We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosy Boraha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Nosy Boraha
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like a paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

3 minutes walking distance to the airport. a fantastic beach, very clean bungalows, helpfull friendly staff, great food. a paradise by the white sand beach. ıt is a bit far from the downtown. Eventhough the bungalows just by the sea have wonderful views from the balcony, I can say that it can be very noisy (wind, waves, children of the neighbourhood villagers, high volume music lover villagers early in the morning etc) during the very early hours of the morning. Cause life starts there very early in the morning. Staff is amazing, as much as the lovely and beautiful owner Sophie. for excursions, they recommend you alternatives, as you are away from the main locations you need to trust them.
WATCH-OUT: 1- no credit cards accepted. bring cash. and no USD is accepted bring Euro or RAR with you. 2- in case of power cuts, hotel can provide you electricity and depending on this water only during limited hours in the morning and evening. 3-there is no wifi and they do not let you to use their only computer in the reception.
PS. facilitiy has a night guard all night long.

Room Tip: as there are limited number of bungalows, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ufuk_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    59
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
72
135
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are really glad to have chosen this hotel. Everything was fine: location (5 min walk from the airport, but you don't hear any noise!), bungalows and lobby decoration, food in the restaurant, staff attitude...
You feel very welcome there since the first moment, home feeling. Special thanks are for the owner Sophie and her colleague Ezio who confirm their professionnalism by their nice, friendly and helpful approach.
I find the meals quite expensive, but can easily understand it - we are on a small island... Quality and variety of food is great, you eat well here in French way! Just was missing yogurts in the morning....
Only thing is the beach, you can not really swim there. You can do nice walks and enjoy Ile aux Nattes which is really closed! If you need calm and isolated place, maybe this is not the best choice - just beside you have small houses of local people, so can enjoy the friendly local environment.
Cool atmosphere in Saturday evening during the concert...
It was nice to get asleep under waves "music" after having enjoyed African stars! This place makes you dreaming to be back on Sainte Marie island!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

First impressions were very good. It looks pretty cool - the 'lobby/lounge' is like an old pirate ship. All seemed good. We got to the rooms, seemed fine. 24/7 electricity and hot water, which is always a bonus. It's on the beach and looks right out at the sea, as you'd expect from a beach bungalow place, so you cant really give extra points for that.

That evening we were relaxing in the outdoor bar/restaurant area when the waiter came to introduce himself. It became very obvious, very quickly that his main interest in us was what activities he could arrange for us. Naturally we wanted to go whale watching which he scampered off to arrange. We were told, when he got back that we couldn't go because the weather was going to be too dangerous in the morning. We thought, fair enough. Then we suggested we might do a quad bike trek around the island instead. Again he went to arrange it and came back to say that it would be 300,000 Ariary. Odd, we thought, seeing as in our room we had a flyer from the same place he had just arranged it with saying it was 250,000. I corrected him and went to get proof. It was a bare faced and transparent attempt to con me out of 50,000 ariary.

Then in the morning, we were told that despite the sea looking absolutely serene and there being no wind it was far too dangerous to go whale watching but that we could definitely go at 2pm by which time it would be calm. However, we had already decided to go out exploring the island on quad bike - he was insistent upon wanting to come with us to 'show us' where the place was. Seeing as it was next door to the hotel, we obviously didn't need his help and went on our own.

On our way, we stopped in at the Princess Bora next door to verify these 'facts' about the boats. Our suspicions that we were being lied to were confirmed - they told us that the weather couldn't be more perfect. We booked with them to go the following day.

That evening, we were told by the waiter and the lay who owns the place that we could go on a boat the following morning, but that we'd need to do it then as the weather was going to be too dangerous again after that until the following monday. More lies.

The next nasty surprise, which isn't really their fault, comes from that the people in the neighbouring village (which means literally a matter of 10ft from the bungalows) start blasting out truly dreadful music at 6am in the morning at extraordinary volumes. I'm talking Celine Dion remixes.

Then, while we were eating our breakfast, the waitress started trying to sell us wooden carvings. We couldn't believe it.

That evening, I wasn't really sure I wanted what was on the set menu so I asked if I could see the 'a la carte' menu (which would cost me more, rather than the included half board set menu). I was shown the menu, decided I did after all want the set menu, which I confirmed with the waiter. I then saw the waiter getting chastised by his manager. The waiter then came over and chastised me for daring to ask for the menu! I was gobsmacked. He told me, quite annoyed, if I want something from the 'a la carte menu' not the set menu, I have to tell them by 4pm! Crazy!

When you combine this deceit, inflexibility, inappropriate behaviour along with the smiles through gritted teeth from the owner, the noisy neighbours it's very hard to recommend Ravoraha.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jakzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

As Madagasca first timers we booked all hotels on the recommendation of a friend, guidebooks and Tripadvisor - were we found Eco-Lodge Ravoraha.

Despite staying in much more expensive hotels during our stay, Eco-Lodge was by far my favourite and great value for money. Sophie, our host was incredibly accommodating and helpful and the staff seemed genuinely happy and very attentive. It felt good to stay in a hotel which was giving something back to the community in which it was based rather than just making a profit from it.

Location - positioned at SW end of the island the hotel is close enough to walk to from the Airport and located in the village of Ravoraha. There are shops nearby and a few restaurants within a mile or so. (The west side is much more peaceful weather-wise) The garden and hotel are beautifully designed and maintained and our room was always spotless.

Accommodation - Bungalows are beautifully decorated, not luxury, but are well equipped, I didn't want for anything. (FYI it has fridge, fan and a safe, but no AC, TV, or internet access)

Beach - is clean, not that private but it's really easy to get to other more secluded beaches and I preferred seeing a bit of local life and meeting people.

Restaurant & Bar- is great. The food is fresh and delicious, breakfast was perfect; bread, cereal, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and fresh fruit juice. A great plat du jour set menu every night as well as a menu with a good variety. Cocktails were the best I had on my whole trip, made with fresh fruit and lovingly by Orlando the bartender!

Sophie arranged two great trips for us and was always full of wonderful suggestions of where to eat and go. A trip to Ile aux Nates with a guide is well worth it and means you avoid having to choose which boat to take and see a lot more of the island life. We took a pirogue straight from the Hotel beach and ate THE most delicious lobster served in a malagasy style at Les Lemuriens

To sum up - out of all of the lodges I stayed in during my trip I would recommend Eco-Lodge Ravoraha above them all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
340 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked into the Ecolodge based on all the good reviews from Trip Advisor and we weren’t disappointed. The attractive bungalow style accommodation is set on a beautiful little beach on the southern end of the island. The very well-kept gardens and landscaping added to the peaceful ambience of the lodge. The lodge is sandwiched between village houses on either side so you do have to put up with a bit of village noise but it is interesting to see the fishermen repairing their nets and heading out to sea. The beach is not secluded or private, so there are a fair number of hawkers who roam up and down the beach constantly disturbing the otherwise peaceful atmosphere. Fortunately they aren’t too persistent. The beach is just OK for swimming and a little bit weedy. From the lodge it is just a short walk to the pirogue port where you can get a ride over to the charming Ile aux Nattes.

The bungalows are fairly small but tastefully decorated. The bed was really comfortable and we had some good, undisturbed sleeps here. The room has a fan, fridge, and a safe, but no AC, TV, or internet access. There are constant power outages around the island which get a bit annoying, and the lodge seemed a bit slow to turn on their back-up generator.

The lobby, lounge, and restaurant are all very well planned and tastefully decorated. We really enjoyed eating meals in the open air restaurant where a cooling sea breeze always seemed to be flowing through. We found the breakfasts to be outstanding, the best we had in Madagascar, with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, bread, and eggs – really a good start to the day. The dinners were tasty but a bit on the small side and a fairly limited menu. There were really no other restaurants within walking distance so we were pretty much forced to eat all our meals here. All the staff – from the management to the waitresses – were all very friendly, helpful, and attentive and were a big factor in the enjoyment of our stay.

We really enjoyed are stay here and would recommend it to other travelers. For about $40/night, we thought this place was excellent value and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
0.3 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
17.9 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Libertalia
Hotel Libertalia
#4 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#6 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soanambo
Hotel Soanambo
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha

Property: Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha
Address: Ile Sainte-Marie | village Ravoraha 515, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hotel Eco-Lodge Ravoraha Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing