We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of heaven, indeed!”
Review of Adonys Eden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adonys Eden Lodge
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I would have never expected to find such a quality, clean, luxury but yet so friendly place in the whole Madagascar! It's like a world apart.
Adonys and Manfred are amazing people, so kind and so great cooks! They completely spoilt us and now no food tastes good to us! We didn't even bother to move, had it all there. Amazing bungalow a few steps from pristine water, white sand, bended palms, a true image of paradise. Everything was done with a lot of great taste, kept very clean and welcoming. Wish we could have stayed more. Will definitely go back some day.

Room Tip: The bungalows close to the water are trully amazing. The bungalows in the back are bigger. Depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misssaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 64 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

First, my family and I were staying at a resort that we weren't happy with. One day, while walking along the white sand beach, we found a beautiful place called Adonys Eden Lodge and met friendly Adonys and showed us around. Then after 2 nights of staying in a horrible place, I called Adonys and asked if they have 2 bungalows available that day for only 4 nights but we ended up staying for two weeks, that how much we enjoyed staying there. He was so nice and offered to pick us up. Not only the place is beautiful, but the owners Adonys and Manfred made us feel like it was our own home. They cooked and served us a lot of delicious home cooking meals, from breakfast until dinner. Besides that, the bungalows has the most comfortable bed. Saint Marie island is very beautiful with very fine white sand beaches and amazing blue lagoon, but without Adonys Eden Lodge would have been a nightmare for us. Thanks to you Adonys and Manfred, you made our holiday in Madagascar a wonderful one and hope to go back one day soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlynlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Adonys Eden lodge for our honeymoon in Oct/Nov 2012. Both Adonys and Manfred were amazing hosts. Both very welcoming and treated us like friends during our stay. The accommodation was always immaculately kept and in an incredible setting beside a white sand beach. The food during the stay was first class, always cooked with fresh ingredients. Manfred even made egg free pancakes for my wife (egg allergy), better than any crepe I'd ever tasted. Sainte Marie itself is well worth a visit, it really is a tropical paradise. We were even taken to the airport on the last day and treated to a farewell drink. If you want an unforgettable vacation in a peaceful, tropical paradise then this is it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AdnSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A mememorable and truly wonderful stay. A piece of paradise on the East side of the island with flower filled gardens and a beautiful beach of dazzling white sand protected by a reef so the water is always calm and warm.
If you want to get away from it all this is the place to go ... there are no nearby properties and so you can walk for a couple of kilometers on the beach and never see another holiday-maker.
The bungalows are carefully designed with beautiful furnishings (large comfortable beds with quality matresses) and a wonderful blend of local materials and contemporty fittings. Each bungalow has its own private sun terrace with sea views. The main building has a beautiful terrace on which to dine with a quirky mix of local crafts and treasures found on the beach. The hosts Manfred and Adonys were charming and so friendly - really made us feel like we were friends visiting.
All the meals we had were of fantastic quality and beautifully presented and I loved that there was never any menu ... we were just asked during the day what we would like for our dinner and Manfred would create something stunning to eat for us.
A true piece of Eden ... beautiful, private location, friendly hosts who take genuine pleasure in giving their guests the very best service without ever being obtrusive.
They also have a charming treatment room in the gardens and can provide treatments / massages etc from local qualified staff.
Their restaurant is also open to non-guests and I would highly recomend a visit for some great food and to relax on a beautiful beach - would suggest calling ahead to book in case they are busy.

Room Tip: All 6 bungalows have sea view rooms. There are three right on the beach for uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 days at Adonys Eden Lodge and it was the perfect way to end an adventerous holiday in Madagascar. Adonys and Manfred are wonderful hosts! From the welcome drink in a freshly opened coconut and the amazing home cooked food to the 'above and beyond' willingness to make you feel like you are friends who have not seen each other n years, all culminate to make Adoyns Eden lodge a wonderful relaxing getaway. The property is on the east coast of Isle Saint Marie in the the most stunning secluded setting over looking the dramatic indian ocean. The bungalows are large modern, comfortable and tastefully decorated. It is the perfect spot to get away from it all and easy to forget there is a world outside. As in most of Madagasgar there is limited electricity however it is always available when requested, this is not a down side, just one of the many charms of being in a country that has limited infrastructure. If i am lucky enough to return to Madagasgar in the future Adonys Eden Lodge would definitely be a destination choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were there only for a lunch, we didn't stay in the hotel.
However the place looks as paradise - you have a very beautiful empty beach only at your disposal, indeed "far and protected from civilization'!
The terrace where you take your meals is a very charming place - tasty decorated, under shadow of trees... a very special feeling of relax and peace!
The owner was very friendly and nice, I would say his personality seems to be in a perfect harmony with the place :)
The food was simple (fish and rice) and so delicious...
If the bungalows are expensive and if you don't wish to stay "far away from civilization", you can just enjoy the walk (1500 m from the main road... don't be affraid of the dogs, you will see they are very cute!) and a lunch there!
Briefly, we were charmed by this place. Only the short stay didn't allow us to come back there...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We didn’t stay at the Adonys Eden – but we really wish we had! We found this place by accident when hiking across to the east coast of the island. If it weren’t for the fact that it was our last day on the island, we would have moved hotels to the Adonys Eden in an instant. An opportunity missed.

The lodge sits on the east coast of the island, just across the island from Ravoraha, about 1500m down a scenic dirt road. It is somewhat isolated, which really adds to the attraction – no villages around, a kilometers-long, pristine ribbon of white sand beach fronting a quiet lagoon, fringed by palm trees, and you have it pretty much all to yourself. It really is a stunningly beautiful setting. Because it is on the east coast you get to catch the sunrise and enjoy a beautiful beach shaded by palms in the afternoon. The place is so quiet and peaceful, we didn’t want to leave!

The very friendly owner, Adonys, was kind enough to give us a tour of the facilities. There are currently 4 amazing bungalows, soon to be 6, and they are huge, with a large sitting room and separate bedroom, all with full length plate glass windows on the edge of the beach and lagoon – magical views. The rooms and décor look very sharp and modern and the place was spotlessly clean. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, with a large grassy lawn and shady palm trees everywhere.

We had a look at the menu and bought some drinks there but didn’t get a chance to have a meal. The menu looked good but fairly pricey, $10-15 for a main and $2-4 for a small drink. The low season price is about $75/night while during the high season it goes up to $110. And given what you get for the money, I think it is very good value. Next time we come here we are definitely staying at this place. Highly recommended to all other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
0.8 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
296 reviews
17.7 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
179 reviews
15.4 mi away
Natiora Green Lodge
Natiora Green Lodge
#5 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Soanambo Hotel
Soanambo Hotel
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakana Hotel
Lakana Hotel
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
102 reviews
14.3 mi away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#11 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonys Eden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonys Eden Lodge

Address: Sainte Marie 501, Ankarena La Grotte | Sainte Marie Island Nosy Boraha, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Nosy Boraha
Price Range: $122 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adonys Eden Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Mn from the local airport 5 charming and luxury bungalows between 70 and 100 m2 with a private terrasse ,right on the beach , in the middle of a tropical forest and facing a blue lagoon . Enjoy the long walk in the unspoiled white sand beach ,alone , with partners or with friends , all your choices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Adonys Eden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonys Eden Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing