We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet dinner”

El Cactus Bistro and Bar
Ranked #29 of 81 Restaurants in Port Dickson
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A quiet dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The ambiance is good, quiet, romantic. The food was good and the price was okay!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank iskhandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    61
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“El Cactus”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Serving Mexican cuisine, the prices are reasonable and the food is reasonably good.

Service is rather slow although the staff are quite friendly. On peak seasons, the restaurant can be rather packed during dinner time. They are so understaffed at the kitchen that it may take you almost an hour to get your food. The negative thing about El Cactus is the mosquitoes at night.

Despite the negatives, this is still one of the best restaurants in Port Dickson, at least in terms of food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Will give it a pass”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The visible location, sea view and parking spaces were probably the best things there were here.
We were there for lunch. The wait for food was about 15 mins, quality was just average. We ordered fish & chips, which were just ordinary. Food wasn't of great value.
What actually got us uncomfortable was the flies all over the place! Granted it's located near the beach, but surely the owners can do something about the flies. Cleanliness is definitely an area for improvement.
So just for that, we won't be returning again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SwirlingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Only for the curious one”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Price is pricey compares with other western food, Serving size is pretty small for Asian. Atmosphere is a bit to dark for dining, the server unsure with his own menu.
Nevertheless we enjoy the Nancos!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackwlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I did not know about this place until my partner told me. He had goggled it up before our trip. We went there for dinner on our first night and arrived at the place a little after 7pm. There were already several cars there but there was till ample parking.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxing with nice soothing music in the background. We ordered 2 main course and 1 appetizer. I didn't know the portion would be huge, our appetizer arrived it was tacos forgotten the actual name.

It was nice and cheesy *yums* after the appertizer I was already half full, praying that our main was not th at huge. Our main arrived we ordered one tortilla chicken and another was salmon (Ordered fish cause was afraid we wouldn't be able to finish).

The tortilla was nice and it was something different since I've never really had Mexican food before. The place started to get packed by 8.30pm and we were lucky that we came early cause there was little waiting time.

They are short of staff hence service is a bit slow while waiting for them to wait on you. The food was good and the ambience was nice. Would go back again and this time to try their pizza looks good. Total cost for the dinner was RM100 which I think is reasonable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueweedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cactus Bistro and Bar also viewed

Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan
 

Been to El Cactus Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing