We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be a dream but is a nightmare....”
Review of Ifaty Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ifaty Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Certificate of Excellence
bkk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“could be a dream but is a nightmare....”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

some examples of why it is was a nightmare:
-reservation of our front beach bungalow (confirmed with 2-3 weeks anticipation) was not available upon arrival. We had to go in a backyard bungalow with no further compensation for 1 night
-owner is awful and awkward
-service is incredibly slow (we reserved bfast at 730 and it arrived at 845.... and we were only 3 tables - excuse was that 3 days before it was new year and that everybody was tired....)4
-error on invoice at check out (owner did not apologize)
-owner is holding two poor lemurs in a cage
-swimming pool is dirty green color
-staff is trained AT ALL (only gardener did a good job !)
-no internet access as it was advertised...
-one heavy rain night and ALL our familial bungalow was raining as well.... bed, walls, lights, were full of water. No excuse received from the owner. One of the staff just brought us a key of another bungalow, but still no help nor excuses received.....

and the list can go further and further...... however i think that the place can be nice if it had another and would be run....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonioto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
35
52
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Me my girlfriend and her two sisters went there for 3 days (2 nights).
My girlfriend young sisters got themself some food not far from the hotel and brought it to the beach by the beach chair from where they ate. The owner came and confiscated the dishes while my Girlfriend and I were away.

When I got back I went to the reception asking for the confiscated dishes so we can return it to the other restaurant (what an odd situation, this is so lame). The owner then tells me that we cannot bring any food or drink on the hotel property or in the room and he will not return me the dishes. Ok, fine by me since I have his dishes from the dinner the night before still in my room which i will keep and return to the other restaurant instead.

But I asked, what about if I bring a chocolate bar from outside the hotel to my room and he say NO this is not permitted it is an international hotel rules etc…..Then he claimed that a client from bungalow #1 complained about the dishes on the beach attracted flies which my girlfriend sisters totally disagree saying there was no flies and the plates was on top of each other with the top one reverses to cover all food trace and prevent insect to get in. From there we were arguing very loudly because he was talking none sense to me and being very rude.

I went to many hotels and so many times I ordered food from outside which they delivered up to my room after having reception call me to authorized them to come up. Who does not buy beer, water or snack from outside the hotel and bring it to the room? I don’t think he knows about international hotel rules.

The morning just before we leave, the housekeeper come and asks for their restaurant plates of the night before. We played stupid saying someone took them already. Then the owner's wife come and start yelling at everyone, me my girlfriend sisters my girlfriend, but not only regarding the dishes we did not return, but now also talking about a client wife from bungalow #1 complaining that one of my girlfriend sisters was flirting with her husband (always yelling super loud and pointing her finger 6 inches away from my girlfriend faces). I really thought she was going to hit my girlfriend at some point so I tried to put myself in between them but she was so close to my girlfriend that I bumped into her a bit. She then screamed that I tried to beat her up and calling out her husband (the owner).

My girlfriend young sister's never flirted with anybody especially not with someone that could be her grand pa (the men in bungalow #1), we all saw him looking at the young sisters of my girlfriend all day long and even with his wife by his side he kept looking at them still.

What a crazy unpleasing hotel experience in every way!

Their restaurant:
I ate there the first night with a huge cockroach by my side which cut my appetite right away.
Service is ridiculous with the waitress taking bread left over from one table bringing it to another one.
.
Their Bungalow:
The one we had was all right, at first looks nice but soon discovered many little spiders in many corner, with some unknown insects in the bed after I first sat on it. A complete ant’s colony was in the bathroom. (Their housekeeper should really be shown how to housekeep for real).

None of us slept well during our two nights; first we were unfortunately not right on the beach so we didn't get to feel the breeze at night with the windows open. Second, there is gas generator power from 6 pm to 8 am but every night the generator failed for the most part of the night which left us in complete darkness without power to make the little fan running. It was suffocating


The beach and the pool:
The sand is very nice but the beach is full of algae (they could get someone to clean it for less than 50 cents a day). As for the pool, it’s alright, nothing bad or good to say about it, just be careful if you are a sexy woman. the Old granpa around will stare at you beyond believe and you might be accused by their wife and the owner’s wife to flirt with them after looking back at them (isn’t it normal to look back at someone staring). all the bungalow very close to each other and the pool is in the middle of all that.

I also read a review where the reviewer say the pirogue tour is offered by the hotel for 24 euro from which the owner replied they offer it at 4 euro.
I was there a few days ago and sorry Mr. Owner if we look at your pirogue fishing tour for example, the hotel offer it for a ridiculous 38 000 Ar per person which as of now equal 13 euro per person when not even 3 meters away on the beach you can get it for 4 euro per person and less for same size boat.

According to my experience, Ifaty beach club is a place where the client is always wrong and the owner is always right. If you get into a situation that you believe is not right reconsider before bringing it up to the owner because you might get into a fight. The owner is impolite, rude, have no sense of customer service and same thing for his wife. I have never seen such a joke in my whole life so far.

I strongly recommend avoiding this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bassboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toscana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel has a nice location with a beautiful beach.
The food was good even the service was slow (mora mora).
The bungalow was comfortable execpt for the curtain- instead a door!- used to separate the room from the bathroom. There were mosquito nets on the bed.
I really disliked seeing lemures in a cage, it's very sad seeing imprisioned animals.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siltoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The place is on a very nice beach, not far from Ifaty. The structure is simple but well done. Generally also clean. Staff is however slow. Moreover, what makes very unpleasant the stay is the owner: impolite, unsympathetic, at times even aggressive. Also, tariffs (room, meals, trasports) are never clear and you end up being overcharged. It is not a nice sensation that of feeling as someone is constantly trying to rip you off money. All in all not a positve experience (unfortunately).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usuaeulsusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The best value of the hotel is its location, in the middle of the village and on the beach. The other hotels in the same or higher category are very far from Ifaty "downtown".
The swimming pool is the second value, nice and clean.
Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the poor service: we spent 2 nights and the room was not cleaned. Moreover, we had to wait for 20 to 30 mn before being served for the breakfast. It s a pity because the rooms are correct and the value for money is correct (100 000 Ar for a room for 3)
The restaurant was empty, so we preferred to have diner at "chez Freddy, 200 meters away from the hotel.
With an effort from the staff, the hotel could be perfect !

In the 4 days we where there they never cleaned our room once or replace toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed here oct 2010 and the place was empty due to the political issues affecting tourism. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed at 89000Ar per night. That said the room was gorgeous. Ensuite, good mosquito net, just a lovely room, with sliding glass doors out onto the beach. Our own hammock and deckchairs right outside and others dotted around the resort alongside sun loungers. As we had it to ourselves we could just move from one to another all day.

There was a safe in the room which was nice, as was the fact that you didn't have to carry money for drinks etc - just put it on your room. There was a list of hotel organised expeditions on the wall with crazy prices. Just arrange your pirogue trip to the reef, or trip to the forest with someone on the beach to get a better price. (Use positive reinforcement and give your trade to someone who doesn't bother you over and over, but instead asks, then allows you to think about it and get back to them) The best thing about the hotel was the pool though. The sea is not good when the tide is out and so a pool makes all the difference. The whole resort was kept spotlessly clean and we felt very welcomed the whole time.

As we were the only people in the resort the restaurant wasn't open. On the first night the owner asked us what we wanted and someone cooked us the most delicious fish in lemon sauce with sauteed potatoes. We didn't want to bother them again (and as we didn't know how much they would charge for the meal) so we ate elsewhere for the rest of the visit.

The worst thing about the place was constantly being hassled to buy things if you were laying on the beach. It's just not what you want on holiday to be saying "no, thank-you, goodbye" constantly. You just want to read. This, plus the fact you needed a boat to snorkal made me prefer the beaches in Tampo bay Masoala

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indri45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Well spending a month in Madagascar and staying in about 14 differant hotels this has got to be one of the worst in Madagascar.
When we first arrived there, we where very impressed, it looked very nice as ifaty is in a beautiful area and has a stunning beach.

We spent 3 nights in the hotel it had a nice beach bungalow but thats about where the nicecitys ended. For one they advertise themselves as a 3 star resort but everything the hotel offers is at 5 star prices. The average price for 3 star hotel dinner throughout madagascar was about 3 euro'sThey charge 6 euro's All there activerties are really over priced like to hire a pirague to the reef locally is 4 euros they charge 24 euros
In the 4 days we where there they never cleaned our room once or replace toilet paper.

When we orderd lunch the one day they brought us the wrong dish and when we said that we never ordered it they brought us the correct dish but expected us to pay for both.
They got very upset when we refused so we asked to speak to the manager and he refused to come out of the kitchen to sort it out .

There are alot of nice looking hotels in ifaty so save your money and fustration and book a differant one

  • Liked — The setting is beautiful and they have a nice pool
  • Disliked — How they rip off tourist with there out overcharged prices
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank paulsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickif, Propriétaire at Ifaty Beach Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Google Translation
Je suis Patrick propriétaire de l’hôtel Ifaty Beach Club Français lyonnais et je remercie le nombre de visiteurs en mon établissement. L’importance de critiques m’amène à penser que mon œuvre que j’ai crée de toute pièce fonctionne bien
. Je m’explique sur certains points
J’ai souvent vu des clients furieux de payer à la fin de séjour leur addition malgré que nos tarifs soient affichés et être à la limite de la violence.
Je ne suis pas quelqu’un qui me laisse insulter ou frapper, d’autre part pour répondre à certaines critiques nous ne louons pas de pirogues à 24 Euros mais à 4 Euros, on ne fait pas la piste non plus en 30 Mn le temps nécessaire est d’au au moins une heure et demi.
Passons sur le fait que la population nous déteste alors que nous sommes pratiquement les seuls à leur fournir nos voitures et bateaux pour leurs malades ou disparus gratuitement
Certains voyageurs procèdent à des enquêtes de police plutôt que de profiter de leurs vacances non mais …
La restauration est trop lente ? C’est vrai nous ne sommes pas Mac Donald et nos groupes électrogènes ne nous permettent pas de congeler ou d’utiliser des micros ondes et de sortir par magie des plats en 5 minutes. Je suis satisfait que dans toutes ces critiques nous n’ayons pas encore été taxés de mauvais restaurateurs ou voir d’empoisonneur
Il est plus simple de commander un plat avec un peu d’avance que de s’attabler en ordonnant d’être servi comme en Europe 03 minutes après, ici on est dans le pays du Mora Mora qui veut dire : doucement !!!!
Voir des critiques telles que pendant 04 jours du papier toilette n’a pas été remplacé ou du ménage n’a pas été fait ne peut ’être qu’exagéré, Quel client supporterait cet état de fait et aurait attendu 04 jours avant de réclamer.
L’outil internet est désastreux et met en péril les personnes et les entreprises aussi j’invite tout mes clients à communiquer avec nos réceptionnistes et le cas échéant de saisir la directrice d’exploitation Ony VOLOJANHARY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifaty
7.9 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#5 of 11 in Ifaty
103 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ikotel
Ikotel
#10 of 11 in Ifaty
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-la Lodge
Shangri-la Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ambatomilo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Princesse du Lagon
Princesse du Lagon
#1 of 7 in Ifaty
111 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Maroloko
Villa Maroloko
#1 of 7 in Ifaty
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Padi Resort
Poseidon Padi Resort
#2 of 7 in Ifaty
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ifaty Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ifaty Beach Club

Property: Ifaty Beach Club
Address: 285 Bp | 601 TULEAR, Ifaty, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ifaty Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ifaty Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing