We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Camp in Tsavo West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Voi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Camp in Tsavo West”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Go to Finch Hattons and go back in time. It's realy like you've stepped out of a time machine instead of a car. The surroundings, the buildings, the staff everything gives you that extra feeling you're looking for on safari. The food is more than excellent, as is the wine. Rooms are giving you the same feeling as the rest of the camp. Day and night hippo's and crocodiles swim by. The entourage make you want to stay forever

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenian-wildlife-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited FH in May of last year. The staff are out of this world, catered to our every need for the duration of the stay. We did not have a chance to go for the game drives, but the pool provided us with a chance to lap in the luxury of the place.
The 7 course dinner, the early morning breakfast as well as the 3 course lunch blew us away.

Luxury in the wild. We wanted to go again this year, but the renovations put paid to our plans. But as soon as FH is open, we shall surely visit again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived in Kenya with little idea of what our hosts had organised, first destination Tsavo park and the serene camp Finch Hattons. If there was ever a way to immerse yourself into an African adventure, Finch Hattons is the place to go.

Set next to 3 ponds in the middle of Tsavo park, these luxury safari tents over look the water and all the animals, insects and plants that fill this lush environment. The whole camp is open to the wild so as you enjoy an excellent meal you can witness a hippo with its baby slip into the pond behind you. I have stayed in fenced camps but nothing compares to the feeling of being in the open, you might think thats scary but trust me you feel safe.

Apart from the beautiful tents and environment, you will be pleasantly surprised by the great service and food. I am telling you that you do not often find food of such quality in such a remote region, very impressive.

In conclusion if you want live the dream of an African safari. Stay at Finch Hattons in Tsavo.

Room Tip: They are all good, each tent is arranged to have great views over the water and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chundlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited before the renovation shutdown (1st March-1st December) as a family of four (boys aged 10 & 13) and had an AMAZING time. The tents were beautifully arranged with a real 1920s feel with the furniture and lamps. the beds were comfortable and the showers lovely. We were happy to accept that it might take a couple of minutes of running the water for the hot to come through as you truly are in the middle of nowhere. We had to ask for coathangers and a bottle opener but these were brought very quickly with profuse apologies. The tents are not designed for families (it is only in recent years that children under 12 have been accepted). Friends we were travelling with asked for an extra bed and fitted in their travel cot, but we obviously needed two tents. After the renovations, there will be few family tents (two bedrooms, one main sitting area) - this will be ideal for us and many others.

The food was absolutely magnificent: seven courses in the evenings, three courses at lunch. The drinks are quite expensive but we felt that the service and feeling of complete luxury more than made up for the cost.

We went on a short game drive and saw some elephants, giraffe, zebra etc - no cats - but to be honest, we went to relax and take it easy. The green mamba snake that appeared in front of as we walked across a bridge was excitement enough. The pool was wonderful and the waiters brought us drinks during the day.

Visitors should be aware that the camp is unfenced so animals can wander in if they choose. Aside from the hippos and crocodiles we saw in the pools, there were just a couple of bushbucks that we watched from our breakfast table. You are asked not to walk alone after dark (you book a guard to collect you from your tent for dinner and they escort you back afterwards) as the hippos and crocodiles often come out of the water at night.

I have to admit to having reservations before we went as to whether or not it was a suitable holiday for a family with two energetic boys. My concerns were completely unfounded and my boys loved it. The pool was the focus of their attention, but they also enjoyed walking round the camp. I would go back there in a flash. My husband and I wallowed in the luxuriousness of it all, were extremely impressed with the food (they ought to produce their own recipe book) and really felt like we had found something very special.

We had a look at tent 16, which is their prototype for the renovations - we liked it and hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a beautiful resort, incredible food, lovely staff, and of course spectacular wildlife. And we were there in the summer rainy season -- it was still perfect. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived at Finch Hattons with very high hopes and were not disappointed by the completely idyllic location, the utterly charming and helpful staff and the food. It is the most beautiful and peaceful place with wonderful bird life, hippos, crocs and giraffes right outside your tent. We loved the sight of one hippo being used by an egret as a fishing platform and another by a large terrapin for sunbathing purposes! Unfortunately, we didn't manage to see any of the cats but I gather there is currently a leopard with her cubs prowling about. The only reason I have given it 4 rather 5 stars is because the tents and decor were very tired and the rooms very basic with no frills such as nice towels, coat hangers or dressing gowns. The soaps etc seemed somewhat aged and random and the wiring inadequate. The decor in the main areas was also very tired and "brown" and not the colonial sort of look I felt we were sold. The tablecloths and napkins were poor quality, the chairs outside very uncomfortable and jam and butter in plastic packets not really acceptable in this calibre of hotel. The food, however, was excellent and breakfast overlooking the lake was truly lovely. They also do a mean Dawa. I know the camp is due for renovation and have seen no 16 in its embryonic stage - it looks wonderful, with inside and outside showers and lots of space and a fabulous position. I am sure that this will make a big difference and with the much needed attention to detail, comfort and design Finch Hatton will be an unbeatable place to stay. The staff are certainly excellent, dedicated, helpful and the smileyest I have met to date! They bent over backwards to produce delicious lunch boxes for our game drives. We will definitely be giving the new, face lifted version a visit next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagofferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The drive to Finch Hattons from the Mtito Andei gate was quite long and tiring and kept thinking that the trip had better be worth it. We saw a few giraffes, antelopes and wildebeast on the way which added a nice touch. We arrived at around 5 p.m and were warmly received by William and Robert with a cool towel and a lovely glass of fresh juice. The main building has the dining, bar, lounge and library. The building is built in the 1920's colonial style with thatched roof and lovely wooden beams. Our walk to our room (tent) which was interesting as we came across a baby crocodile basking in the sun. The lodge does not have any fencing and so you are real close to the animals. The tent was tastefully furnished in the colonial style with beautiful hard wood furniture, a huge leather bed, lovely rugs and clean crisp sheets. The view from the tent overlooked the hippo pool which was teaming with birds and crocodiles. We had tea on the terrace with the view of Mt. Kilimanjaro in the distance. Dinner was an amazing experience of a 7 course meal served on fine porcelain, crisp table cloths, crystal glasses, and silver crockery, not to mention the exceptional service from Felix, Leonard, Boniface and Elvis and to the soothing sound of Motzart. It was rather unreal - being out in the wild with all the lap of luxury! The walk back to the tent with our escort Alex was very exhilirating knowing that an animal could emerge from the bush at any time. As we stood at the porch of our tent we spotted a lioness about 200 meters away. This is the first time we have seen a lion in Tsavo and we were very pleased. After a great night's sleep we awoke to a sumptuous breakfast served on the terrace. The choice of food offered was amazing. One of the things that makes FH stand out is the staff. They take care of your every need and ensure that you are comfortable. Truly outstanding! What also added to this great stay was the warmth amongst the guests. Great conversations, lots of laughter and good fun too.
FH is about to undergo renovation and I am glad we visited it now as the experience is well worth the journey back in time before any change is made! A must visit.

Room Tip: Tent 15 is the honeymoon tent which has lots of extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
28.4 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
738 reviews
41.8 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
732 reviews
18.8 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.3 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
321 reviews
32.9 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 8 in Tsavo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Hattons Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Hattons Luxury Camp

Property: Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Address: | Taita Taveta County, Tsavo National Park West 00506, Kenya (Formerly Tsavo Safari Camp (Finch Hattons))
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Finch Hattons Luxury Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp is a camp rich in history, passion and committed to conservation. It is situated in the magnificent southern region of Tsavo West National Park, known as "The Land of Lava, Springs and Man-eaters". The camp was re-opened in February 2015 after undergoing a total refurbishment and adding facilities like a spa and wellness centre, fully equipped gym, look out tower, star gazing terrace and a children's recreation room. Experiencing Africa in colonial campaign fashion has by no means been this luxurious. The thrill of Africa is experienced from intimate 17 tented luxury suites, which are positioned around a water hole fed by a natural spring from Mount Kilimanjaro. The open plan design of the tents invite the cooling breeze closer over the water, transporting all the African sounds, tastes and smells right onto your doorstep, enabling you to experience the intense interface between nature and man. Combine incredible game viewing during a safari, with fine dining, excellent service and a spot of relaxation by the infinity swimming pool or a spa treatment at the wellness centre. The attention to detail, comfort and luxury present in our accommodation is reminiscent of a bygone era, to ensure you always experience 'Luxury Bush Camping', at it's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Finch Hattons Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finch Hattons Safari Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing