We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden pearl close to Tanzania-Kenya border”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl close to Tanzania-Kenya border”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We where pretty tired traveling from Tanzania Tarangire park to this location BUT NEVER wanted to miss it afterwords. It was basically our best stay in the 8 days safari. Scenery-accomodation-location and atmosphere are breathtaking. Food was excellent and the tents fantastic. More than enough luxury. A few meters away from hippos and crocs ! Still cant believe it.
If anyone is planning to do a safari Kenia Tsavo-East-West, dont forget this one in your travel schedule.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Indeed Voyager Safari Camp Ziwani is a Jewel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks for being a great Ambassador
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    58
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
153
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 for 1 night. The tents were very comfortable, with such good views. The service and food was outstanding. We were made to feel very welcome. The evening walking safari was fun, and our guide Mike was so knowledgeable. The crocs were exciting, as were the hippos. Worth the drive!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKReyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Glad you enjoyed the whole experience at the Voyager Safari camp, Ziwani. It was our pleasure to be of service.
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sørvad, Ringkobing, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed there one night, and could easily have used more time. The staff was excellent, food was amazing, and the tents was a very nice place to stay and sleep in. Good wildlife to watch around the camp. We wood for sure like to go back there another time:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henning Grønbæk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
It such a privilege to host you and we are glad you enjoyed very much.
Good Day.
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Ziwani over Easter and we had an excellent stay. The staff were very friendly and took excellent care of us. The tented camp has a water body that is frequented by hippos and crocodiles. And with the camp at the fringe of Tsavo West, it offers excellent opportunities for animal "spotting". We took excursions to nearby Lake Chala and Grogan's Castle.

The trip by road can be long especially if you traverse the park especially during the rainy season (the rains wash out part of the roads).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
With the improvement of the road networks in Kenya, Ziwani is a must go. From Nairobi you are better off coming in through Loitoktok, Njukini Road while from Mombasa you use Voi.
The latter is being worked on and may take some time to be completed.
However, as you rightly note. This is such a wow weekend hideout literally unequaled in Kenya.
We look for ward to see you many more times in future
Good Day
The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only stayed one night (unfortunately) and apart from us there was only 1 other family staying at the time. We stayed in 'tent' 25 and it was glamping at its best. We couldn't complain about the room or the amazing views!
The food was excellent and top restaurant quality (well done chef Felix). Our waiter was Joseph and we couldn't fault his service (nor any of the other staff!). Food was full board and drinks extra.
We went on an afternoon and early morning nature walk with Simon and found him to be very knowledgable and informative about the animals and surroundings. We saw so many animals on these walks that we walked around saying wow and amazing over and over again!!! We went for an evening drive and had 3 hippos walk out in front of us!!! This was along with warthogs, wilderbeest, impala's, bat eared foxes and much more!
This place really is fabulous to stay at and we truely felt like VIP's!! The grounds and the views from sitting by the lake are amazing - Kilimanjaro, crocs & hippos - what more can you ask for!!!
We were gutted we had to leave the camp and would certainly come back again. One night is not enough!!

Room Tip: tent no 25 has amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are grateful you had a nice time in the Voyager Ziwani Camp. We agree with you the place is special and consider ourselves lucky and blessed to be working here.
You are always invited for a longer time.
Be our Guest again in the near future
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Ziwani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went as part of a birding group for 2 nights at Ziwani. The birdlife around the camp itself was wonderful. The large water body was full of crocs, hippos and birds with a gorgeous view of Kilimanjaro. Having sundowners overlooking the water was very pleasant. As it is out of the Park we were able to go for a night drive and saw at least 10-14 bat-eared fox! Their naturalist was very knowledgeable and was happy to come with us at odd hours. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very welcoming. Food is very very good with large portions and they cater well for vegans and vegetarians. Overall a wonderful place. A bit out of the way sometimes and quite far from Lake Jipe but worth going to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are glad you had a nice stay at Voyager Tsavo. This place is a Jewel in the Desert and is a Must Go for any Birders.
We hope you will be able ta stay a longer time in future as there is way too much one can do.
Thanks for making it Voyager Tsavo
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Only had one night here but were treated exceptionally well. The tented lodges are comfortable, clean and secured against insects whilst allowing you to feel truly part of the surroundings. Plenty of wildlife to see without leaving the camp. Dinner was the nicest I had throughout the whole holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are truly glad you came, you stayed and going by this posting you enjoyed. You are correct that driving to Voyager Ziwani is by itself an experience.
It is particularly enthralling when you pass the Emali Loitoktok way. The View of Kilimanjaro as you go is awesome and the whole experience pretty scenic.
The Food in the Unit is special and as you rightly mention nowhere can you enjoy such a view of the lake with Animals and the Mt. Kilimanjaro in the backyard.
All super.
The Team will be honored to host you again.
The Voyager Ziwani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
28.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
36.9 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
32.2 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
34.4 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
48.3 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West

Property: Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Address: Tsavo National Park West 34117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyager Ziwani offers uniquely personal and adventurous safari experience, situated in the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, on the edge of one of Kenya's least explored parks.Located on 30,000-acre private farm on the western edge of Tsavo West National Park, Voyager Ziwani sits on the edge of a small secluded dam on the Sante River. The camp's environs are home to hundreds of basking hippos, while a short drive will deposit you among the big game of one of Kenya's wildest national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing