We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but expensive food for what it is”
Review of Le Paradisier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ifaty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Paradisier
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but expensive food for what it is”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Small portions and expensive. Charging 20 USD for lobster when the catch is dirt cheap is highway robbery. The hotel is taking advantage of the fact that you are trapped to charge you that kind of money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mongo613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here,booked by Cactus Tours, mainly to use as a base to visit the Reneila Reserve.
It was perfect for this. Our chalet overlooked the ocean and had magic views from the balcony where you could sit and just relax.
Rooms were very clean and beds great. We like twin beds so i slept in the upstairs which was excellent. Mossie nets were fine and we left the louvers open and had a lovely breeze thru.
We walked the beaches and talked to the local people and generally had a great time.
The hotel grounds were also worth a walk around and they have a small walking track off the road in. Ask directions as it may be a bit hard to find.
We were on a half board basis, highly recommended , and all were excellent. There is not a lot of choice in the area as it is quite remote.
Friends staying with us used the local ladies on the beach for a 1 hr massage and enjoyed that as was only 10,000 Ar or A$5.
Others took a snorkelling trip but were a bit disappointed.
Great place to relax for a couple of days and see the Reserve but other than that not a lot to do.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here for five nights in June 2012.
Terrific place. Just turned up on spec as our first choice slightly cheaper hotel had shut down. Before we'd even agreed to take on the room, a refreshing cocktail had been thrust in to our hands. Bliss.
We were shown to our bungalow style room right on the beach. An attractive two-storey affair with a double bed upstairs and downstairs, mosquito nets for the beds, and (amazingly for Madagascar) duvets! Very comfortable beds, and modern bathrooms. The only snag with the bathroom is that the water seems to be heated by a solar panel at the back of the hut, so forst thing in the morning, hot water is a little hard to come by, but it is not enough to mark this hotel down.
The staff were amazingly friendly, and even suggested (and supplied) some local remedies when my tummy took a turn for the worse. The service was faultless, and they even managed to get some lobster in for our special Honeymoon dinner.
The one thing that they could have done would have been to have the pool open. But, as we were visiting out of season, when else would they have shut it for refurbishment? So it is only grudgingly that I take away a point and give them a "very good" review instead of an "excellent" one.
Oh, take the zebu ride to the local village - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1. It's the only one that seems not to share its sun loungers with another room. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The location, beach, pool and reception areas appeared first class but were eclipsed by the truely terrible accomodation. The rooms are in attractive thatched chalets, but because the roof and walls have an open gap between, there seemed more wildlife inside than out. The windows consisted of slats which again enticed the insects inside. The bedding was grubby with blood spots and insect marks on the sheets, the toilet seat broken, the shower drained so slowly that water lapped accross the bathroom floor having no containment and there was an ants nest located behind the shower taps. I refused the first chalet offered, which had no matress sheet, just a filthy duvet covered in ants and various other insects. Our two nights were spent huddled, fully clothed, under a net, listening to the mosquito's, resident geckos and even noisy mouse lemurs.There are no electric sockets in the chalets but one in reception that could be used by prior booking. This meant that any hair drying or battery charging had to be done behind reception. The worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I would rather camp.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel! Even though it was out of our price range, we couldn’t bring ourselves to NOT stay here after seeing the setting of the bungalow. The setting was outstanding, up on the sand dune facing the beach with fantastic views over the Mozambique Channel – an amazing place to watch sunset.

The bungalow itself was amazing – a 2 story building with a large sitting room and bathroom downstairs and an amazing bedroom upstairs with nearly 360 degree views out of the fully windowed walls. Everything was bright and airy with a nice sea breeze blowing through. The veranda out front was a great place to relax and read while admiring the fine views. All construction and fittings were of high quality and the bungalow was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Both the electricity and the hot water are solar powered.

The lodge has a great pool area – hard to tell where the infinity pool stops and the ocean begins. There is also free Wifi in the lodge area but not out in the bungalows. The beach is great for walking and it is fairly easy to walk into the village along the beach. The nearby spiny desert park is definitely worth a look if you like baobab trees and have a few hours to spare.

At about $100/night it is pricey, but in our opinion, worth every penny. I would highly recommend this place to all travelers who want a bit of a splash out in the lap of luxury and beauty. Hopefully we can come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The name says it all - thatched bungalows with white bed-linen and curtains blowing in the gentle sea breeze, the gentle sound of the sea as you drop off and as you awake, and the exotic plants in the grounds all combine to magical effect. The staff are discreet but helpful, the food is excellent and the choice of pool or beach may be the hardest decision you have to make.
Four stars rather than 5 as the hotel is rather pricey by Madagascar standards: we were charged 40,000 Ariary per head for lunch (= £12 or $19) and 60,000 Ariary for transport to and back from the Raniela nature reserve. Raniela is, however, well worth a visit. As is this little corner of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed at Le Paradisier at the start of a 2 week holiday in the South and West of Madagascar - along with 4 girl friends. We had booked one twin and one triple room, and were allocated neighbouring chalets (it sounds obvious, but at every other hotel we stayed at, we were allocated rooms at either end of the property, so couldn't just "pop next door" to see the others!), with double and single beds accordingly (twin had 1 double 1 single, and the triple had 1 double and 2 singles).
The road to get there from the airport at Tulear was not fantastic (but that's something any traveller to Africa would be used to) - a bit windy and at times sandy, so if you're likely to get motion sick, please make sure you take the necessary precautions, as some of our group weren't feeling too great when we arrived.
The rooms were really lovely and airy - and had wonderful views out to the beach. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in them though, as the pool was just too amazing to move from! For some of us, it was the very start of a holiday, while some of the girls had been on the road for a few weeks already, and we just wanted to swim, relax and enjoy doing nothing. This was the perfect place for us to do just that!
Half board was included - though we also ate lunch onsite each day as the quality of the food was really great... probably the best food we had in the whole 2 weeks, though it was all of a really high standard.
Our waitress was one of the shining stars of our entire time in Madagascar - I have to give special mention to Clementine, as she was really a wonderful personality, and made us feel very welcome. She thought her English was quite limited (and we speak no French), but she helped us understand the menu, and once we got her chatting, she had a great sense of humour, and was actually able to chat to us quite a bit!
The pool was just amazing - to the point that I didn't actually bother to go down to the beach at all during the stay.... the modern convenience of WIFI at the pool was also a treat - we could catch up on emails in between swims!
We chose Le Paradisier because it was recommended on travel forums, and I have to say, the information we got was spot on. I add my name to the list of people recommending Le Paradisier to anyone heading to this beautiful part of the world!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rastus0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifaty
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin du Roy
Le Jardin du Roy
#2 of 2 in Isalo
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#20 of 32 in Nosy Be
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Madirokely
651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarimanok
Hotel Sarimanok
#2 of 3 in Ambatoloaka
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Paradisier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Paradisier

Property: Le Paradisier
Address: | B.P. 490, Tulear 601, Ifaty, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Paradisier 4*
Number of rooms: 192

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing