We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was still there.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ifaty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Simple, clean comfortable rooms with amazing sunset views. Tasty food that changed every day. Friendly, attentive staff and plenty to do. Alternatively you could bury yourself in a good book and the view. I wish I'd never left!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
46
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really enjoyed the three nights we stayed at this excellent hotel. The location was beautiful, right by the beach, it was peaceful and there were lots of activities you could do. We went to see the baobab forest, the whales and did scuba diving and snorkeling. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The atmosphere was very relaxed and we wished we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely hotel in a stunning location with some rooms right on the beach (however, occupants of these have a fairly steep walk up steps to the restaurant/hotel). Our room had lovely views across the Mozambique Channel and was clean and comfortable. Meals were good and the staff friendly and helpful. As with many Madagascar hotels, a torch is essential as electricity goes off fairly early at night and doesn't come back on until about 8.30 am. This hotel was the perfect place to simply relax and unwind after our tour. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The journey to get to Ifaty's Hotel de la Plage was beyond worth it and an excellent ending to my Madagascar adventure. If you scuba dive or fancy getting to know the area on an ATV, this is the right place for you as the owner's son is eager to share the area with you. The reef in the Mozambique channel is ok (don't expect the reefs of Cairns or Belize) but the huge stingrays (about 8 feet wide) are enough to make the dive memorable. There is a refreshing silence on this side of the island, so if you want to truly get away from the rut called corporate enslavement, head out to Madagascar's version of Bora Bora: Ifaty!

Room Tip: Ensure you book a bungalow with an ocean view as the sunset is stellar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

This out of the way hotel was quite lovely...it was the cheap version of the French Polynesia (minus the aqua blue water). The diving in the Mozambique Channel was average--albeit much better than my last dive in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica. The food at the hotel was above average & cheap. The French owners were very attentive & some of the staff went out of their way to try to speak English (mixed with Malagasy & French). I wish to some day return there as I felt completely away from the hustle & bustle of living in big cities and was a great place to end my long trek throughout the island.... Great place to go if you need time to read/write/meditate.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Slow internet access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ifaty hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
5.7 mi away
Ifaty Beach Club
Ifaty Beach Club
#7 of 11 in Ifaty
131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Bamboo Club
Hotel Bamboo Club
#4 of 11 in Ifaty
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel La Mira de Madio Rano
3.9 mi away
Ikotel
Ikotel
#10 of 11 in Ifaty
19 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princesse du Lagon
Princesse du Lagon
#1 of 7 in Ifaty
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty

Property: Hotel de la Plage - Ifaty
Address: 397 Bp | Tuléar, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing