We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the lodge we were most looking forward to and was the last night of our 4 night 5 day safari. The drive up to it is impressive what a sight! We had checked in at lunchtime up at Sarova Taita Hills Lodge so on arrival just had to get keys. As we entered reception the elephants were drinking at the waterhole so close you could almost touch them from the terrace! What an experience! Rooms were clean, not exceptional but more than adequate, gad an electric problem that was sorted and put right immediately. Drinks on the terrace before afternoon game drive watching over waterholes - I think 4 in total. The animals all seemed to come to the waterholes on way to their overnight 'place' and back again in morning. The only let down was the restaurant - it seemed very disorganised and they were struggling with the 'full house' they had, food was ok but not great and the restaurant didn't seem to be organised to make it flow - the accompaniments were before the main courses - u need to choose the main component of your meal before you know what goes with it! Breakfast was much the same! In their defence it was really busy as the elephant count was on but having said that they should really be able to cope with a 'full house'!
Overall a fantastic setting let down a little by the disorganisation and the staff in restaurant were either new/nervous or poorly trained. The words headless chickens spring to mind!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 772 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

After retirement, hubby and I had a safari on our to do list. We booked a trip to Tsavo and Hamisi, our agent from Ringo safaris, changed our itinerary because the game were in Taita hills not Tsavo West, and included an overnight at Salt Lick lodge. I was delighted as I stayed here 20+ years ago and loved it then. We were given an upper room, with a good view to the watering hole. We could see elephants and baboons from our window and took some fantastic photos. We then noticed a herd of elephants coming to the hotel and visiting the freshwater pool, actually at the front of the hotel. We left our room, and went to the viewing area, and were literally 10 feet from a whole herd of elephants including babies, drinking water. The only thing that spoiled this experience were the other guests. They were loud, shouting "take a photo with me" (not in English!), they were using flashes on their cameras, and some were jostling for position. It is a shame the elephants behaved better. The experience was awesome and one of the highlights of our holiday. The lodge is okay, spoiled by guests smoking in communal areas and inconsiderate noisy residents who had no regard for other residents who wanted to sleep early due to early morning game drives. Food was okay, buffet style. Drinks were quite expensive but a cocktail was about £6 which is not bad.
At night, I saw and heard a disagreement between an elephant and water buffalo from my room, which is difficult to top!
Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Food was ok, this is possibly one of the least disabled friendly hotels about but the Kenyans will help for there tips. Careful of the baboons hopping the fence and grabbing stuff. The views are obviously good as you are in the air

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1007Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have recently come back from Kenya and had the delight of staying here for two nights, originally booked only for one night here and one is Tsavo lodge (but were upgraded). Fab location, great scenery, great viewing spots for the animals and fab base for game drives! The staff we felt were a little frosty and seemed to ignore us once they knew we were all inclusive, food was nice though!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms near reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyhaverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Incredible setting, amazing to look out of your window and see the animals at the watering hole. We had a free upgrade from another lodge down the road and considered ourselves very lucky indeed. Rooms are pleasant enough and built like round turrets which makes them interesting. Food is perfectly acceptable buffet style arrangement. Very pleasant staff and wouldn't have missed this trip for the world

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dragonslayerhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 3 amazing nights at the lodge arranged by Nadra at Safaris online. Everything went perfect, we were looked after brilliantly, Staff at the lodge are friendly warm and helpful. We saw loads of animals and had a magical time there. The food was lovely, the lodge is awesome and I highly recommend Nadra as she was simply fantastic!
The views are great, we had our own minibus and driver for the duration.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Sarova Salt Lick on the last night of our week long Mara to Coast safari with Pollman's/Hayes and Jarvis. We were originally scheduled to be at the Taita Hills Lodge a few km away but we were given a complimentary upgrade so after lunch at the Hill lodge we headed down to the salt lick.

It's pretty impressive from the minute you walk into reception, when we did there were several elephants drinking just metres from the check-in desk. Turns out they were pretty much everywhere and any time of the day or night you could look outside and see elephants!

Our room was in the first cluster to the right of the main building and looked right out at the watering hole. Room was average compared to other lodges and fairly small, but the natural entertainment outside the window was top class. There was a great view from the upper balcony of the bar on the top floor of the main building too and we spent a while there before heading out on our evening game drive.

On our two game drives at this lodge we got pretty lucky despite the small size of the reserve. We saw 4 cheetah, several lions and even a leopard. We also saw plenty of elephants and the usual array of less interesting (in my opinion) animals. We also took the opportunity to go on a night game drive (as this is a private reserve) and saw a couple of wild cats, a bat eared fox and a pair of porcupines but no big cats.

Food buffet was probably better than the average for the week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park West
3.4 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
45.6 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
764 reviews
36.9 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
Ngulia Safari Lodge
Ngulia Safari Lodge
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lion Hill Safari Lodge
41.3 mi away
Severin Safari Camp
Severin Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Tsavo National Park West
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Address: | Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya (Formerly Salt Lick Safari Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range: $235 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the private Taita Hills Sanctuary, bordering Tsavo West National Park in south-eastern Kenya, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is a truly unique concept consisting of 96 rooms elevated on stilts, each overlooking a waterhole and linked by suspended walkways. At night, the waterholes are floodlit ensuring that you enjoy an uninterrupted view of the numerous animals arriving to quench their thirst. The elevated restaurant, and the bar a level higher, also offer stunning views of the sanctuary and are the ideal vantage points to view game. The lodge has its own fleet of well-equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. The climate is very moderate with temperatures averaging between 18 and 30 degrees Celsius all year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November and December. Due to the unique layout of the lodge, it is not suitable for children below 8 years. Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. The lodge is a one-hour flight from Nairobi or 30 minutes from Mombasa by private charter which lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The Sanctuary is a 3-hour drive from Mombasa and a 6-hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. So, if you intend to make the most out of your African safari holidays, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is the right place to be. No matter if you plan to head-over to Nairobi or Mombasa, the Lodge turns out to be a perfect check-in option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Salt Lick Game Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing