We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, great staff, good food, no wifi”
Review of Princesse du Lagon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princesse du Lagon
Ranked #1 of 8 Ifaty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The good: The staff were amazing and helpful. They make the place what it is.
The pool is also beautiful. Restaurant serves reasonable but slightly expensive food.
Beachfront location.

The not good:
No wifi (this annoys me as they advertised wifi on booking.com when we booked)
Very little English spoken. (Madagascar after all....)
No working in room safe (the safe was sitting on the shelf in the room, I literally picked it up and walked off with it),
The bathrooms have no doors (europeans might be cool with the concept of listening to their partner on the toilet . I'm not)
Bathrooms had poor drainage design. After every shower it was one giant puddle. After 5 days the bathroom kinda stunk
Hawkers stood on the property boundary yelling at me trying to sell me stuff. One in particular (benjamin) was a serial pest. I expect this in a cheap place but not here.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom drainage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brassones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Brassones,

The Princesse Team and I would like to thank you for staying with us. We always try to provide a good and friendly service as we want our place to stay small and beautiful, like a big home.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we regret that you encountered some discomfort.
Indeed, when you stayed with us we had some temporary plumbing problems, and we apologize for this.
We also did not have found an efficient wifi system. As you know the place is very remote and there is no water, no phone and no electricity in Mangily. Mobile phone and 3G Internet is available only since 2010. Now we have managed to install a wifi which works properly.

Thanks to your remarks we have made some changes, and the safes are secured to the wall.

Thanks again, we hope to see you again
Best regards,

Yannick Kichenin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

At the end of our holiday we stayed in this very pleasant small boutique hotel directly at the beach. Nice, charming rooms, good food, pool at the seaside and the best place to relax after 2 weeks filled with hiking and traveling. The owners are very nice people, really trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When it appeared that our flight from Tulear only left in the evening in stead of the morning as planned, we could stay in our room without any extra charge.
Don't forget to book a massage in the spa, it is excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow!
What a great place to start one's holliday in Mada!
Really friendly owner Yannick aka "Mrs. Schumacher"
Nice clean rooms, good restaurant/ food, really comfy beds!
Yannick also supports local activities and therefore gives
the village an economical boost
Thumbs up for this place!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a beachroom # 4, 1st floor,very private in the corner and a lovely seabreeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crap_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Africa-Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patvignoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank ratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifaty
0.6 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
0.1 mi away
Ifaty Beach Club
Ifaty Beach Club
#8 of 11 in Ifaty
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#7 of 11 in Ifaty
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Mira de Madio Rano
0.5 mi away
Ikotel
Ikotel
#10 of 11 in Ifaty
20 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ankasy Lodge
Ankasy Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ambatomilo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesse du Lagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesse du Lagon

Address: Mangily | Tulear-Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ifaty
Price Range: $42 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesse du Lagon 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Princesse du Lagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing