of any assistance with your next booking, please let us know – our contact details are listed above.

Again, many thanks.


Kind Regards,



John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we had few trip to this hotel for a short vacay with family. The hotel is clean and satisfactory in managing customer's expectation. Even on a school holidays, it still can cater a large crowd of people. The surrounding is quite clean, hotels did cater all side of customer, from business people, family holiday, with friends, couples and also as solo traveler. It has big pool, adequate size of room, big restaurant and ample food to cater all customer during breakfast. They also did a good job in term of managing the people during breakfast time. Pool is quite clean and there is a life guard on duty. The location also very near to KL for a short getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Thistle PD. After much consideration between Grand Lexis & Thistle PD, we decided to stay here. We stayed for 2 nights. Since it was Raya Haji, everywhere was jammed so did the resort. Although during check-in it was busy, the manager & staffs were all out to make sure guests were attended at the lobby. We had coffee while waiting & the manager announced to us personally when our turn came. That was nice.

What we noticed during this trip is the service. Personally I think the service has improved so much compare to our first trip. The staffs were very helpful & always acknowledge your presence in the hotel. Very friendly too. I have nothing to complain about them. We felt welcomed.

The room was good with a view. This hotel is suitable for family, couple, group etc. Good facilities. We did water ski, gym, etc. The breakfast was average. Hopefully the hotel will provide better selections in the future.

Other than that, we love it. We will definitely come back. We stayed at other hotels/resorts in PD & this one is definitely our safe bet in PD.

Room Tip: Any room with view, away from the lift if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahayapagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

1. Staff refused to give welcome drink the next day as when we checked in it was raining heavily and we could not redeem the drinks at the bar

2. Hotel put us in a room with connecting door which means all the noise and we could hear next room moving the furniture and kids running around

3. Most importantly i left my precious wedding ring on the room table, checked out but when i call the hotel they were unable to locate it.

4. Posted a comment on hotel FB but no response whatsoever from them.

Definitely my last visit to this hotel. Totally disappointed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sagiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tuan Heng,

Many thanks for taking the time to speak with me today. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your time here but please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and we will improve in these areas.

As discussed, please contact me upon your next planned visit to Port Dickson and I will handle your booking.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Port Dickson.


Yours Sincerely,



John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dickson
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 32 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
9.1 mi away
Paradise Spa Hotel
Paradise Spa Hotel
#9 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
6.5 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing