We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
9
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open bathroom minimalist concept across the street crowd chill toilet peter villa guests cats beach taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant environment with beach front. Has the warmth and private stay. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby and great place for private family gatherings. Peter has been wonderful in helping the guests. Highly recommended for a relaxing family stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jcdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We book 3 chalets for one night, and we absolutely love Fuga Village, especially the privacy of the place.

So here are the list of things which we love about Fuga Village:

1) There were tall fences around the place, and guests have to lock the entrance & exit door before leaving, hence safety is really assured here.

2) Check in was a breeze. We met Amy upon check in, and Peter upon check out, and they were very nice. The host will pretty much leave you alone after check in, and since the place is locked, you really have privacy to spend time with your loved ones.

3) The beach is just a few footsteps from the room, and there is a pool, which is more suitable for adults as its about 5 feet deep.

4) The room is equipped with air cond, fan, a kettle, a fridge, as well as shampoo and conditioner. But I do recommend to bring your own toiletries. The bed & pillows were good and the sheets were clean. I can say the room is more to a minimalist concept, but we liked it. Bring your own water too.

5) There are 3 windows, which you can open and enjoy the fresh air. I really love the windows, antique style. The place is really clean!! So do not litter and throw your rubbish in the dustbin that they provide by the pool.

6) You can spend time at the pool, there are 2 gazebos and 2 pool chairs for relaxing. We had our lunch and breakfast here, the weather was beautiful.

7) Do not miss an upper deck at the reception area, where you can just chill and watch the beach or people watching.

8) Right next door is the turtle sanctuary and visitor center, which is good for a quick tour.

9) Please obey the rules, you will find it in your room - and do take note that other visitors are NOT allowed. Hence, please respect the host's rules and regulations. For us, we love this rule as friends of visitors will not simply come in and out as they like.

Not a big problem actually, but I thought it will be useful for future travelers:

1) We wish we could spend more time in the pool, it was under maintenance as the water was dirty.

2) Relaxing area at the reception - wish we could have some food here, but we were caution that we will make it a mess, so we just sit & enjoy the fresh air.

3) Open air bathroom & toilet - do bring a kain batik to cover up, as the bathroom is really open, you will feel like somebody is watching you! LOL!

4) For Muslims traveller - do bring your own praying mat (sejadah).

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Very serene and peaceful location just opposite the beach. Comfortable and amazing location to stay away from the crowd.
The night is so peaceful. Perfect for people who love quietness.
The staff is very helpful too.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

We had a lovely time here in March 2017, booked as the prelude to a business trip. Fuga Village is far and away the best (and probably only) place in this remote area suitable for Western tourists. The chalets are set in an attractive, green garden, with verandahs that encourage sitting out in the evening. The bed was excellently firm, the room nicely decorated, and the half-in/ half outdoor bathrooms are an innovative highlight. In the grounds there is a small swimming pool, a barbeque area and plenty of green space. The whole compound is beautifully kept by Peter and Emmie, who obviously love being there and were really helpful in making some suggestions.

One of these was a visit to a local night market (reminiscent of Marrakech) where we bought a duck to barbecue and plenty of fruit for breakfasts. They also sorted out taxis for us and were generally happy to chat.

If there is a fault it is that the surrounding area is quite poor, and if the one good restaurant in walking distance isn't open, then eating can be very hit or miss (mostly miss). You can forget a western style breakfast unless you have brought your own. This is a shame as the environment is really lovely, with a beach just across the street, and it was mostly (delightfully) empty during our stay.

Apart from breakfast, I'm not sure what more Fuga Village can do without some investment by other businesses locally. It is a remote and out-of-the-way rural area so the locals are quite conservative and whilst we were stared at a lot, we weren't hassled, (though it took a while for some lads to stop staring at my bikini-clad wife).

All in all, we had a lovely time here. You will too if you want to get some peace and quiet away from it all: whilst no one ever really gets this anymore (they have Wifi), just be aware that you really will be away from a lot of it! Most of it!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank groggery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

For those who love the nature & peaceful stay, this is the best place to spend with your love one, friends & family. The place quiet private but its very peaceful & calming. Locate just in front of Pengkalan Balik beach & near turtle sanctuary. The room was awesome, very simple yet its clean+tidy & the best part is open bathroom. Have small pool & lovely garden. Very recomandable for this who want to spend a lovely holiday in a calming & peaceful nature sorroundings.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adie_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews