We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planning return trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Planning return trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

One of the best experiences we have had as a family was our second visit to Ziwani. The refurbished tents are amazingly comfortable. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. There is also lots of activities to do like the farm visit, Lake Chala etc. Not to mention the fishing in the dam. As a Mum I had "me" time as the kids were kept busy fishing.
Like I said we are planning our return trip.
Well done Heritage for Ziwani.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this wonderful tribute to the Voyager Ziwani. We are grateful you liked our new tents and the refurbishments that we have been doing. Thank you for the good comments on the new activities that have been included. It is the comments such as yours that keep us going. We all look forward to hosting you again soon.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    58
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
153
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is camping Rolls Royce style,only 25 'tents' all overlooking a dammed river,where hippo and crocs can be seen plus lots of visiting animals and birds.Dining is done almost al fresco with a clear view of the animals.
Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent and cooked to order.
Tents were luxurious with tiled floors and internal hot shower and toilet.Evenings tents were sprayed for bugs before hot water bottles were put in your bed ,sheets turned down and flaps shut.
The lodge has its own naturalist who will take you on a guided walk pointing out animals, birds, and plants plus footprints and animal droppings!but he does have a spear for protection! This is one of the few lodges where you can take a night Safari as it isnt in a national park,we were fortunate to see a Cheetah and many other nocturnal animals.
In conclusion a great place to stay,and forget your idea of tents.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayneandmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your recently posted review of Ziwani. We are grateful it was a good experience for you and makes you want to be a Scout again. You will be happy to know all of us who work here are literally Scouts and we have enjoyed and continue enjoying being part of this awesome arrangement. We can only say welcome to the TEAM.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for one night as part of our safari and although I was a bit apprehensive before we went that it was a tented camp I really didn't need to worry. The camp itself is beautiful in the most amazing surroundings with a good view of Mt Kilimanjaro.The tents are really like big rooms with tile flooring and separate toilet and shower room. The beds are proper beds, not campbeds, and the rooms were very clean. There wasn't a mozzi net around the bed like the other lodge we stayed at but once the staff sprayed your tents at night while you went to dinner and zipped down the tents (double skinned), nothing was getting in (not even the monkeys). We arrived for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised as lunch was à la carte with a good choice, dinner was hot/cold buffet, which you ate on the grass in front of the lake so make sure you wear a cardigan so not to get bitten and also felt a little colder here. I recommend doing the nature walk and the night safari, both were totally amazing experiences; we saw a herd of around 40-50 elephants on the night safari so close I couldn't believe my eyes. I would advise to wear long thin trousers, trainers and a long sleeve top, preferably with a hood as the mozzies were at their worst and I'm glad I had the correct attire on unlike the other couple with us who found the experience not a nice one. The only downside for me was the long journey from Tsavo West gate (by Voi lodge), it took around 3hrs on the most horendous roads but you do get used to them. Even when you get to the outskirts of the Ziwani camp, it takes another 20mins to get to the entrance. This aside, I'm so glad we went to this camp because it made our safari the more of an amazing experience and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knights926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasike_Wasike, Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, March 21, 2016
Dear Guest,
Allow me to acknowledge this post though belatedly. So many things have happened since with the improvement of the Road structure being the most significant. We invite you to visit again and assure you that you will truly enjoy.
With Kind Regards,
Wasike Wasike
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

The hotel met my expectations - it had a good view of Mt Kilimanjaro and the tented camps were clean and comfortable ... even for a tent experience. They had a good variety of food although the quality is hit or miss.. I particularly enjoyed the walking safari and the night game drive (only possible cause the hotel is outside the national park). However, keep in mind its quite a drive from the main Tsavo West gate (2 hours drive). Do fly over if possible..I would recommend a hotel in the park itself...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasike_Wasike, Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, March 21, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the stay in Voyager a few years ago. The place has since changed as Road structure has really improved. We invite you to visit again in the near future.
With Kind Regards,
Wasike Wasike
Group Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a 7 day safari.

One of the best places we stayed. Excellent service, immaculate tents, great food. Hippos & crocs visible from your tent! Great time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OisinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review you posted on the Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a nice time.
The team looks forward to your visit again soon.
Kind Regards,
Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

The location is fantastic, and the camp is in front of a small lake with a lot of animals. The food is good and the service is excellent

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasike_Wasike, Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, March 21, 2016
Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Wasike Wasike
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torpoint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

This is the 3rd tim we have been to Zewani and each time we have not ben disappointed. If you are a lover of birdlife this is the place to go. The only problem was that they did not feed the birds outside the breakfast room this time. We stayed for 3 days and the peace, tranquility, and the staff were wonderful, form Solom the Manager, Joshua our waiter, Peter our chef, and not forgetting Simon ( who took us back to our tenta at night) who was a mind of information and knows enough to be a naturalist and guide. We will definately return. We were served Al a Carte every night. (We did not have a buffet but were waited on by Joshua for every meal.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
The management acknowledges this review. We are grateful this is your third time to Ziwani and you will be back.
We are currently working on a new circuit that will include visiting the Farm, The Solaita and the Jipe. There is so much History about this place and I believe you will be delighted to experience these new offers when you next come around.
I have passed your kind comments to Solomon, Peter and the team and they all do appreciate them.
We look forward to hosting you soon
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
28.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
36.9 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
32.2 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
34.4 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
48.3 mi away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West

Property: Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Address: Tsavo National Park West 34117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyager Ziwani offers uniquely personal and adventurous safari experience, situated in the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, on the edge of one of Kenya's least explored parks.Located on 30,000-acre private farm on the western edge of Tsavo West National Park, Voyager Ziwani sits on the edge of a small secluded dam on the Sante River. The camp's environs are home to hundreds of basking hippos, while a short drive will deposit you among the big game of one of Kenya's wildest national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing