We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soanambo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lakana Hotel(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Vanivola(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maningory(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Boraha Village(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Libertalia(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Le Vieux Fort(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masoandro Lodge(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natiora Green Lodge(Nosy Boraha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
111
39
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
39
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelmodern hotellarge swimming poolwhale watching tripprincess boraplace to staymosquito netsea viewst mariechristinehairdryeramenitieswellnessprivacyaffordedrelaxationsunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 160 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is the one place on the island that takes credit cards and that is why we ended up staying here when we were stranded in paradise for an extra day. No regrets for a one night stop; at the end of a pretty adventurous holiday I actually appreciated all the modern conveniences of aircon, very clean and spacious rooms, porters carrying my bags, wifi, a pool. NB: they do charge mightily (compare prices with the other properties on the island) for these differentiating factors.

More significantly for us, however, this is not at all the atmosphere we came to Sainte-Marie/Nosy Boraha seeking. It’s a series of modern, two-level blocks along the shore rather than thatched bungalows of local construction, it has a dramatic “design” entrance, and a restaurant with polished service - as a result, the vibe is very much like a package vacation hotel pretty much anywhere. Dare I say it’s like a Holiday Inn in Puerto Rico? It’s a fine and comfortable choice if you find the other options on the island too rustic, but be aware that you will be sacrificing a lot of the charm, authenticity and atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Soanambo is a modern looking hotel. The rooms are divided into blocks of four with a central staircase (two storeys high). The rooms look straight out on the sea which is about 20 metres away. All rooms have a balcony or a terrace with two chairs. The small shower room is at the back with a large sink area with space for toiletries and a shaving mirror, hairdryer & good lighting. The rooms are large with a ledge for suitcases, a mini bar, desk and sofa/single bed as well as a large double bed. There’s a large flat screen TV with French TV channels only. There is efficient air conditioning which is useful and excellent free and fast wifi in the reception/lobby/restaurant areas. The hotel has a large swimming pool and it’s a good size if you like swimming lengths! If the weather is good you can sit outside for breakfast and enjoy the view of the beach (with zebus being herded past) and if you’re lucky see humpback whales leaping in the distance. There’s a reef which makes the water very shallow, especially at low tide and the sand is rather rough underfoot. The receptionists were very helpful and will easily arrange taxis if you feel like visiting the local town or going on other excursions. You can also go for a wander down the main road and visit the little shops by the roadside. Please note that it is only possible to stay at the hotel on a half board basis and you have to pay for your stay (inc food!) in advance by wire transfer and there are no refunds for cancellation. Breakfast was buffet style although there wasn’t a huge choice and you were restricted to just one fried egg if you wished a cooked breakfast! Dinner in contrast was enormous with soup, starter, main course and then pudding. The food was good especially a beautifully cooked duck breast in honey and ginger. It’s possible to go whale watching on the hotel boat but they require at least three passengers so you may need to wait until there are enough passengers to take you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent 6 wonderful nights at the Soanambo. The staff was attentive and caring, yet not overbearing. The manager, Madame Christine always present and open for questions or the odd chat. We chose the Soanambo to end our three week honeymoon trip and were welcomed with drinks, flowers and all the luxury you could want.
The rooms are splendid, with balconies overlooking the water - you can fall asleep, and wake up to the sound of waves rolling onto the beach.
Food is lovely, yet a bit limited for vegetarians.
The Spa is pure bliss! Being massaged overlooking (or rather hearing) the ocean is a whole new experience not to be missed.
Watching whales from our sunbeds by the pool was probably the most breathtaking moment..until we partook in the whale watching safari to see them even closer.

I can highly recommend the Soanambo to anyone. It's amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vlariane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The individual huts provided welcome privacy on our honeymoon. These suites were decorated very tastefully, spotlessly-clean and incredibly comfortable. The staff at Hotel Soanambo were courteous and very helpful - including those in the lovely restaurant in which we ate each evening. Hotel Soanambo provides a very relaxing stay - we spent hours playing chess in the bar - but also more activity if desired, such as whale-watching trips, visits to a pirate cemetery, and bicycle hire.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Dawnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

Excellent hotel in the south of Sainte Marie Island. I stayed there for one week. The place is very authentical, people are friendly. I enjoyed the whalewatching expedition that we had with the hotel boats.

8  Thank John_Malcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews