We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Western restaurant in PD”

El Cactus Bistro and Bar
Ranked #30 of 80 Restaurants in Port Dickson
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice little Western restaurant in PD”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice little cosy restaurant in PD serving Tex-Mex food. Wife loves the burrito, quesadillas (sorry if incorrect spelling) or others. Slightly high price but the nice romantic atmosphere really makes up for it. However, it would have been perfect if it was just on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johanmyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    61
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Best strawberry daiquiri ever , and great food! ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Loved this little family run restaurant! Great food, great service and the best strawberry daiquiri ever!
Must try the nachos and go on an empty stomach- servings are very generous.
Prices are incredibly reasonable and you can pay cash or credit card.
Definitely must visit if in Port Dickson.

Helpful?
Thank AussieAbroad011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

At a glance, the setting and environment is so attractive and cosy. My family of four had our dinner here. When we sat down, we noticed the place is not very clean but the dim lights did the job of hiding the flaws. The orders were taken by young boys whom we later guessed were the children of the proprietor and this is a family run bistro. One of the waiter does not look very clean and I did not like the manner he handles the drinks. The food was good though. We ordered a sirloin steak, pan fried red snapper, chicken chop and fish & chips. The bill came to RM180 with 2 ice lemon tea, a beer and one lemon juice. This place could do with some improvement in the service and trained waiters.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerminaTERrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Since everyone was raving about the Nachos, I decided to try the steak instead since I was craving for some.

Had rib eye without the rib eye. Hahaha. Meat was so so. Unless you are particular about steaks, don't give it a try. Had mushroom sauce but was annoyed by the taste of celery in it.

Salad had a spicy dressing. Could be trying to match the Mexican taste.

Pina Colada was good.

Decent I guess. Would have gone for the lamb since the other table seem like regulars who ordered the lamb.

Quite pricey. Paid for about RM70 or so for one person.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisheruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selangor
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Just went for the Nachos”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Saw so many reviews on the place, so decided to drop by. Just ordered Mixed Nacho's and a Pina Colada to share with my partner. Bill came up to RM34.00+

Price was reasonable as the nacho's were delicious! would recommend first timers. When they say "romantic seating/ atmosphere", it's really not. At night, the place was super dimly lit, and it was a mosquitoes nest. More to a casual dining kind of place, serves alcohol, so perfect for a group of friends to go for a drink and have some snacks.

Will go back to try out the other dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabahrefugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cactus Bistro and Bar also viewed

Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 

Been to El Cactus Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing