We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“SO-SO Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ilham Resort Port Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilham Resort Port Dickson
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port Dickson
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SO-SO Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went there with 3 other person over one very wet weekend. The place was rather far from town area but thankfully there was a supermarket and restaurant about 10-mins drive out.

What can I say, this resort has seen better days. Years ago when I visited this place, seems much more impressive compare to now. Check-in was prompt in less than 15-mins.They've upgraded us to a 3-bedroom apartment on the 6th floor but wasted only 4 of us. So, one room was left empty. The rooms are clean but looks rather old and well-used. All rooms with single beds no double bed.

No cooking in the rooms although there is a kitchenette with dining table. There is a VCD player and a mini Hi-Fi.

Pool was quite noisy because I believe there was a company's weekend retreat for that weekend. So place was rather full.

Beach in PD, dont expect much. Always has been dirty, always will be. Beach area has some chargeable sea-activities like kayaking, banana boat. Not expensive.

Breakfast looks interesting but taste is rather individual. My friend's commented the Nasi Lemak was cold but the chicken rendang taste alright. But the coffee was indeed very diluted.

Overall, this place is good for HUGE family or big group of friends cause they have lots of space and they dont mind the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AireneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
33
1
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The resort is of average size built to cater for the Muslim communities. I was there over the week end and it was crowded with Muslim family enjoying their week end with family and friends. I wasn’t really impressed with this resort, wouldn’t even call it a resort didn’t have that resort feel if you know what I mean. The rooms were big with basic amenities good if you just want some place to crash and do your staff. Toilets were also basic, couldn’t even open the window and had no view. The sink needed replacement but I was happy they had hot water. With other resorts that I have been, this is by far the worst but it made it up for it on the food although there was a large variety of “Malay” and “Indian” food although nothing for the Chinese community. The swimming pool was small, not a lot of room to swim since it was covered with kids and when you look at the kid’s pool, not a single kid there. The beach was disappointing. If you love the beach with white sands clear blue water, good luck to you. To me, this resort is a budget resort, a place where the family can get away from home without actually spending too much on the lodging. location wise, emmmmm depends what you're looking for, i wasn't totally impressed with it.

Room Tip: we stayed in an apartment style room which had 3 rooms with 2 beds in each room. each room had its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had memorable time at this hotel - but it could do better. Location wise its not too bad - beach is muddy and if you 're here for the beach then prepare to walk. The pool is ok though.Rooms were fairly clean but I can see its lazy job - lots of dust in the corners. Bed and mattress has seen better days - rather used - should change soon. Odd that they should charge RM 15 for one additional towel. Facilities for team building and physical activities were nearby - noticed at least two teams during our stay.The layout is definitely NOT disabled friendly, stairs and narrow corridors..maybe thats the market they are aiming for?Parking at the basement is very limited but the are ample area outside.
Staff were busy cleaning and clearing tables even as we sit taking breakfast- and its not even 10am. Can't they wait till patron finish their meal? Food was not bad but nothing to shout about.Right next door is the light house and the local forest reserve - good for morning walks.
Not many foreigners.
No extra pillows in rooms, could do better with sofabeds. Coming back ? err..no thanks . But first timers who doesn't mind the beach may find it acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

this hotel is very terrible. room quite large but shabby and full with dust. floor of the bathroom was slippery and i lucky not fall and die in there. i'm actually was organized one dinner function in this hotel for my company, but i'm really frustrated the service of the hotel. room for the dinner was badly set up, they was setting up the room like in just 'kedai mamak'(not like in the picture showed) and horribly table not enough regarding to the attendance amount that we are already paid. how could be 4 star hotel prepared not enough table for the attendance??? when i'm asking for the table they was arguing to prepared till the last minute. for food?? totally unpleasant. for all the hotel that i already went for dinner, this hotel was totally not suggested to go for holiday or for any function. please find other hotel..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank galagasi_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Dickson hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service provided by the hotel was extremely terrible!! We will not consider staying at this hotel even though we have no other options! Here is what happened:

1) First, we booked 2 units apartment with 2 bedrooms through the AGODA website a month before check-in date. Upon arrival, we were told that we can only check-in 1 apartment due to miscommunication between the hotel & agoda and the hotel was fully occupied that day, meaning that the hotel will give us 1 apartment with 3 bedrooms and extra bed outside the family hall!! Hey, what an idiot & stupid idea to solve this matter. We've paid RM864/night for 2 apartments and now you are giving us 1 apartment with extra bed???

2) We demanded the manager to see us to solve the problem, and we were told that the manager was in the office figuring solutions to solve our problem. After waiting for couple of hours, we found out that the stupid manager was not in the room,!! How we found out?? Yes, after shouting and banging the office's door, the manager came to us from the swimming pool side.( I guess one of the staff called him)

3) He apologized on behalf of the hotel but until the end of the argument, he still couldn't satisfy our demand. Why? It's because he planned to 'chase' us out of the hotel by transferring us to nearby resorts.(The rate is cheaper than Ilham) For your info, we have total 3 apartments checking in that day(we are supposed to have a BBQ that night). So, we demanded them to transfer 3 apartments, but he refused by saying that only 2 units were available. So, how are we going to have the BBQ?? You expect us to meet up somewhere and do the BBQ, then we go back to our respective hotel??@#$$%%^%^

4) Finally, we demanded our full refund, and we checked out within 15 minutes!! We managed to get a better hotel, with better service and most important with RESPONSIBLE MANAGEMENT & MANAGER!!!!(even though that weekend most of the hotels are fully booked)

Room Tip: TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!! Go find other hotels, but not ILHAM
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank DisappointedMother78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negeri sembilan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We organise this family vacation way back few months ago and has chosen ilham port dickson as our destination because of it environment and good service. We been here for the past few years..at least once a year... We chosen the 3 bedrooms apartment locate by the pool. As usual we will hav our drink and chatting by the pool side at the night time. We do not disturb any of your guest !!!! About midnight the staff come and warn us not to hav drink over there. My uncle did inform the staff 'let us finish the drinks 1st then we will move to the apartment.' However the staff warn us CANNOT must NOW.. The conversation become worst when the staff shot out the 4 letter words and pull my uncle shirt and ask him to challenge outside the hotel !!!!!!!! O my god !!!! What the attitude is that !!! The staff din wear the uniform and name tag.. We dun know who is him !!!!!! Encik Ismail Hisham I think u really look at your staff attitude & behavior !!!! It spoilt our holiday !!!! Dun ever want to stay here anymore......good luck to your hotel !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank siewlan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Good services particularly the housekeeping.Room 3R3B which really good with large family members around.Just the buffet rate for extra members is a bit expensive. Since we are not allow to cook in the apartment.

Room Tip: Room with bath room attached is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dienaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
10.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 33 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
6.6 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
PRIMALAND Port Dickson Resort & Convention Centre (PRCC)
10.1 mi away
Paradise Spa Hotel
Paradise Spa Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
3.4 mi away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 33 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilham Resort Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilham Resort Port Dickson

Property: Ilham Resort Port Dickson
Address: Batu 10, Tanjung Biru | Si Rusa, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilham Resort Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ageless tradition of a by-gone era. PNB ILHAM RESORT, as the very name suggests is - Evocation of Inspiration. The moment you step in you will be fascinated. The architecture is of the Melaka Sultanate and the surrounding is beautifully landscaped. PNB ILHAM RESORT is for you to enjoy - from the spacious rooms to the viewing tower and the other many facilities - restaurant, swimming pool and gymnasium. PNB ILHAM RESORT is a dual concept establishment, being both resort and training centre where quality and service are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ilham Resort Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilham Resort Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing