We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We truely loved our stay from the moment we arrived through to our last day. The restaurant is worthy of a michelin star, we looked forward to our meal every evening, as it was always beautifully presented and full of little surprises, our compliments to the chef!!

It was hard to leave, not only because of the hotel, it's location and the fantastic whale watching, but also because of our new found friends "Coco" and PLEASE DO NOT FEED ME "Jean" & "Yoko", the hotels pets!!

HAPPY MEMORIES
x

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for this nice review. In Sainte Marie Island, we are very lucky with a huge variety of local food like tropical fruits, vegetables and fishes of course. Pleople from outside the Lodge enjoy to come on the Beach Grill Restaurant as well. We do a cuisine with malagasy, french and creole influences.
The pets are doing well and puppy Coco Chanel is growing very fast ... Maybe you'll be able to see her for your next holidays in the Lodge and see the difference ! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel from the moment the zebus arrived to collect us from the airport. We chose the hotel primarily for the whale watching and weren't disappointed. We saw plenty of whales from the organised tour as well as from our beach villa. Our marine biologist student Ranja was so enthusiastic and informative that we actually forgot how drenched through we were on our boat trip ( you will get wet!)
We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary whilst in Madagascar and the hotel laid on a beautiful candlelit dinner on the beach and a celebratory cake, it was very romantic. Food is excellent and staff very attentive.
The beaches - especially on Ile de Nattes - were on a par with the best we've seen (including the Maldives) but the true gem was being able to mingle with the locals, go out adventuring on bikes and explore such a beautiful island feeling so safe. We had a particularly enjoyable trip to the local zoological park - very small but great fun if you enjoy going in with the animals and feeding locusts to chameleons.
In a nutshell everything was perfect, thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to be part of your wedding anniversary and make it unforgettable !
It seems that you really appreciate the Lodge and Sainte Marie way of life ... all peaceful and far from massive tourism. We hope to see you soon again in Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I don't know why Ile St Marie is not better known as a holiday destination but to be honest I'm glad- it's a little gem of an island and I would go back here any time.
We went because it ticked all the boxes- you can be active, ( cycle, walk, swim). Watch great wildlife (humpback whales and stunning birds), relax on the beach, eat beautiful food and drink lovely cocktails! what's not to like?
We had one of the standard bunglows so it wasn't flashy but it was everything we could want- decent sized bedroom with mozzie nets, nice big shower, wardrobe with plenty of space, little veranda with table, chair and a hammock where we could sit and watch the waves. Our bungalow was about 30 feet from the beach so if we couldn't be bothered to walk all the way to the infinity swimming pool (ooh it was several metres away...) or to the salt-water pool (several metres in the other direction), we could just go to the beach. Each bungalow has a little sunbathing area on the beach with a headrest, cushion and thatched shelter.
We went on the whale-watching trips which were amazing and wonderful but that said, some of the whales came so close to the shore that we could sit on the beach and watch them from there. The staff distribute sea-sickness pills before you get on the boat so be prepared to be jiggled around a bit and probably get rather wet.
We borrowed some cycles from the hotel and went for a ride to see other parts of the island and took a taxi to the pirate cemetery which was really interesting (NB: The taxi has to drop you a little way from the cemetery and then a paid guide takes you on a walk- sometimes crossing on wobbly stepping-stones, so maybe not suitable for people with mobility issues. Oh and make sure you have some small denomination notes for a tip).
The food was really delicious and you can order hot and cold snacks from 10am until 6pm which you pay for at the end of your stay. We were on a half-board basis and didn't find out until afterwards that it would have been cheaper for us to upgrade to full-board, rather than paying for lunches on a day-by-day basis. Never mind- the prices were so reasonable anyway that it didn't really matter- I think our bill for lunches, snacks, drinks and cocktails plus 3 whale-watching trips came to about £200 for the week.
It's a wonderful place for snorkelling and diving too- although I couldn't drag myself from my sun-lounger long enough to do any!
Health & safety rules on the island are "relaxed" but we felt safe and happy the whole time and it's also maybe worth noting that smoking is still allowed and personally, I didn't like sitting in a restaurant with people chain-smiking, albeit that the restaurant is quite open so it's not as bad as it could be.
The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. Most speak a little English but my schoolgirl french came in very useful.
The journey (5 mins approx) between the hotel and the airport is usually by zebu cart which was quite an experience (I just worried about whether the zebu were tired... I know I'm daft).
Be aware that at the airport, there is always a scramble from the local chaps who want to earn a tip by carrying your bags. They are really very pushy and persistant- trying at times to grab bags out of our hands and then they demand a tip and even tell you how much they expect you to give.
We visited in August and the weather was comfortably warm with a few heavy but short-lived showers.
Overall, I would recommend this place very highly and would love to go back- but please don't tell too many people or they'll all want to come!

Room Tip: They have different grades of bungalows- we had the basic and it suited us as we weren't inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonCLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Traveler, thank you so much for taking the time to describe your stay at Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa. This is very useful and encouraging for all the team. We say a big thank you for choosing us and hope to welcome you again in the Lodge. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Princesse Bora, our last destination of a 16 day holiday in Madagascar. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location, the accomodation and the cooking were all we could have hoped for. Our two main reasons for going to this hotel were for the whale watching and some R and R. We did two whale watching trips and saw about 20 humpbacks in all, including several babies , one only about 2 days old! The highlight of the trips was spotting a Southern Right Whale, which is on the endangered list. Whales were also visible from the restaurant, rooms and beach on several occasions putting on lots of displays of pectoral fin slapping and breaching for our entertainment. The hotel was very relaxing with plenty of opportunities to lie on sun beds or swim in the pool. We also had some Spa treatments which were as good as we have had anywhere in the world. All the staff were very friendly, well trained and accomodating to our needs, particularly in the restaurant where the standard of cooking, especially the desserts, was excellent. We had an executive villa which provided us with lots of room and an excellent terrace.
We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for this review, we can see you had an amazing time in Princesse Bora Lodge. The whales watching tour is a unique experience, and most of our guests say that they will remember it all their life !
The conditions here are really privileged, and the organisation and explanations from the volunteer of Cetamada ONG make it even better. We hope to see you again very soon on Sainte Marie Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided to spend our Honeymoon at Princesse Bora after looking a long time for the perfect destination. We had looked at Bali and Maldives, but were open to anything. We were intrigued as it is slighly "off the beaten path". Our friend, who recommended the hotel, reassured us that it would be above and beyond - and it truly was!! The combination of luxury hotel, but with such natural surroundings, make Princesse Bora the perfect peaceful paradise. The hotel itself is smaller and more intimate which we loved because we felt like we were right at home. The staff is unbelievable, so attentive and energetic and we left feeling like we were leaving family back on the island! We spent twelve days at the hotel, and not once did we ever get bored. Whether it be 4x4 trips around the island, whale watching, kayaking, snorkeling, private boat ride with champagne.. We had it all! The food is amazing, the island is idyllic, the staff is exceptional, and wecanNOT wait for our next trip to Princesse Bora!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest, all the team is really pleased to read at your very nice comment on Trip Advisor. We always enjoy to welcome honeymooners and do our best to make their stay unforgettable, it is such a special occasion !
So we hope to see you again in Sainte Marie Island. All the best for you both ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We included Princess Bora in our trip to Madagascar especially to see the humpback whales. The trips are run by Ceta Mada, whose aim it is to conserve the cetaceans around Madagascar. We were not disappointed. We saw 14 whales on our first trip and 12 on our second (including two calves). The team were professional and helpful. I wanted to whale watch on our third day but the trips were full. We used the spa instead which was amazing! Beautiful, tranquil setting. The manicure was perfect - better than in England.
Our room was amazing. Beautiful view and sound of the sea. We did book the executive villa and had a lot of space. We disagree with another review that talked of bad bedding. We had very clean sheets and plenty of soft pillows. We actually could not fill our bath though as the makeshift plug was not secure enough and the overflow kicked in too soon.
The food was fantastic - even for the vegetarians in our party. Homemade pizzas were amazing. Very helpful staff, especially Emilien.
The staff do call to each other around the rooms from about 8 on the morning, but this happened a lot earlier everywhere else we stayed in Madagascar.
Trip back to airport on Zebu and cart was great fun.

Room Tip: If you can manage it, choose the Executive Villa - lots of privacy and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. I'll pass on to CetaMada, they will be very pleased, as the Chef and Emilien.
I'm really touched that you enjoy the Spa. Especially the manicure that is a treatment that took us so much time and hard work to train the girls from the spa. They will be delighted to know you appreciate it. Sorry if you've been awake in the morning, we'll have a word with the housekeeping to remind them they have to be more quiet !
I hope we can welcome you again in Sainte Marie Island. Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved everything. Beautiful setting. Excellent whale watching from both organised trip and beach. Fabulous food - set menus good for more adventurous tastes - grill and pizza oven for children and otherwise. Staff fantastic - obviously mainly French speaking but over accommodating to English. Staff weaker in English quickly find a stronger speaker when in difficulty. Teenage children loved the hotel pets. Loved the comfortable living space with open fire and WIFI.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShandyBarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

All the team of Princesse Bora Lodge join me to say thank you for your very nice review.
It is true that member of the staff don't always speak good english. Our priority is to hire local people and, as you know, Madagascar is a very poor country with a real lack of education, no english courses at school. So it is very difficult for us to find good english spoken here. They all speak french (that is a second language already for malagasy people). Every year we do a special trainning for member of the staff that want to learn english, but it is basic courses. Then all member of direction can speak good english and is always available if needed.
We hope to see you soon at the Lodge ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
17.7 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
102 reviews
14.2 mi away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#11 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
142 reviews
4.9 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa

Address: 13 Bp, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#1 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range: $184 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge of charm, allying luxury and wild nature in a typically tropical environment, Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa is a warm and human sized hotel. It takes place on Sainte Marie Island, East of Madagascar, a heaven of peace, far from mass tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesse Bora Hotel Ile Sainte-Marie (Nosy Boraha)
Princesse Bora Lodge And Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing